We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at the hotel. The staff are really great: attentive, helpful and friendly but also quite discreet and peaceful. Our room was magnificent. The hotel facilities in general are excellent quality. The restaurant in particular is superb quality. It was well worth the money!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Fantastic hotel in a perfect location. We spent over a week here. Definitely the best hotel in Salzburg and amongst the very best in Austria and worldwide. Another perfect example of what a difference a family-run hotel can make. Service, restaurant, attention to detail and friendliness of staff are of the very highest standard. We always felt very welcomed. Every member of staff remembered our name - it's the little things that make a difference. Try finding that at any five-star hotel chain. The food was excellent making it one of the best dinner options in the city. In addition; the location is just spectacular, sitting atop Salzburg surrounded by a lovely park. The rooms are a dream, very nicely done with many lovely features. The newly built pool is great in the summer and blends in perfectly with the landscape. The Spa area was also great. We hope this hotel remains a bit of a secret as we will definitely return and wouldn't like to find it booked out but we can only wish family and staff all the success they deserve.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautiful location on top of the hill with gorgeous views of Salzburg. Quiet & peaceful. We stayed for two nights last summer. Wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were large and clean. The grounds were beautiful. Staff was wonderful and very attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and two teenage sons stayed for one night. We had two rooms, both quite large. The staff was very attentive, the food outstanding and the grounds breathtaking. We enjoyed our stay so much and all wished we could have stayed longer. The path into town is paved and lit at night. Great place to stay while in Salzburg.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Huggerlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I wish I didn't have to write this review…it would just be better to keep this place a secret

We travelled thru Europe for 16 days…Salzburg, Venice and Greece…and while in Italy and Greece, we still talked about Hotel Schloss Monchstein every single day…the service, the staff, the grounds, the views, the food, I don't know where to stop…

My suggestions is for you to stay at the other hotels in town like Hotel Sacher and Hotel Gardener…and that will continue to keep Hotel Schloss Monchstein a nice little secret…

But unfortunately, we have to admit…this place is pure bliss and is easily one of the greatest places we have ever stayed in Europe…we will most definitely be visiting Salzburg again, mainly just to stay here

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank worldtravellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Beautiful property and the staff was excellent. Conveniently located at the top of a hill with a wonderful terrace. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The rooms were quiet; however, I requested a room on one of the higher floors but did not know the rooms were smaller due to the fact this was an old castle! The hotel gives you many extras, including turndown service at night with a snack. There was fruit in the room and a complimentary drink when you arrive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was greeted by name before I even entered the hotel. It is an old castle high above Salzburg with gorgeous views. The service was perfect. My room was very comfortable with a lovely terasse where breakfast was served in the room with table cloth and elegant place setting. The staff were very attentive, the food is delicious, excellent both for breakfast and dinner. It is a perfect place to stay when you are visiting Salzburg as you can see the city by day and fully relax among the birds and trees and nature afterwards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
0.7 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Monchstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Monchstein

Address: Moenchsberg 26, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £397 - £656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schloss Monchstein 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SCHLOSS MONCHSTEIN*****s boasts a panoramic view overlooking Salzburg and offers 24 rooms and suites. It lies in the middle of the city Salzburg on a hill. The competent staff of our gourmet restaurant awaits you. Our MonchsteinSpa fulfils all our guests' wishes. We offer the possibility of a civil marriage in the GOTHIC CHAMBER or a romantic dinner in the SMALLEST RESTAURANT IN THE WORLD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Schloss Monchstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing