We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Ranked #31 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very typical European hotel. Older building, but recently remodeled. Modern elevator, working plumbing, great breakfast, very good wi-fi, and comfortable beds.

The TV, which we don't even turn on while in Europe, was an oldie, which seemed out of context.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Convenient to bus to Altstadt-the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    130
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
121
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a delightful, comfortable European-style family-run hotel with nice rooms and a great breakfast. It's near the train station and only a few minutes' walk to the major attractions in Salzburg.

Most importantly, the family that runs the hotel is very nice and extremely helpful. Every recommendation they gave for restaurants and things to do/see proved correct. Linda at the front desk loaned us an electricity converter without hesitation (and without paperwork).

Four of us stayed here in two rooms while attending a wedding. We never left or returned to the hotel without a cheerful greeting.

If we are fortunate enough to return to the fascinating city of Salzburg, we will surely return to the Hotel Hohenstauffen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyclewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this property, especially since the price was so reasonable. The room were large and clean with modern bath fixtures. A nice breakfast is included and the staff speaks english. Andreas, greeted us and made us feel at home. The hotel is a short walk to the train station and walking distance to Mirabell Gardens. I would love to be able to spend an entire week there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwell116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we have just returned from spending two nights here and we thoroughly enjoyed it and it deserves its high ranking on TripAdviser.
Some of the compelling features of this property included:
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful;
the place is very clean and has a small private hotel flavour to it
only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the old town centre
WIFI was very good
breakfast is plentiful
TV has English stations (BBC & CNN)
there is coin operated laundramat nearby

restaurant options are limited to a degree but we found the SPAR gourmet supermarket at the train station (5 minutes walk away) excellent for meals, fruit, vegetables, drinks etc

we were in room 318 and it was a lovely large and quiet room with a 4 poster bed and good bathroom.

we would stay here again

Room Tip: suggest upper level away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a family run place, over 100 years old, third generation of owners, with old world charm and all modern amenities, large rooms and bathrooms, interesting art work in the lounge, good breakfast, excellent coffee, and the friendiest atmosphere - more like a B&B. Linda the coowner who manages the desk is delightful to deal with, has impeccable tastes in restaurant and music venue recommendations and with her relaxed and upbeat demeanor makes you feel completely at home. Everyone there speaks good English. Five minutes' walk to train station and connections to the many trams/buses that come through there. The street is a bit of a mixed bag but that's minor. And don't miss the jazz club Jazzit next door - great peformances. For Mozart, find a church program - less touristy and more genuine. JEAN & GAUTAM SHAH, CO/MA, USA

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEAN-GAUTAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the street the room was very clean with excellent bed and pillows the room was quiet with plenty of space ,check in and out we're easy and quick and we were given plenty of tips on things to do as well as a map ,we also tried a couple of restaurant recomendations and found them to be good too.the hotel is about 6 minutes walk from the main station breakfast was also good.
There was no fridge in room and no tea and coffee making.we enjoyed our stay at this friendly family run hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

15 minute walk from town center, yet clean, comfortable night's sleep. Breakfast more then adequate. Linda has a wonderfully dry sense of humor and is great at helping to plan a day's activities. Next time we hit Salzburg will try to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cartney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#44 of 132 in Salzburg
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Property: Hohenstauffen Hotel
Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing