We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“*NO AIR CONDITIONING*” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Carlton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Villa Carlton
Ranked #30 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“*NO AIR CONDITIONING*”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I feel like unless the location of Salzburg was some tropical paradise, a hotel attempting to appear so modern should headline the lack of A/C. The repeatedly offered defense from hotel staff was that they never claimed to have A/C. Fair, but that's like saying they never claimed to have toilets in the bathrooms. It is 2014 in a Western European city that thrives on tourism like Branson, Missouri (where, I assure you, A/C is standard). I mean, I've payed under 20 euros for hostel dorms with A/C. Our cancellation cost 100% of the price of the rooms … which we payed to move after the heat, even with fans, was too much to bear. The derisive attitude of the hotel staff over our complaint was merely salt to the wound.

I am not in the business of deriding cultures or people and this is not Salzburg, Austria, or Europe's problem. It is this hotel's problem. You should not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyAllton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guests,

We thank you for our stay in our hotel!
We kindly want to adjust your words a bit: As you wrote this review, you were still guests in our hotel, you also did not check our earlier. Unfortunately it is no standard in Western Europe for hotels to have A/C. As our receptionist tried to explain, it is a bit more complicated in our case. Due to our refurbishment 3 years ago we planned to build in an A/C, but the building is over 100 years and protected, we were not allowed to.
We are sorry that you could not enjoy your stay the way you should, when you are on holidays and hope you accept our apology!

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    191
    58
    15
    10
See reviews for
100
227
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good location. Easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions. Right around the corner from Mirabell Palace and Gardens. Good sized room and ensuite. Breakfast was ok but a little pricey for what it was. Staff were helpful. Clean, modern hotel and rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and thank you for your nice words!

We would be glad to welcome you to our hotel again!

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very disappointed by our stay! The hotel has been recently refurbished: rooms are nice but not at the level of a four stars hotel as it pretends to be. No frigo bar, no air conditioning, no noise proof windows which should have to be a must, considering that the rooms are on one of the most busy roads. You can hope to sleep only from three to five a.m otherwise noise is too disturbing.
Service is at bottom level, all the personnel had no attention to guests need. The first morning the lady in the breakfast room was upset with us because the reception has not informed her that we would have taken breakfast in the hotel and she was disturbed that she had to prepare some more croissants that were served us after 20 minutes.
The next day my son forgot a jacket on the hotel chair, just outside hotel door, we phone to ask to pick it up. When we came back in the hotel after two hours the jacket was still there. They had taken into no consideration our request.
Last night I was forced to park outside notwithstanding I inform them that I intended to park inside all nights. The only answer they could give me was the on fb page it was clearly specified that the parking was offered on first-in first-serve basis ! I wish I knew that at my arrival at the receptionist. All in all I would not recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay in this hotel, absolutely avoid rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sondrio1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel!
Hotels get categorized every year in Austria, also the Villa Carlton. According to that we have and always had 4 stars.
Air conditioning is not standard in Austria, as our climate is not very warm. Admittedly we had some hot days this year already. Apart from that we were not allowed to build in an A/C as our building is over 100 years old and is under preservation of Salzburg. In summer months we provide fans in every room.
Our windows were built in 3 years ago and are triple noise proof, we are sorry that you were disturbed by noise.
We are also sorry about the incidents at the breakfast and at the reception we informed our staff and apologize for them.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This is a fun boutique hotel. The rooms are a decent size (by European standards), clean and the service very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is just outside of the touristy area, but a 5-10 minute walk along the river takes you to old town.

I would recommend staying at this place if the price is right.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeyjumjum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guests!

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel! We also thank you for your nice word's and would be very glad welcoming you to our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We didnt know what to expect from this family run hotel but could not have been more pleased with our choice. The feel of the hotel and the welcome that we received was excellent. Our room was clean, stylish and quiet. Breakfast buffet had a wide choice of cold meats, fish and cheese; various hot drinks (inc excellent coffee!!) and bread, fruits and eggs cooked in a number of ways. The hotel was approximately 10-15 mins walk in to the exquisite Old Town but this in itself was a pleasurable experience as we strolled through beautiful gardens and along the river banks.
All in all I would HIGHLY recommend the Villa Carlton and would definitely choose to return there.

Room Tip: We had room 211 which was an end corridor and had the added benefit of a cloakroom/luggage area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeanA117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your visit! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and please don't hesitate to recommend us to your friends!

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaro, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Luxury hotel, with quality interior and good vibe. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is close to mirabell gardens, trainstation and the theater. Only minus is that we missed a waterboiler, tea- and coffeepot in the room and that is it is not in the Altstad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bovens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Boutiquehotel and we thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and other travellers.
A waterboiler is not standard in our rooms, but it is available at out reception. Of course without any extra charges.
The Hotel Villa Carlton is located approximately. 10 walking minutes from the historical city center with its sights. Due to the warm temperatures this year, we have already reopened our free bike-rental service. So our guest have now the possibility to reach the city center even in a few minutes by bycicle.
It would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in Salzburg soon and thank you again for reccommending our Hotel.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We've stayed for 3 nights and we were very pleased. It's really close to the Congress Center, near the city center.
Nice, big and very clean rooms. The decoration was very nice, very modern.
If we return to Salzburg, we will stay again in Villa Carlton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SRibeiro2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Manager at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear guest,
first of all we thank you very much for your stay in our Hotel Villa Carlton.
We are very happy that our offer was up to your complete satisfaction! We thank you for leaving your positive feedback for us and our future guests and are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Boutiquehotel soon.
Best regards
Anna Sunshine Sigl / Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#43 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#34 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 0 reviews
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#18 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Property: Hotel Villa Carlton
Address: Markus-Sittikus-Strasse 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlton is just a few steps from the Mirabell Gardens and the Salzburg Congress Centre. Salzburg Main Train Station and the Old Town are 700 metres away. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious, individually designed rooms at this boutique hotel feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, and an iPod docking station. Bicycles can be rented by guests of Hotel Villa Carlton between 1st May and 31st October. Theatre, concert and sightseeing tickets can be reserved at the reception. A bar is available in the elegant lounge. Private parking is available in Villa Carlton's courtyard, and a public parking garage is 500 metres away. The Kongresshaus Bus Stop (lines 1 and 2) is just a few steps away. The promenade along the Salzach River is only a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing