We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in Salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good stay in Salzburg”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Hofwirt, and we were very pleased. The hotel has been recently redone in a minimalist style. Everything was clean and bright and in a black and white motif. Our room was small but adequate. The hotel is in a fine location, at the head of the pedestrian street that leads to the old part of Salzburg. Our room was on the main street. With the window open, there was quite a bit of street noise, but when the window was closed, it was easy to sleep. The breakfasts, served in a light and airy room, were excellent. The only oddity is that though there are many mirrors in the bathroom, there are none outside the bathroom. This was a slight inconvenience. Also, like some other hotels in Europe, no facial tissue was supplied. The reception staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    380
    146
    36
    31
See reviews for
123
437
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Salzburg by train. It was a 15-20 minute walk to the hotel. The hotel is well situated just outside the old town, which is only a short walk away. The room was clean, tidy and a reasonable size. Our window opened onto the street but we were not aware of much noise. The breakfast had a good variety of food ( and included a coffee machine - enjoyed the cappuccinos!) in a large, light room. It had a supermarket and some restaurants nearby. We had a very pleasant stay here. Would recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Salzberg hotels during the Salzberg festival period are very busy . Having booked this hotel months before for 3 nights and then read more recent Tripadvisor reviews , I was slightly apprehensive . The hotel does have pros and cons . The rooms : the first room we were given ( 311) was tiny (I.e. Only one of us could move around at a time) and faced the road so we couldn't open the window as it was so noisy. After one night we asked to be moved and the charming reception staff managed to do this even though the hotel was so busy and as they pointed out at festival time the best rooms have been booked by December the year before. Our second room (331)was larger (but still small ),comfortable and quiet as it overlooked the courtyard. We took to looking in all the rooms with doors open while being prepared for new visitors and they all seemed on the small side with a basic minimalist, functional style . The hotel style is minimalist , modern - stark white walls and little concession to comfort . The reception staff ( and all the other staff) are exceptionally helpful , dealing not only with a high turnover in guests but from every country across the globe. Breakfast was a good set of buffet choices . The location is excellent - at the start of the pedestrian area on the other side of the river from the Altstat- so easy walking distance to all the main sites , on a tram and bus route with a taxi rank outside . There are multiple bars, restaurants, cafés , shops etc on the doorstep. So lots of good things about this hotel but I suggest a room away from the road is preferable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Room overlooked a carpark/courtyard and was quiet. Table-top fan provided, which was good for the warm weather. Room was small, but sufficient for sleeping when the aim of being in Salzburg is to be out and about. Generous buffet breakfast (many types of cheese, boil-your-own eggs, many different types of breads) included in price of €97 per night, booked online. Lots of people in the breakfast room, so obviously it is a popular hotel.

Very convenient location. Less than 10 minutes by bus or 5 minutes by taxi from the train station. About 10 mins walk to the centre of the old city. Less than 100 metres away from a supermarket. Neighbourhood seems generally quiet and touristy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyalpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here with a group from our Archaeological society in June of this year. The rooms were very inviting ,clean, a decent size with a safe in the room and the bathroom was very modern and clean.
The breakfast was extensive with eggs, meat and most anything you would want.
The location was excellent , very near the pedestrian area, within walking distance of eating establishment, shops, bank, laundry, and near the Gardens. The taxi stand is outside the door.
Most important , was the reception staff,exceptional. They were most helpful. I had an injured knee and the lady on duty the first evening helped with advising regarding medical attention ,personally directed the taxi where to take us, and on subsequent days got ice for me.and did what ever she could to be of assistance.

Room Tip: There is a bar in the reception area so it might get noisy in the late evening , but just ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flintknappermrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here with a friend for one night in July. The hotel was clean and the décor was appealing. The room was comfortable. The location was really convenient; just a few minutes walk to the river or to the Mirabelle Gardens. It's not too far to walk to and from the station either if you're fit and have backpacks rather than suitcases.
The staff were friendly and we were even able to check in early after arriving on an early bus. They provided us with plenty of information and maps but I felt a little like they were trying to sell us some of the tourist passes and tours a bit too vigorously.
The breakfast had a great variety.
My only criticism would be the temperature of the rooms. It was 32 degrees C outside but its a shame they couldn't have done a bit more to cool them down!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The location is good, if you have 4 person and go from train station take taxi will cheaper than bus (2.2 each), and there have a taxi station just next to hotel. There also have supermarket really closed to hotel, but it was noisy at night, many cars will pass street till 11 or 12 pm. Staff are friendly, give us a lots of suggestions. They gave me a small honey when asked at 10 pm. I also saw others borrow tableware from reception at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vm6jo3jp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#53 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#27 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#31 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg

Property: Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg
Address: Schallmooser Hauptstrasse 1, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has a 100 year old tradition of hospitality; located near the old town & attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing