We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Good location”
Review of Hotel Neutor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Neutor
Ranked #117 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel. Good location”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Good place for a short stay. Walkable distance to city centre. nice average size room with sat tv with CNN being the only one English channel available. good breakfast, helpful staff, good service.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nibi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    89
    113
    58
    49
See reviews for
55
120
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

I was travelling with my mum for a week, and this was probably the most basic of the hotels that we stayed at throughout the trip. The hotel lobby was renovated, but the rooms weren't. It didn't matter too much to us, we were barely there and though it was out of the old city, it was all very accessible. The rooms were basic, but they were clean and warm in the middle of winter.
Breakfast was included, and was actually pretty tasty and fresh. The service on check-in was lovely, and the staff had plenty of recommendations for dinner and beer halls. It was quite close to some of the Christmas markets, which was handy for carrying everything back to the hotel! I'm not sure I would book again, as I think there would be potentially better value somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I am sitting in room 206 of the annex building. It smells of damp. A broken lampshade hangs off a bulb on a lamp beside the bed. Opening the window curtain dislodges the curtain rod, and it, too, hangs until I reinsert it. The safe doesn't work. The (small) shower has a broken door. The room is painted orange, and the carpet is green. A strange mechanical noise repeats itself at odd moments--and now, I can hear my upstairs neighbour running his shower. I had to spend €15 to park my car in the Altstadt public car park, because the dozen or so spaces the hotel offers were snapped up by other guests before I arrived at the not-unreasonable hour of 5.30 pm. But the location is great, I'll give it that much.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Wodonga, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed at this hotel with tour group. The hotel is average but the location is excellent. Room was on the small side but neverthe less it was quite ok. Small bathroom which tended to get quite wet when in the shower.

Breakfast was quite good although the breakfast room was rather small and crowded. Staff were very pleasant and always willing to assist guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulscan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Schwaerzler Hotel Neutor for 2 nights in August.

Plus points were that the location was brilliant- just 5 minutes to the centre via the tunnel. It was also really easy to get to from the train station with the bus stops just outside the hotel.

We stayed in the building across the road. The room was pretty small although clean. Decor was 'different'- there was what appeared to be a bare neon light-tube across the orange wall, and an equally bright carpet. There was a small TV and a complimentary bottle of water and Mozartkugeln, which was a nice touch. Bathroom was functional but fairly cramped and not what you would expect from a 4-star. There was a shampoo/soap dispenser in the shower but no hand soap by the sink, so that was a little inconvenient. There was no mini-bar and the safe did not work.

During our stay, the weather was lovely and temperatures were about 28-30C. There was no air conditioning but they did provide a standing fan which we had on constantly in the room. The room felt stale and was incredibly stuffy- even with the fan on full power, it was quite uncomfortable.

So to summarise- if you're looking for somewhere to sleep and you're not planning on spending much time in the room... and it's not hot outside, and you get a good deal, then Hotel Schwaerzler Neutor is a practical option. If you're after a 4-star- then definitely do not stay there!!

Would I stay again? Probably not.... as even in cooler weather, I suspect the rooms would still feel stuffy and stale. If I wanted a practical/budget option, I'd probably investigate some of the hostels instead.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb_81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I decided to stay at this hotel because of its proximity to the festival houses. I was not disappointed: It took not even a 5 minute walk to end up right in front of the festival houses and the old town. All the important sights of Salzburg are within walking distance. This is definitely the reason why I would decide to stay there again.

The hotel has two buildings: The hotel itself where the reception is located and a building just across the street. I had the impression that the first would have been the nicer place to stay at. There was a spacious breakfast room and the reception is nicely decorated. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. There was no staff in the other building and just a small breakfast room that I don't think was used the day we were there (we didn't have breakfast at the hotel, it would have been €11,- and we opted for trying one of the many restaurants in the area). Our room was rather small and equipped with a small tv and a fan, which was in use whenever we were in the room because it was very hot. Room and bathroom were small but adequately clean. The interior was rather tasteless: Green door, green carpet, very unlovingly decorated. Beds were worn and could have been more comfortable.

All in all, I don't think this hotel is worth 4 stars but I'd stay there again because of its good location if I don't plan on spending much time in the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kabibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I have stayed in this hotel twice for extended periods because of my work with the Salzburg festival. I have always been treated as a member of the family . What this hotel lacks , room service and in some rooms a mini bar, is more than made up for by the friendly staff. Nothing is too much for them.The hotel manager Suzanne is a wonder at making a guest feel comfortable. The breakfast is beautifully presented with many choices.There are two buildings and I have stayed in both. Usually the second building is a let down but in this case this not so.I would recommend this hotel too artists who have extended stays in the area a home away from home.It is a five minute walk to the old city .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acalicocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ARCOTEL Castellani
ARCOTEL Castellani
#41 of 132 in Salzburg
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#39 of 132 in Salzburg
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schwarzes Rossl
Schwarzes Rossl
#93 of 132 in Salzburg
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutor

Property: Hotel Neutor
Address: Neutorstrasse 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neutor 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Am Neutor Hotel Salzburg Zentrum" is located in the heart of the city of Mozart!In just 3 minutes you can reach the Getreidegasse, as well as the Festival House.A stay at this hotel promises you the central location and thus to be in the middle of the city. All attractions and cultural sites of Salzburg are within reach. The famous Getreidegasse, the festival halls, numerous attractions, galleries, museums, shops and cafes are located in the immediate vicinity.The Hotel Neutor places emphasis on hospitality. The receptionists endeavour to satisfy the guests’ needs and concerns. We would be happy to assist you in recommending and booking tickets and tours.You can book our rich breakfast buffet on-site.Drinks can be ordered at the bar or café around the clock.All rooms are equipped with toilet, shower / bath, safe, cable TV, luggage rack, WiFi and desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Neutor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing