We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like 2 stars”
Review of Hotel Neutor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Neutor
Ranked #118 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More like 2 stars”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

There were two good things about this hotel: the location (especially if you come for the Salzburg Festival - the Festspielhaus is a 3-minute walk) and breakfast. Everything else was subpar. It baffles me that this hotel has four stars. Rooms need thorough renovation. Unfortunately we were given rooms facing the street - very noisy and difficult to sleep at night. Couldn't close shower cabin door. Often when I walked past reception, no one was there. No air condition in rooms, just a fan. The four star price is a rip-off. Will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabliau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    88
    112
    58
    44
See reviews for
53
118
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very bad experiences there, Stay away from this Hotel...
We stayed there for one day and it was a nightmare. I woke up 3 am in the morning with a bug crawled into my left ear and bit me. Actually, no hotel staff in the building we stayed. We had to go another building across the street to report the problem. We had to go Salzburg Hospital emergency room to get bug out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of a round trip through Austria. The location of the hotel is great, 3 minutes walking from the historic center of the town. If you come to visit the Festspiele, the Festspielhaus is through the tunnel, around the corner. I stayed in the main building, they also have rooms across the street. The hotel can be reached from the main train station by bus 1.

The rooms are a bit dated and worn out, with bumps and bruises in the furniture and you can just see it hasn't been updated in a while. Not super clean, but clean enough. There is a TV in the room, no English channels. Decent size closet available with a safe. In the bathroom there was a standard hotel hair dryer.

Buffet style breakfast in a bit undersized area. The staff had to work really hard to keep enough spaces cleaned up for new guests. Not very extended choice, just decent.

Room Tip: My room was above the entrance next to the bus stop. With the window open it was quite noisy, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great location only a few steps from the Festspielhaus, very friendly staff, wonderful breakfast - but not aircondition (4 stars?). In the main building you should ask for a room looking into the backyard - not the roadside (too hot & too loud).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I could not have picked a better placed Hotel.
The rooms were a bit tired but very clean. staff were very helpfull.breakfast was good.
Parking was a bit hit and miss but you can park in a safe parking across the road.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is very close to the old town. The hotel consists of two buildings, we stayed "across the streat" from the main building which wasn't a problem at all. Nice, clean room and comfortable beds. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a group tour, so I can't comment on it's "value for your dollar." We ended up in the older, more run down part of the hotel across the street from the main hotel. While the room was relatively clean, the carpet was stained, the blinds in the window were extremely dirty since they are on the outside of the door/window and they don't have screens. Beds were not really comfortable, but linens were clean and bathroom was fairly clean. Speaking of the bathroom, it was a tub/shower combination with a half glass enclosure (for lack of a better word), no shower curtain and you either had to sit on the little tile shelf (no way I would in a shower used by so many before me!) or stand right up against the back edge of the tub to avoid splashing water onto the floor. VERY poor design.
The elevator is tiny so two people and two suitcases is about all you can fit in it. Not fun for a large group coming in tired, each with a full suitcase.
The breakfast was fair...yogurt(very thin, soupy), a little fruit, runny scrambled eggs, breads, cake, and meats and cheeses. Not great but OK.
NO AIR CONDITIONING, at least in this older section of the hotel. Not a problem for us since it was not too warm, but would not want to stay here if it was.
An issue of safety...I needed an extra key card for my room so I walked up to the desk, across the street in the main hotel (no reception personnel in the older part of hotel) and asked for one. I gave the room number and was quickly handed an additional key card...NO questions or anything to prove I was even a guest in the hotel!! That was scary. Anyone could just walk up and get a key without proof they are staying there! They need to re-think that!
One positive note, the hotel is only a short walk through the tunnel to the city center. It is also fairly quiet, unless you need to open a window and are on the street side. Then you do hear any traffic or people on the street.
All in all, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. At least not the section we stayed in. I cannot comment on the newer part, but the older section needs some SERIOUS work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sly118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.6 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#35 of 132 in Salzburg
626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutor

Property: Hotel Neutor
Address: Neutorstrasse 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neutor 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Am Neutor Hotel Salzburg Zentrum" is located in the heart of the city of Mozart!In just 3 minutes you can reach the Getreidegasse, as well as the Festival House.A stay at this hotel promises you the central location and thus to be in the middle of the city. All attractions and cultural sites of Salzburg are within reach. The famous Getreidegasse, the festival halls, numerous attractions, galleries, museums, shops and cafes are located in the immediate vicinity.The Hotel Neutor places emphasis on hospitality. The receptionists endeavour to satisfy the guests’ needs and concerns. We would be happy to assist you in recommending and booking tickets and tours.You can book our rich breakfast buffet on-site.Drinks can be ordered at the bar or café around the clock.All rooms are equipped with toilet, shower / bath, safe, cable TV, luggage rack, WiFi and desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Neutor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing