We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel. No Issues.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Carlton
Ranked #29 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. No Issues.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was great all around. The staff was extremely helpful in providing tips finding our way around the city. We did not have the breakfast as it was 14 euros/person. There is not too much in the immediate area in terms of shopping, cafes, etc. There was one coffee place about a block away called Cupocino or something that was pretty good. Otherwise, you need to walk about 1/4 mile to get to any shopping. You can walk 2 blocks down the Salzach river and follow it down to Old town. It's about a 20 minute walk. The rooms were nice and very large.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    191
    58
    15
    10
See reviews for
100
227
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 days. The hotel was responsive to our emails and queries. A special thanks to Alexandra for her help on the many things.

The rooms were adequate (the typical 20sqm of European hotels) and comfortable. The hotel is in a quite area but its a 5 - 7 minutes walk to the Bus stop which you can use to get around town.

The hotel went out of its way to courier my camera Charger which I had carelessly forgotten in my room when leaving in a hurry, they readily agreed to help. The gesture is much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giri44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Location: the location is WONDERFUL! It is less than 3 minutes walking time from Mirabel and about 10ish minutes to Old Towne (depending on how fast you walk). It is like a 5 euro cab ride to the train station and a 20ish minute walk to the train station.

Hotel Staff: VERY nice and they helped with everything we needed.

Room: Water pressure in the showers were excellent. The bathtubs were great - I am 5'11" and I fit perfectly! (: Daily room cleaning. Beds were extremely comfortable. We had a room on the first floor next to the street - yes, it is a busy street so if you're a light sleeper, ask to not be in a room next to the street - it didn't bother us one bit though.

Breakfast: cost extra but it was good. Don't expect to get American-style breakfast, but the service was great - very friendly and good food.

We were there for over a week and we needed to do laundry. There is a nice laundromat about 15 minutes down the street (walking). It is called Green Clean. Very easy to use the machines. People in there were very nice and willing to help if you need it. It's a little pricier than laundromats in the states but it is quick and great quality machines. Was worth it to us.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper - ask for a room that's not next to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mallory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is very charming, with a modern decor in a classic villa.
It is very close to the old town and directly next to the Promenade along the river. The Mirabell gardens and the Congress Center are just round the corner.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor, directly overlooking the street, but was very quiet. It was a corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights without breakfast. Walked about 10-15 mins from Salzburg HF to hotel as there was construction everywhere. Check in was easy and quick, reception was warm and informative as she showed us where to go in Salzburg. Impressed by how big the room was, with the separate lounge area and a different room as ensuite. WIFI was complimentary; Room was decorated exactly like the pictures shown, quirky but modern. Shower power was amazing. Temperature in the rooms were just nice, i always like opening windows and having natural air. Was lucky to get the insider court garden view, very quiet even in the mornings. Hotel amenities were provided and rooms were serviced daily

Walking distances to cafes, restaurants, banks, atms, even a very nice garden to chill out. For the price we paid on booking.com , i think this is the golden deal. Please keep this up !
Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the insider courtyard are quieter. Facing main street are noisy. Salzburg generally pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluemonkey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest!

Thank you very much for your warm words! We're glad you've enjoyed your stay!
We would be glad to welcome you to our hotel again.

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I feel like unless the location of Salzburg was some tropical paradise, a hotel attempting to appear so modern should headline the lack of A/C. The repeatedly offered defense from hotel staff was that they never claimed to have A/C. Fair, but that's like saying they never claimed to have toilets in the bathrooms. It is 2014 in a Western European city that thrives on tourism like Branson, Missouri (where, I assure you, A/C is standard). I mean, I've payed under 20 euros for hostel dorms with A/C. Our cancellation cost 100% of the price of the rooms … which we payed to move after the heat, even with fans, was too much to bear. The derisive attitude of the hotel staff over our complaint was merely salt to the wound.

I am not in the business of deriding cultures or people and this is not Salzburg, Austria, or Europe's problem. It is this hotel's problem. You should not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyAllton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guests,

We thank you for our stay in our hotel!
We kindly want to adjust your words a bit: As you wrote this review, you were still guests in our hotel, you also did not check our earlier. Unfortunately it is no standard in Western Europe for hotels to have A/C. As our receptionist tried to explain, it is a bit more complicated in our case. Due to our refurbishment 3 years ago we planned to build in an A/C, but the building is over 100 years and protected, we were not allowed to.
We are sorry that you could not enjoy your stay the way you should, when you are on holidays and hope you accept our apology!

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good location. Easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions. Right around the corner from Mirabell Palace and Gardens. Good sized room and ensuite. Breakfast was ok but a little pricey for what it was. Staff were helpful. Clean, modern hotel and rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCarlton, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Villa Carlton, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and thank you for your nice words!

We would be glad to welcome you to our hotel again!

Kind regards,
Anna Sunshine Sigl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.2 mi away
Hotel Markus Sittikus
Hotel Markus Sittikus
#42 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
Hotel Imlauer & Brau
#33 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#20 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carlton

Property: Hotel Villa Carlton
Address: Markus-Sittikus-Strasse 3, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Carlton is just a few steps from the Mirabell Gardens and the Salzburg Congress Centre. Salzburg Main Train Station and the Old Town are 700 metres away. Free Wi-Fi is available. The spacious, individually designed rooms at this boutique hotel feature a flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, and an iPod docking station. Bicycles can be rented by guests of Hotel Villa Carlton between 1st May and 31st October. Theatre, concert and sightseeing tickets can be reserved at the reception. A bar is available in the elegant lounge. Private parking is available in Villa Carlton's courtyard, and a public parking garage is 500 metres away. The Kongresshaus Bus Stop (lines 1 and 2) is just a few steps away. The promenade along the Salzach River is only a few metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Salzburg
Nh Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing