We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel, a 5 minute walk from the train station, is a great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Ranked #32 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and chose this hotel based primarily on its location near the train station. This is a dated hotel, full of character, and run by some very nice owners. The rooms are large for European standards and baths are fine although again dated with 1970 ish yellow plumbing fixtures. We had a double which had a canopy bed and a sofa. It was actually large enough to be a suite. For 90 Euro per night, we thought it was great value in an expensive city. 15 minute walk gets you to the Mirabell Palace area. Trams are available to all areas from the rail station. Breakfast is more than adequate with the owner offering soft boiled eggs in addition the buffet breakfast. Another plus are some fine local restaurants in the area such as the Hirschen and the Weiserhof. I would stay there again based on its location and value!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Hohenstauffen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very pleased with the staff at the hotel as they were very helpful. They helped with directions to walk to town and also on which bus to take to the airport. The breakfast was very good too - extremely filling and well presented. A nice selection of cold meats and cheeses, yogurts, cereals and breads; also included fresh fruit which was nice!

The room was small and not up-to-date. I thought it seemed a bit out of the '70s. The biggest drawback to the hotel was the location. It was way too far from town - about a 20 minute walk, and I walk fast! It is important to note that the location is excellent if you want to be close to the train station as it's only a 5 minute walk away. I didn't feel too comfortable walking around the surrounding area late at night; we never ran into any trouble, but it wasn't an area I would like to visit again and I live in London which is much more urban than Salzburg. In fact, the hotel is directly across the street from a sex shop ... not my idea of a holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dek830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel was very nice, our room was comfortable, breakfast good and the staff was very friendly. The only thing we would have liked would be closer to old town. It was a 20 minute walk back along a somewhat deserted street after dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemonbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very typical European hotel. Older building, but recently remodeled. Modern elevator, working plumbing, great breakfast, very good wi-fi, and comfortable beds.

The TV, which we don't even turn on while in Europe, was an oldie, which seemed out of context.

Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Convenient to bus to Altstadt-the old town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a delightful, comfortable European-style family-run hotel with nice rooms and a great breakfast. It's near the train station and only a few minutes' walk to the major attractions in Salzburg.

Most importantly, the family that runs the hotel is very nice and extremely helpful. Every recommendation they gave for restaurants and things to do/see proved correct. Linda at the front desk loaned us an electricity converter without hesitation (and without paperwork).

Four of us stayed here in two rooms while attending a wedding. We never left or returned to the hotel without a cheerful greeting.

If we are fortunate enough to return to the fascinating city of Salzburg, we will surely return to the Hotel Hohenstauffen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyclewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this property, especially since the price was so reasonable. The room were large and clean with modern bath fixtures. A nice breakfast is included and the staff speaks english. Andreas, greeted us and made us feel at home. The hotel is a short walk to the train station and walking distance to Mirabell Gardens. I would love to be able to spend an entire week there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelwell116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we have just returned from spending two nights here and we thoroughly enjoyed it and it deserves its high ranking on TripAdviser.
Some of the compelling features of this property included:
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful;
the place is very clean and has a small private hotel flavour to it
only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the old town centre
WIFI was very good
breakfast is plentiful
TV has English stations (BBC & CNN)
there is coin operated laundramat nearby

restaurant options are limited to a degree but we found the SPAR gourmet supermarket at the train station (5 minutes walk away) excellent for meals, fruit, vegetables, drinks etc

we were in room 318 and it was a lovely large and quiet room with a 4 poster bed and good bathroom.

we would stay here again

Room Tip: suggest upper level away from the main street
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#43 of 132 in Salzburg
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Jahn
Pension Jahn
#50 of 132 in Salzburg
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hohenstauffen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hohenstauffen Hotel

Address: Elisabethstrasse 19 | Stauffenstrasse 18, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £61 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hohenstauffen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, small, family run hotel, near the railway station, in a quiet side street. 1902 founded by our family. 31 rooms, all decorated individually, 5 of them with four poster beds. We offer parking free of charge, also a garage for bicycles. The sights of Salzburg you will reach by walking or taking the bus in front of the railway station. The bike tracks next to the Salzach river are only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hohenstauffen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohenstauffen Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing