We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel was in a good location on the edge of the old town- only a 5-10min walk max to the river and the main part of the old town and about 5 mins walk from Mirabell Gardens. The rooms were somewhat dated but very clean and tidy and our room in particular was huge!!! So much space. Breakfast had a good selection with lots of fresh products. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbey712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed there at the beginning of June 2014.
The room was very nice, seemed renovated recently.
Everything was very clean.
The bathroom was very comfortable.
Beds were ok, but unfortunately their dubble bed is actually two adjacent single beds.
Parking is easy near the hotel. You can pay for up to 3 hours, and the 3 first hours of the next day can be paid in the evening including the night.
The distance to the old city is less than 15 minutes walk, and the srteet that leads you there, as well as all the neighbourhood in that direction are very nice to walk through.
Breakfast was not the strong part of the deal, but no real complaints about.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IGAL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I will limit my comments to the negatives expressed by others:

1) No air conditioning - The weather was cool when we were there with highs in the mid twenties and it cooled down at night so this was not a problem. The windows do open which is not always the case in a hotel so I suspect that this hotel would be more comfortable during a hot spell than some that don't have a/c.

2) The raw eggs - Yes, they are in a big bowl RIGHT NEXT TO THE EGG BOILER. In this way you can have your eggs as you like them. Overall the breakfast was the best of any on our trip (six hotels)..


3) The service - Everyone at the front desk was very nice and helpful to us. We needed to catch a flight early in the morning and they even offered to make special arrangements for us to have breakfast before they were usually open - we were astonished. I will say however that we witnessed one of these very helpful women at the desk being very short with another customer. I know that sometimes people whose first language is not English can come across as being a bit gruff but in this case we suspected that the less than friendly service was because the couple was obviously from the Middle East and the woman was wearing a burka. Just a suspicion.

4) WiFi worked very well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had a compact, comfortable, no frills room, with all the basic necessities; the hotel has an excellent buffet breakfast. The location is on a street with shops and restaurants and little car traffic (but watch out for cyclists), and is a 15 minute walk to Salzburg old town. I believe you get your money's worth at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muffinSechelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was clean and efficent and the desk staff were very helpful to us. The location was great for walking to the old town and enjoying the Christmas market. Secure parking on site. breakfast was good. No complaints at all. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillCapeGirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We found this hotel to be very good value for money. It has a good location, rooms and bathroom were clean and breakfast was also good enough.The reception was friendly, but somehow the decoration/furniture there gave a bit "cold" first impression.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulla331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hofwirt for four nights and found it easy to walk to the Mirabell Gardens and the old city. The hotel rooms were clean and modern, if a bit on the small side. Breakfast was perfectly adequate to our needs and the coffee machine was a blast. Reception staff seemed occasionally abrupt but generally helpful. Internet cafe close by and useful because the hotel's wi-fi is only reliable in the lobby and the one computer available for guests was out of order. ATM across the street and lots of good restaurants very nearby. All in all, a comfortable stay!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank FromInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
864 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
1,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £65 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing