We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the home of a good friend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carlton
Ranked #25 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed at VC for a night about a week ago. There's just one word for this place HOME. A former villa that has been converted into a boutique hotel, everything about it spells comfort. A short walk from Salzburg station, the place stands out like an orchid in the snow. Check in was breezy and atmosphere is fresh and invigorating. We got a room that was larger than expected. Christine (I hope I got name right:)) was very helpful in charting out an schedule to see Salzburg. Mirabel palace is a few minutes away and Mozart's residence a little further down. You can walk it! After we soaked in the world of Mozart, we had a good night's sleep. Next morning the hotel arranged for Panorama Tours to take us around Salzburg and it was fantastic. (Stefan, thank you!). The breakfast is really well laid out and the spread a treat for a hungry tourist. I recommend this place if you want to experience Salzburg in and out.

Room Tip: Long stay or short stay the hotel helps you experience Salzburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasxbangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and felt very much at home in our Boutiquehotel.
The Hotel Villa Carltoni is centrally located, within approx. 10 walking minutes you can reach the historical city center. As soon as the weather allows it, our guests can also take advantage of our free bike rental to get around in Salzburg!
We would like to thank you for your positive and kind review of your stay and it would be a great pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl/ Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

I came to Austria for a spontaneous get away with a friend, cheap flights from London we had enough to splash a couple of hundred on a nice hotel. Villa Carlton caught our eyes from day one on the internet and lived up to every single expectation. The staff where friendly, apart from one lady who had lots of dogs, but it wasn't personal. A lovely young lady directed us to the best restuarant in Salzburg and helped pronounce the language. The room was GORGEOUS it was on the corner so we had almost an balcony, it opened up inside to a sitting area, with chairs and crystal lamp shades and Marilyn Monroe features it was so fashionable and added some lovely features. It was quite a shame about only having one English TV channel but could not complain as was not at the hotel a lot. Slept well on all 3 nights and the room was swept tidy when we left and came back to a clean fresh smelling room once again, not hair spray and numerous perfume smells as if we had checked in all over again. It was in a lovely location about a 5 minute shuttle from town and a 15 minute walk. The bathrooms where new and modern and looked like they belonged in a luxourious mansion. It simply was the most devine hotel I have ever stayed in and I shalt forget the 3 nights we stayed here. It have a little high price tag, but compared to other hotels in salzburg it is a brilliant price! I am coming back this year for my 21st birthday to enjoy another stay, and I REALLY just can not wait to experience the hotel all over again! Please stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emstreety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. It is a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay and felt very comfortable with your accomodation. Our Boutiquehotel has been reopened after an overall refurbishment in April 2011 and we feel delighted that our individual and modern design meets your expectations. All our floors are designed in a different way, from Pop-Art to modern-traditional and elegant style. Some of our suites and superior double rooms do have a balcony or an oriel.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your positive impressions for our future guests and if would be a pleasure to welcoming you again to our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Kind regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

An old hospital they told us that this hotel use to be...what ever it was it was lovely...great staff ..very friendly...spacius room and in a walking distance from the centre...the decor at the rooms and generally at the hotel was unique....breakfast was very good also...it was one of the best stays that we had..we will come again..thanks a lot...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irapap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear guest,
firstly we thank you for visiting our Hotel Villa Carlton during your trip to our beautifuly city Salzburg.
The building of our Boutiquehotel was built in 1900 and was used as a health resort for a while. It has been refurbished overall in April 2011 and we feel delighted that you like the individual and modern design of our hotel. It is a pleasure for us, that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable with our service.
Thank you for leaving your positive and kind review and it would be great pleasure to welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Kind regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed here for 6 days and had a fab time. Hotel is situated just 10 mins from the centre in one direction or the bus station in the opposite direction. The style is quirky and fun, reception was very friendly and helpful, booking a trip for us when we requested it. Rooms were huge. I've read other reviews complaining about noise but we didn't have any issues with it. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear guest,
firstly we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Boutiquehotel. Every floor in our hotel is designed in a different way, from Pop-Art and modern-traditional up to elegant and we are happy that our individual design suited your expectations.
We thank you for taking the time to leave us your positive impressions about your stay and it would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Kind regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We just spent a wonderful weekend at this hotel. The prices are very reasonable for Salzburg so we booked a suite and it was still very reasonable and a wonderful room. We had a very friendly welcome and the staff were very helpful. The suite was very spacious with a separate lounge area but both that and the bedroom had lots of room. Wifi was free and you could even use their I-Pad if you didn't have a device with you. All the rooms were very clean, with modern furniture. There were lots of restaurant choices within a block of the hotel. It was about a five minute walk to the Mirabella Gardens and a ten minute very easy walk into the Old Town. The hotel rooms were very quiet and a very comfortable bed. We were able to park in the courtyard area of the hotel for a small fee.

Room Tip: The suite was very good value for money and the extra space was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear guest,
first of all we thank you for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in our centrally located Boutiquehotel. Once more we thank you for leaving your positive feedback for our future guests and it would be a great pleasure to welcoming you again to our hotel soon.
Kind regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

If you want to combine a nice stay in a historic environment but in a fancy boutique hotel then you are in the right place. We had a nice suite which was decorated with a lot of taste. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offers you a good selection of everything you need to start your tourism adventure.
The hotel is well located at a 10 to 15 min walking distance to the historical town of Salzburg.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Internal Showers, very modern environment. Breakfast is not bad, you should consider paying for the included breakfast.

The personnel is very amiable and customer focus.

Don't expect much choices of English channels on the TV, I found only 2; both were news channel (CNN and BBC). So, if you need a TV to sleep, bring your DVDs :-)

Room Tip: The whole neighborhood is quiet, even the traffic lights go to sleep at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Dear guest,
first of all we would like to thank you for visiting our Boutiquehotel Villa Carlton during your trip to our beautiful city Salzburg. It is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable with your accommodation and our service.
We would like to thank you for your positive an kind review and it would be great pleasure for us welcoming you again in our Hotel Villa Carlton soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
Sheraton Grand Salzburg
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#43 of 132 in Salzburg
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#55 of 132 in Salzburg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Address: Markus-Sittikus-Strasse 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £85 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlton is just a few steps from the Mirabell Gardens and the Salzburg Congress Centre. Salzburg Main Train Station and the Old Town are 700 metres away. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious, individually designed rooms at this boutique hotel feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, and an iPod docking station. Bicycles can be rented by guests of Hotel Villa Carlton between 1st May and 31st October. Theatre, concert and sightseeing tickets can be reserved at the reception. A bar is available in the elegant lounge. Private parking is available in Villa Carlton's courtyard, and a public parking garage is 500 metres away. The Kongresshaus Bus Stop (lines 1 and 2) is just a few steps away. The promenade along the Salzach River is only a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing