We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

15 minute walk from town center, yet clean, comfortable night's sleep. Breakfast more then adequate. Linda has a wonderfully dry sense of humor and is great at helping to plan a day's activities. Next time we hit Salzburg will try to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cartney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    130
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
121
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It looks like this romantic place where you can find comfort ,beauty and time to relax.The owners succeeded to maintain the place in almost the same spirit when founded 113 years ago ,which added a special twist of charm and romance to our stay.
In addition to the agreeable decoration ,the double room was quite spacious neat and nice.
The breakfast is really rich with wide variety of succulent cheese,ham,jam and juices etc..
The family running the hotel is very kind,friendly and helpful.
You can profit from the daily " Happy Hour " time between 17:00 & 19:00 to have any drink for only Euro2- in the Baroque salon.
Talking about the the "Baroque Salon" and as the name indicates, the furniture style as well as the nice decoration added to our "tea time" a romantic touch. In the salon you can find Chess board , gravity ball game , playing cards that help you spend the best time in a pleasant atmosphere.
For tourists who wish to take tours in Salzburg and even Bavaria , they do not need to book their tours in advance since the tickets are available at the reception at good prices with a pick up service from the hotel .
Mr Reichl the manager will be always ready to help you choose the best deal .
Being 3 minutes walk away from the rail station and 15 minutes walk away from Salzburg old town is really a big advantage since it will spare you lots of transportation fees and puts you in the heart of Salzburg.
My husband and I LOVED this sweet,beautiful hotel, we will surely come back again and we recommend it .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinanesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New delhi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is just minutes walk from the Main station Salzburg, and most of the amenities like restaurants, 24x7 shops, petrol station are in walking distance. The locality is safe. One of the biggest advantage of staying in the hotel is it is very near to the Panorma Tours departure station, which makes it easier for tourists to go for seeing Ice Caves or full Salzburg tour. The breakfast has plenty of things for the non-vegeterians and vegetarians.The best part is couple managing the hotel always ensure all guests are looked after very well and the lady makes it to the point to ask each guest at the table whether they liked the food and the stay. In a short time I was given all the tickets and arrangements for my visit to ice caves and Salzburg tour.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floors are big
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NAVEEN-RANCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Couple managing the hotel are quick to extend all help possible. Linda is good at suggesting Itenary (Amazing Werfen Ice caves would not have been possible without her inputs) Breakfast was excellent. Top choice for a comfortable stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just stayed at the hotel for 2 days. We had a great time in Salzburg and the hotel was good for us - a 20 min walk into the centre of the old town along the river so great for being close but not too close to the centre.

A really authentic hotel - the rooms were good size and very clean - all of the staff were really friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Free and safe parking.

We would definitely stay again and reccomend the hotel to others.

Simon/Julie Hall

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wonderful hotel close to the train station. Breakfast is great and the staff helpful. Apart from giving us a map with great walking tour, the manager advised us to use the Westbahn train service to Vienna which saved us more than half the cost of an OBB train. Can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the only negative was a some noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fkafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Hotel was terrific, its a short walk to the train and bus station. From the Hotel you can take a great walk down the river to the city center. Salzburg is beautiful, even in the rain. The Hotel owners, Familie Reichl are great, Linda and all her staff were very helpful with everything, including restaurant recommendations near by. Our room was very nice and kept clean. The breakfast in the morning was also great, we particularly love the strawberry yogurt and brotchen. The Hotel has a good reputation and it certainly deserves it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandC_Fl_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
863 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#43 of 132 in Salzburg
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Property: Hohenstauffen Hotel
Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing