We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We loved our stay, from the moment the taxi dropped us off, we knew it was special. The staff are by far the best in the world, everyone made us feel special. We had a standard room, which I would rate as superior, comfortable bed & linen. The location is spectacular our evening walks were wonderful the view amazing. Would we stay again, absolutely , we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dialPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    25
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
291
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Away from the bustle and noise of the city centre, but a particularly pleasant walk through the woods and down an elevator if you want to spend some time in the city without having to drive and find parking.A stunning location overlooking Salzburg.

Service is very personal and attentive. We had a beautiful room with a vast bathroom, although it was one of the more expensive rooms. Dining was fairly formal, and rather expensive for the quality, but much more appealing than going out in the evening.A special place with outstanding service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slowboattravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just spent one night here so it's hard to give a thorough and fair appraisal. Location has got to be one of the best anywhere in the world. We were in heaven on arrival, sitting out in the sun on one of the beautiful terraces overlooking the city and enjoying complimentary refreshments.

Our room was spacious and lovely but faced the woods and so it was dark and a bit of a disappointment. Next time I would ask for a sunnier view room (but price I'm sure would be higher).
The bathroom was outstanding: spacious, all marble, high end fixtures and a powerful dual spray in the shower along with a full size tub.

Breakfast, by American standards was A plus, however, by Austrian standards, very average.

Great wait staff in the bar, at breakfast and in the evening. Our evening meal, like all the Austrian hotel meals we experienced, was a bit of a disappointment. I would eat here again but just once during a stay and that's why I'm not sure about giving the hotel a five star review. I think they said they have a driver who will take you into town? Perhaps I'm being too critical of Austrian cuisine- if you are German or Austrian and like fancy hotel food you might really like it. I don't understand the appeal of the ubiquitous perch pike- has a very slippery texture but our first courses were good. We had a rental car but parking in the old town area to go to other restaurants sounds difficult.

The spa area is very small but charming. I think the pool they are building will be a great addition and might boost this property to an even higher level. Very nice front desk staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is where Cameron Diaz and Tom Cruise stayed whilst filming some or other movie. They obviously like their privacy as this hotel is away from the bustling crowds. It is a 12 minute walk through the forest to an elevator that takes you down into the heart of Salzburg town. The rooms are small, it is Europe after all - but very comfortable and luxurious. The staff are polite and professional. The breakfast in the mornings is delicious and beautifully served. The grounds are beautifully groomed and you invite you to curl up with a book and relax. We stayed here for a few days for our anniversary and to enjoy the Salzburg Festival - and I hope to stay here again one day! It was lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tourtheworld-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

One of the best Hotels we have ever stayed in. On the top of a mountain overlooking Salzburg, and we were treated like Royalty. Service, food, rooms, views all exceptional. Even a welcoming glass of champagne on arrival! Have stayed before and will stay again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lovely location on the top of the hill overlooking Salzburg's old town. It's a 15 minute taxi journey from the central station, but so easy to get into the centre. They hotel gives you free access to the lift at the modern art museum (5 minutes walk away) that takes you right into the centre of old Salzburg. Its more of a traditional hotel and that shows in the the decor, more traditional than modern. The spa is newer, but was not so busy when we were there. The staff are massively friendly and helpful. Regarding breakfast, it was good but nothing very special and probably the weakest part of the offering - the weather was good when we were there but we had to ask to sit on the terrace, do it because it gives you wonderful views of Salzburg; there is a buffet and there is not a breakfast menu but I'm sure they can provide whatever you want.

We stayed on the very last night before it was going to close for renovations, which will include an outside pool and other things I'm sure. I'm pretty sure this is one of the more interesting and nicer places to stay so would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I took my girlfriend on a surprise trip to this little piece of alpine heaven. Perched high on the mountain top over looking the town of Salzburg the hotel offers outstanding views over the mountain range.
Taken by Mercedes limousine from the airport up through the new part of town and up the winding road to the hotel (Limousine priced competitively with local taxi rates). We were met by the receptionist with a warm smile and glass of champagne. As we sat in one of the bars overlooking the town filling in the paper work we were approached by a carefully rehearsed stream of the various people int he hotel, the Spa Manager, the duty manager etc etc, all of whom were friendly, and appraising us of all the hotel had to offer (and how we can lighten our wallets!, although it never felt particularly sales-y)
After the drink, we were shown down to the room, which was, unfortunately not in a prime location however, this was not a big problem because we planned to spend very little time in the room!
The Room was in the lower-mid range of their prices, so it was plenty big enough, with a large wardrobe, mini-bar, safe, small round table to eat at, a desk, and a bathroom to die for!
The Bathroom, with a heated floor, and almost entirely finished in marble with massive walk in shower and rain head. it was a pleasure to be in!

The breakfasts, were as expected of a 5* institute, freshly made egg choices, a large range of freshly made breads and croissants, locally sourced meats and cheeses etc. The service was fast and polite, the pair of commis waiters were like a slick oiled machine in clearing and re-setting on tables, yet unobtrusive .

We dined in the hotel restaurant one evening, and felt slightly underdressed as we had left the dinner suits at home! However dress code aside, it was good food, well presented, with an excellent maitre d' / sommelier, again fast and polite service, hot food etc. A good experience.

We had excellent local advice from the staff and the hotel had invested in strong links with the local transport which enabled us to descend into the town for free and with ease!

On check out the bell boy arrived bang on the time requested to take the luggage upstairs, check out was painless, and swift with the bags loaded into the Mercedes again and off to the airport!

Slightly awkwardly we had managed to not give the key back at check out! Having found the offending item at the airport we called the hotel, who sent the driver straight back to pick it up!

All in all a great experience, and we shall be returning!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
1,463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.7 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Monchstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Monchstein

Property: Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Address: Moenchsberg 26, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schloss Monchstein 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SCHLOSS MONCHSTEIN*****s boasts a panoramic view overlooking Salzburg and offers 24 rooms and suites. It lies in the middle of the city Salzburg on a hill. The competent staff of our gourmet restaurant awaits you. Our MonchsteinSpa fulfils all our guests' wishes. We offer the possibility of a civil marriage in the GOTHIC CHAMBER or a romantic dinner in the SMALLEST RESTAURANT IN THE WORLD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schloss Monchstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing