We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Monchstein
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We just returned from our trip to Europe and had the pleasure of spending 5 nights at the Hotel Schloss Monchstein on our 12 day adventure. What a treat! We traveled with 2 small children and the staff was unbelievable with their service to all of our needs! The room was well equipped with a flat screen TV, mini bar, desk with internet access, robes, slippers and high quality soaps. It was also nice that it is a non smoking facility! The experience of staying at a castle was truly an experience of a lifetime! Using Salzburg as a base, we were able to travel to nearby cities with ease too. I will also miss the daily fresh fruit, the singing birds and cathedral bells that added an element of beauty to our experience. Thank you Hotel Schloss Monchstein for making our stay the most memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank slcgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2010

It is hard to put into words what a wonderful experience our week together in the Schloss Hotel Monchstein was like. From the Mercedes (with televisions) that picked us up at the airport to the staff that greeted us, picked up our bags, and showed us to our upgraded suite, the week was absolutely magical. The breakfast was huge and of a very high quality, dinners were very good (although their high quality was a bit wasted on us I am afraid) and we drank what was undoubtable the best bottle of riesling that we've ever had in our lives, room service quick and reasonable (clothes sewn and washed the same day), the room cleaned and restocked with fresh fruit every time we left, the staff was friendly and professional, the spa threatments of high quality -- I got a haircut and as a nice surprise, the hairdresser used some magical hair fibers (newly invented in Japan) that made my slightly balding 30-year old head look like I was 22 again. I suppose for nobility and rich businessmen, this would all be expected as normal, but for a couple of middle class graduate students from Oxford, this was absolutely incredible and made the week that I proposed to my girlfriend one that we will never forget. The Spa: Sauna, Steam Room and Fitness room are free to use and (like breakfast and the fitness room) included in the price.

The price may be high, but unlike many overpriced "tourist attractions" in Salzburg (think Mozart Dinner Concert), you actually get what you pay for: not rude waiters and over-priced average wine--but staff that bend over backwards to serve you with some of the finest quality food, drink and comfort that one can experience. Puts the Waldorf Astoria in NYC to shame.

Tell them that Frank and Kay say hi!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

A great hotel with great service, as expected in relation to the price. Salzburg is a beautiful city, but what the city has to offer tourist is limited. If you only have a few cities to tackle in your European tour, there are places which offer more to do and see. If you simply want to relax and are not concerned about sightseeing, Salzburg and the Schloss Monchstein Hotel are perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shawna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Schloss Monchstein for 5 nights this April during the Easter Music Festival. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to suite which was lovely. The room was a "castle style" and decorated beautifully. The most striking thing about the Monchstein is the service. We were greeted by name daily, were met at the door with our key as we walked up to the lobby area and every request we made was eagerly fulfilled--from the supply of missing items, to setting up lounge chairs for us in a remote corner of the garden (with tea and cake!) We were also very appreciative that unlike most hotels, "extras" were included from in-room internet to a full made-to-order breakfast in the breakfast room or delivered to the room. We had a nice sitting area so had breakfast in the room each day. All-in-all it was a great experience and we plan to return. The walk to the elevator to the center of town is very short (and pretty) and the peace gained by being a bit away from the town is worth it. Our only negative was dinner in their hotel our first evening (late after the opera). It was nothing exceptional so we ate elsewhere the rest of the week.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expats-in-Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Me and my son stayed 3 nights for New Year's Eve , the house is in a wonderful place, the hill sorrounded by city park , close to the Museum of Modern, we were lucky it snowed and breakfast was magic looking outside!
The room was very very clean and comfortable, the bathroom is wonderful, with warm pavement, we did not have time to try the spa and the restaurant but they would certainly be good too..
The staff was so gentle also with our cocker spaniel, he loved the place so much and the few people in the whole hotel ,as there are only 20 rooms, that he learned to go alone without lace from the park to our room!
The place is really the most beautiful place to stay in Salzburg, from here you can have a look to the city and make long and peacefull walks in the woods to reach the downtown city...

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank m0nica4268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We stayed in Schloss Monchstein for 5 nights during Christmas....
The location of the hotel is really nice on top of a hill which offers stunning views over Salzburg..the ways to get to the city are either to take the Monchsberg elevator [about 10 min walk from the hotel / costs 3.6 euros return] or walk down to the city [20 / 25 minutes] or take your car [parking is not that easy]. The surroundings are very peaceful and quiet, so it is an ideal place to relax. Especially, when you see the hotel at night with lights on..it is really brethtaking..
The hotel itself breaths a posh but also snobbish air [you like it or not..]..The rooms are great, very spacious, wonderful huge marble bathrooms, plasma TV, sitting area, and nicely decorated..
The hotel is decorated and furnished in a fine way...[i prefer more minimal furniture, but you cannot deny the beauty of the classic]..The staff was very helpful and polite...
The breakfast is moderate for that kind of hotel. The quality is good but for that hotel you expect something more...
There is a spa area which is minimal..but limited in area..and a small if not at all gym..
Generally we had a nice stay but we would prefer a more warm hotel that makes u feel a bit like at home. However, we admit that the aforementioned hotel is a true 5 star hotel in almost all categories..Getting around the area, i think that with a bit more money i would stay in Schloss Fuschl which is truly amazing...I f you would like a castle in the middle of the city but also secluded then Schloss Monchstein is ideal for you

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zoomendoscopist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We chose this hotel for its location and history. It is a converted castle overlooking the city of Salzburg. When I booked this stay via email, I mentioned that my husband and I would be celebrating our anniversary on the day of arrival and I wished to have a special dinner. We were able to reserve what they call the "Smallest Restaurant in the World" We enjoyed a wonderful private 5 course meal in the tower room at the top of the hotel. Our meal lasted 3 1/2 hours and we were pampered the entire time. I even mentioned that our daughters were both vegetarians and they created a special meal just for them.

Upon our initial arrival at the hotel, we were escorted onto the sunny deck with champagne while the staff set up our rooms. Since the hotel sits on top of a hill, there is a wonderful wooded path that takes 5 minutes to walk to the lift at the museum in order to get to the center of the city. Each night we walked back and forth as the weather was wonderful and as we approached the entrance the staff came out to greet us with keys in hand.

This hotel is absolutely wonderful and I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fu3l3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
1,576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,064 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
Bristol Hotel Salzburg
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Monchstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Monchstein

Address: Moenchsberg 26, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £390 - £578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schloss Monchstein 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL SCHLOSS MONCHSTEIN*****s boasts a panoramic view overlooking Salzburg and offers 24 rooms and suites. It lies in the middle of the city Salzburg on a hill. The competent staff of our gourmet restaurant awaits you. Our MonchsteinSpa fulfils all our guests' wishes. We offer the possibility of a civil marriage in the GOTHIC CHAMBER or a romantic dinner in the SMALLEST RESTAURANT IN THE WORLD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Schloss Monchstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing