We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable for reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlton
Ranked #27 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days during winter and we loved it.

The positives:
- staff are always polite and willing to help you with anything. e.g. confirming tour bookings or suggesting great restaurants
- staff are English speaking which was great for us as we do not speak German
- the rooms are clean, tidy and have a funky, modern design. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable
- 24 hour concierge desk which is helpful if you are out at all hours
- 15 minutes walk to Old Town and just minutes walk to Mirabell Palace which is another major attraction

Things to consider:
- It's in the suburban area of Salzburg so it's not right in the middle of the touristy areas but close enough to the attractions
- Salzburg is really safe in general, but if you are a woman traveling on her own, I'd suggest staying closer to the central areas in town as you may have to walk on your own for awhile with not many people walking around the streets on your way to Old Town.
- 14 Euros for breakfast was quite expensive. We opted out of breakfast and walked 5 minutes near Mirabell Palace to some bakeries which served delicious pastries for less than 2 Euros each.

Cost from airport to the hotel:
12-15 Euros which is pretty decent!

Overall, the hotel was great an convenient for us! They definitely earned their 4 stars for service and comfort.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 308. Check out the picture if you want to see how it looks like. This is ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton, your friendly words and your comment about our Hotel. Thanks also for your helpful considerations and suggestions for all our future guests. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel anytime.

Kind regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl/Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

We just spent a week in Zell am See to ski and came to Salzburg via train. The hotel is a short walk from the train staion, but since we had ski gear, a taxi ride was worth 6 euro. The staff was welcoming, spoke good English, and we also got an upgrade. Room 204 was a really nice suite and gave us a sitting area separate from the sleeping area. The room was extremely clean, well designed, and very comfortable. It was a shame we only had one night to stay here as our flight departing Salzburg was the next morning.

The location is fantastic. Even in evening temperatures of -10C, we enjoyed the 10 minute walk along the river banks to the city center. It is nice (and great photo opps) to walk along the opposite bank and view the center from across the river. I noticed many people said there was not enough heat. We found the rooms to be well heated. We actually turned the heat down and opened the windows for a bit of fresh air...and the outside temperature was about -5C! So maybe the heat problem others mentioned was a one day issue. No we are not Nordic, actually American from the south. We did not have breakfast as we left quite early for our flight. The lobby had a nice sitting area and the staff was kind to call a taxi for us to go to the airport. We plan to return to Salzburg for a visit dedicated to exploring the town and also plan to return to this hotel.

There is free internet, but no mini bar/fridge or ability to make coffee/tea in the room.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious. We were upgraded to one, but would likely book one to begin with on our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthego2009Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your kind comment about your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We reopened our hotel in April 2011 after an overall refurbishment, therefore we are very pleased that you took your time to leave this annotation. It is always important for our future guests to read about guests personal experiences about their stay. We would be glad to welcoming you again in our Hotel, maybe after your ski holidays next winter....?!

Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl/Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The hotel is very clean, people are nice, and rooms are huge. Internet is free (wireless) in every room, just the bandwidth is limited so Skype and VoIP do not work too well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucaderi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your time to comment our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you also for your note about the bandwidth of our free wireless internet. We communicated with our IT-Administrator and we are keen to optimize this. We would be glad welcoming you in our Hotel Villa Carlton again.

Best regard
Anna Sunshine Sigl/Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were looking forward to this hotel, it was one of the very few I took the time to really choose from the many selection salzburg has to offer. The decor is very so cute, interior design has been decorated very elegantly and finishing is great almost like a 5 star boutique hotel. I stayed in the double room. The beds are a tad of a let down. It was two singles pushed together. Our room was on the ground floor so it was quite noisy with all the cars and trucks driving past at night. We werent in much during the day but I'm guessing it would get much noisier.

The location is decent. It's 700 m from the main train station. So it was a 10-20 min walk. And you can also walk along the river to the old city in around 15 minutes also.

The size of the room is quite big for a double room in Europe, separate bathroom section With lots of closet space and a safe with a little couch and a working desk in the room. Shower was very nice.

Service was ok, front desk recommended us to a place that wasnt open - lucky we checked ourselves before.

However overall it was a pleasant stay. And the hotel is definitely cute and clean !!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourtwotickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your assessment about your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are glad that our individual style appeals to you and that you felt comfortable during your stay. We reopened our hotel in April 2011 after an overall refurbishment and renewed all our windows, which are three times isulated. We understand that every person has it’s own sound-sensation, but we are a city-hotel near the centre of Salzburg, so it is almost impossible to find a building in this area not facing a street. Therefore we are glad to offer our guests on request and availability a room to the backyard of our Hotel. Overall we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we hope to welcoming you once again.

Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl/Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I seem to have secured a much more reasonable rate than most of the other reviewers so I wasn't as concerned with the value but I do echo some other complaints. The location is just ok - close enough to the train station and close enough to downtown but really not convenient for either. I also was surprised to find out that breakfast was not included and didn't think that the "buffet" was worth even a fraction of what was charged. The staff was sufficient but curt and not overly helpful. If I again got the $100 deal, I would stay but otherwise, I'd probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest,
first of all thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We deplore that you didn’t feel comfortable at our Hotel but we would like to thank you for your time to leave this feedback, it’s is always important to develop ourselves. People of different nationalities have different breakfast habits, thats because we keep our guests the option booking with and without breakfast buffet. We are already trying to optimize our breakfast concept. We apologize, that you felt the staff was not very helpful. The most important thing for a hotel’s atmosphere is of course the service, we talked to the persons involved and would like to excuse ourselves for this unconvenience. We hope we could clarify the situation and we would be very glad to welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton.

Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl/Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The hotel doesn't have a good price/quality ratio. The location and the interior design is quite ok, but there are a few disturbing aspects which doesn't allow me to recommend for others:
- the bandwith of the internet connction reminds me the early 90's, but websites are not designed anymore for such slow connection. In other words, Imternet is unusable in the hotel.
- the sound isolation is simply does not exists. Starting from 6:30 in the morning you will hear every small and silent step of all your neighbours around you. The main door of the room is simply too thin to offer you intimacy.
- you have no control over the heating in the room: if you arrive in winter time, and you're not north european or austrian, you will suffer because of the unadequate heating;
- there' no heating in the bathroom of any form, except the hot steam which you can make with the shower. In wintertime this is disturbing lso.
- the personnel in he night shift has hard time to understand even basic words in english;
- the most rude action of the personnel was to call us at 10:50 and tell that there's checkout at 11. If we wouldn' ask this aspect before ( from the very same person) would be too late, but like this was a "rude, throwned out" impression.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CsabaTamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and for your constructive review. Feedbacks are always important for a company’s further development. So thank you for your time and we would like to take a stand on your following complaints:
- Concerning your complaint about the additional information about our check-out times we would like to apologize for this mistake and missunderstanding. We are also sorry about the difficult communication with our night staff, we’ll improve this and discussed the situation already with the person involved.
- Our Hotel Villa Carlton is an old building from the early 19th century with massive walls, that’s because our wireless internet connection sometimes might interrupt. For this reason we provide an iPad for our guests in the lobby, which is useable free of charge. On that account we cannot comprehend your complaint about the deficient intimacy, because as already mentioned our walls are, comparatively to the current standards, very thick and compact.
- Regarding your plaint about the heating we would like to inform you that all our rooms are appointed with a global standardized heating system, which is regulable individually. Unfortunately there is no installed heating in the bathroom, due to the fact that the hotel is an old Ceconi-Villa with an individual constructional character. Certainly, we can allocate an additional external heating on request.
The most important Hotel’s purpose is to do everything to satisfy their guests and make them feel at home. We hope that we could explain the situation and we would be glad to welcoming you in our Hotel Villa Carlton again.

Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl/Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Beautiful hotel that was recently renovated a short walk along the river to the Old Town. The hotel and rooms are very modern as are the furnishings. We had Room 106 that was spacious and one of the few that had a balcony. Staff very friendly and helpful. We did not add the breakfast; seemed too expensive for what we normally have to start our day.

No question would stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2BucketListTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are glad that you enjoyed our service in January and that our modern and individual style appealed to you and met your expectations. It is absolutely important for the hotel's development to get an contructive feedback from every guest, so thank you very much for your time to comment our hotel. We would be very glad to welcoming you in our Hotel Villa Carlton again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl/Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#16 of 132 in Salzburg
890 reviews
0.5 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Address: Markus-Sittikus-Strasse 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £82 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlton is just a few steps from the Mirabell Gardens and the Salzburg Congress Centre. Salzburg Main Train Station and the Old Town are 700 metres away. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious, individually designed rooms at this boutique hotel feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, and an iPod docking station. Bicycles can be rented by guests of Hotel Villa Carlton between 1st May and 31st October. Theatre, concert and sightseeing tickets can be reserved at the reception. A bar is available in the elegant lounge. Private parking is available in Villa Carlton's courtyard, and a public parking garage is 500 metres away. The Kongresshaus Bus Stop (lines 1 and 2) is just a few steps away. The promenade along the Salzach River is only a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing