We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed here five nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goldenes Theater Hotel
Ranked #38 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“stayed here five nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Was here for five nights while visiting Salzburg and as a base for a cycling tour. The hotel was clean and also very convenient to both the train station (< 10 minutes walk) and the old city (5 minutes). I did not notice any noise issues. The staff were very nice and helpful. I would stay here again. The only down issue was that the wifi (free) was not the best.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    306
    159
    47
    26
See reviews for
216
231
48
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Goldenes Theater Hotel in August 2014. I'm quite surprised at some of the other reviews here. I suppose we got lucky.

I liked that the rooms were named after famous plays. I felt that the hotel had a fair bit of character to it.

We stayed in the 'Faust' apartment for 4 people for 2 nights. The room had an a/c, 2 flat screen TVs per bedroom, a well-stocked minibar, a nice big clean bathroom with great water pressure, and everything was nice and clean, although the rooms were quite sparsely furnished. We got free wi-fi. We had to pay 10 Euro/night to use the air conditioning. The breakfast was good though it got really busy around 9am; the breakfast area wasn't really that well laid-out so it got quite crowded. The receptionists were all helpful and polite.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk away from the Mirabell Palace and Gardens, and there are plenty of good restaurants in that area. However, it is not convenient for Salzburg Old Town and the other tourist sites. You would need to walk about 20 minutes to get to Residentz Platz.

Overall I liked this hotel and would recommend it for a clean, comfortable stay although the location isn't amazing for tourists.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmrahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel over the internet, as a last minute choice, as everything else was booked. Ratings seemed to be good, so we trusted that. When we arrived in our double room - charged for 140€ per night - we were deeply disappointed: Outdated cheap furniture, small spaced main room that could hardly fit our luggage. The shower floor had stains and hair from the previous guests, no shower gel or shampoo provided, just some cheap hand wash - surely worse than the one you find at cafeterias toilets - there was mold inside the shower cabin and on the wall surrounding it. There were also two medium unmatched towels (one of which was wrinkled) available. Yes, that's right, in a four star hotel, we were provided with two towels for two people. The "double bed" was merely two beds pushed together. Mattresses were rock hard and beds themselves awfully squeaky, needless to say we slept rather poorly. The wifi was yet another disappointment as the signal was rather weak and constantly kept disconnecting. Overall, the experience ruined our mood, we have been ripped off just because we were left out of choices. If there is one good thing about this hotel, it is the location and perhaps the breakfast (though nothing compared to a four star hotel). Please, no matter what, don't visit this hotel, just look harder for any other possible option.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gthotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Goldenes Theater Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Thanks for your comments. Should something not be at you expectations please do not hesitate to inform the reception so we will be able to solve any inconvenience at once. Regards GTHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, excellent breakfast friendly staff. Reasonably good location to most sites and walking distance from train station. My only warning is try to get a room facing AWAY from any street. VERY noisy at night. Extra each day to use the air-conditioning.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a five day stay in this hotel. We booked it after viewing their web site, which in places gave a misleading view of the establishment. The one positive for this hotel is that it is a relatively quick walk in to Salzburg but not really in close proximity to any sites, but not the nearest. Our rear facing room was quiet.

Firstly, it is massively over rated, no way is it a four star hotel, not even sure it should have any star rated, felt much more like an oversized guest house or pensione than a formal starred hotel. Not good when compared to other places stayed in Austria. There is no restaurant facility apart from breakfast which was disappointing when you get back from a day out and something I would expect in a 4 star hotel. The bedroom furniture, particularly the beds were very basic and likely to move and not particularly comfortable. Showers a lttle basic, this we should have picked up from their photos.

Secondly, there is a €10 charge per day for air conditioning, again not something I would expect in a 4 star hotel. If we had known before booking it might have impacted on our booking with respect to cost. However, when we requested the air-conditioning we were told by the young girl on reception that our room wasn't connected to the system. Hence, night time temperatures got as high as 29oC, despite being given a large fan. We didn't thing this was correct but there was no 'adult' to ask.

Next, there was only usually one person on reception, the young girl mentioned above, whose standard answer was she 'didn't know'. The web site pictures shows two women on reception, there was never two people on reception.

On one day our room wasn't made up. In an effort to smooth the situation we were given a bottle of sparkling wine. Unfortunately the ice bucket and empty bottle were left in our room until we left, which was for at least two days!

Breakfast buffet was not as shown on their web site. Some food items were not replenished when run out, even with a lot of time to go before closing.

If this hotel had been a guest house or pensione and we had paid a lot less it might have been OK. Unfortunately our experience was not particularly good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ace97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gthotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Goldenes Theater Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2016
Thanks for your comments. Should something not be at you expectations please do not hesitate to inform the reception so we will be able to solve any inconvenience at once. Room rate booked did not include the AC, wine was not removed as not drinked, many retaurants within 2 minutes walk, 2 persons always on duty at the reception 18 hours per day. Regards GTHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest,CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a nice hotel, the rooms are big and it is located a couple of blocks from the main Salzburg town and shopping, walking areas. They charge for a/c which is $10 EU per day, which for the time wasn't bad. Definitely worth it in the end. We loved walking to all the sites from there. Take the tour to Eagle's Nest, pretty scenery along the way. We visited all the sites for the Sound of Music tour, without taking the tour. Food is great here, we found the best pizzeria in town right along the main street.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that has an a/c unit in it. That way you have an option of getting the remo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horn2tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel and were very pleased with our stay.

Although it is not a 4* hotel it is absolutely wonderful for the prices that it was offering for the room. We felt that it was very good value.

The beds were comfortable, the shower powerful and the breakfast was excellent. It is an easy walk to the Old Town and the staff are very helpful at pointing you in the right direction.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bradshaw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#50 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
#28 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldenes Theater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenes Theater Hotel

Property: Goldenes Theater Hotel
Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 13, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldenes Theater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable privately owned hotel in the centre of Salzburg. Enjoys a quiet position although in the centre of the town. Within easy reach on foot to all of the historic and interesting points of the city: e.g. Mirabell Castle and gardens, theaters, churches and museums, congress house, central train station and of course not to be missed the famous old Town Centre with its historic buildings and monuments. Parking available on the street free of charge weekdays from 7pm to 9am, all day Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays, or in garage opposite to us 14 Euro per 24 Hours. Cancellations/Amendments/No Show with no charge will be accepted only up to 48 hours prior to date of arrival (02Pm local), after this time limit 100% of reservation value will be charged. Until 10.30 buffet Breakfast is served. Rates include all taxes and Services. Children up to 10 years stay free when sharing existing beds in room with parent's (max 1 allowed in double/twin room only). Free wireless internet in all rooms and in the lobby free use of hotel computers too. Air-conditioning if not booked extra charge 10 Euro per day, not available in all rooms. We book your tours and provide free hotel pick-up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldenes Theater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel Salzburg
Salzburg Cordial Theaterhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing