We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a bit dated.”
Review of Hotel Neutor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Neutor
Ranked #117 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of a round trip through Austria. The location of the hotel is great, 3 minutes walking from the historic center of the town. If you come to visit the Festspiele, the Festspielhaus is through the tunnel, around the corner. I stayed in the main building, they also have rooms across the street. The hotel can be reached from the main train station by bus 1.

The rooms are a bit dated and worn out, with bumps and bruises in the furniture and you can just see it hasn't been updated in a while. Not super clean, but clean enough. There is a TV in the room, no English channels. Decent size closet available with a safe. In the bathroom there was a standard hotel hair dryer.

Buffet style breakfast in a bit undersized area. The staff had to work really hard to keep enough spaces cleaned up for new guests. Not very extended choice, just decent.

Room Tip: My room was above the entrance next to the bus stop. With the window open it was quite noisy, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great location only a few steps from the Festspielhaus, very friendly staff, wonderful breakfast - but not aircondition (4 stars?). In the main building you should ask for a room looking into the backyard - not the roadside (too hot & too loud).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I could not have picked a better placed Hotel.
The rooms were a bit tired but very clean. staff were very helpfull.breakfast was good.
Parking was a bit hit and miss but you can park in a safe parking across the road.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is very close to the old town. The hotel consists of two buildings, we stayed "across the streat" from the main building which wasn't a problem at all. Nice, clean room and comfortable beds. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a group tour, so I can't comment on it's "value for your dollar." We ended up in the older, more run down part of the hotel across the street from the main hotel. While the room was relatively clean, the carpet was stained, the blinds in the window were extremely dirty since they are on the outside of the door/window and they don't have screens. Beds were not really comfortable, but linens were clean and bathroom was fairly clean. Speaking of the bathroom, it was a tub/shower combination with a half glass enclosure (for lack of a better word), no shower curtain and you either had to sit on the little tile shelf (no way I would in a shower used by so many before me!) or stand right up against the back edge of the tub to avoid splashing water onto the floor. VERY poor design.
The elevator is tiny so two people and two suitcases is about all you can fit in it. Not fun for a large group coming in tired, each with a full suitcase.
The breakfast was fair...yogurt(very thin, soupy), a little fruit, runny scrambled eggs, breads, cake, and meats and cheeses. Not great but OK.
NO AIR CONDITIONING, at least in this older section of the hotel. Not a problem for us since it was not too warm, but would not want to stay here if it was.
An issue of safety...I needed an extra key card for my room so I walked up to the desk, across the street in the main hotel (no reception personnel in the older part of hotel) and asked for one. I gave the room number and was quickly handed an additional key card...NO questions or anything to prove I was even a guest in the hotel!! That was scary. Anyone could just walk up and get a key without proof they are staying there! They need to re-think that!
One positive note, the hotel is only a short walk through the tunnel to the city center. It is also fairly quiet, unless you need to open a window and are on the street side. Then you do hear any traffic or people on the street.
All in all, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. At least not the section we stayed in. I cannot comment on the newer part, but the older section needs some SERIOUS work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sly118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

A very convenient base to explore Salzburg by foot. It is just a short 5-10mins walk through a tunnel for pedestrians to the centre of the old town. Main attractions, shopping and dining options are all within walking distance. For places further afar, there is a bus stop just outside the hotel.
We were assigned a room on the 1st floor of the main building facing the car park and the . Surprisingly, it was peaceful enough to sleep even with a window open through the night. Of course, it gets a tad noisier in the morning.
The room is fairly standard and a tad tired looking. Toilet door could not be shut properly.
Checking in was fairly easy and the staff were friendly and helpful. As we were only catching an evening train, we left our luggage with the hotel after check-out. A note of caution though.... no luggage tag/identification is given, Basically claimed our luggage by pointing out which items were ours from the baggage room. Luckily we did not come back and find that someone else has 'claimed' our luggage though.
As mentioned in a number of earlier reviews, the WIFI connection could do with some improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel was perfectly located to see the old town and all the Mozart sights. We walked to everything. The rooms were very roomy compared to many such places this close to a tourist sight. We had a room for 3 (2 twin beds placed together, and a sofa bed, which could also be made into twin size, leaving room for the sitting on the other end of the sofa) with a full bath and a half bath, closet area, and a room safe. The price was great. I had priced other hotels in the area, and this one was almost half the cost of many of them. This also included a lovely breakfast with scrambled or boiled eggs, ham, many cheeses and cold cuts, fruit, veggies, juice, coffee or tea, and several bread choices. I would highly recommend this hotel for a Salzburg stay, and would stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
1.1 mi away
Lehenerhof
Lehenerhof
#115 of 132 in Salzburg
8 reviews
1.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jedermann
Hotel Jedermann
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
322 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arena City Hotel Salzburg
Arena City Hotel Salzburg
#110 of 132 in Salzburg
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutor

Address: Neutorstrasse 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £48 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neutor 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Am Neutor Hotel Salzburg Zentrum" is located in the heart of the city of Mozart!In just 3 minutes you can reach the Getreidegasse, as well as the Festival House.A stay at this hotel promises you the central location and thus to be in the middle of the city. All attractions and cultural sites of Salzburg are within reach. The famous Getreidegasse, the festival halls, numerous attractions, galleries, museums, shops and cafes are located in the immediate vicinity.The Hotel Neutor places emphasis on hospitality. The receptionists endeavour to satisfy the guests’ needs and concerns. We would be happy to assist you in recommending and booking tickets and tours.You can book our rich breakfast buffet on-site.Drinks can be ordered at the bar or café around the clock.All rooms are equipped with toilet, shower / bath, safe, cable TV, luggage rack, WiFi and desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Neutor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing