We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not four-star except for the location”
Review of Hotel Neutor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Neutor
Ranked #117 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not four-star except for the location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for five nights. We would not normally have chosen it, but it was part of a group tour. I agree with other comments that it should not be given four stars. We are staying in a real four-star hotel in Vienna right now and it is far superior. We have a fridge, tea-and-coffee-making facilities in the room, fast WiFi and English channels on the TV, none of which were available at Neutor. Well, we did have WiFi, but it was slow and we were often disconnected.

The one big advantage of Neutor is its closeness to the old town - just a short walk through the tunnel. The room was a decent size and the beds were comfortable enough, a bit soft for us, but many people would probably prefer that. Breakfast was okay, but eggs and bacon took a long time to be replaced sometimes and there was no salmon.

I had some difficulty contacting reception by phone to arrange a wake-up call. I had to actually go down to find someone one night after trying to call several times.

I would not choose to stay here again, but if location is top priority, it's worth considering.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    89
    113
    58
    49
See reviews for
55
120
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The rooms of the main building are much better than the hotel annex, however, the rooms are relatively basic with not very comfortable beds. Breakfast is very good with lovely staff of the breakfast room. The location of the hotel is great just 5 min walk from the old city. Generally it is a reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naguib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel by car to discover that all the car parking spaces were taken, we were advised to use the cap park over the road, which was a mere 18 euros per day, not a good start. Our room was of good size as was the bathroom, however we were at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road, this was not the place to be as we later discovered. A short walk through the tunnel and you are in the old town of Salzburg, so the hotel is very convenient.
Upon returning to the hotel after dinner we attempted to sleep, but the sound from the road continued into the early hours, resulting in a disturbed night. Breakfast was a good selection next morning although the hotel was full. Hotel was clean and staff very friendly, would consider a return visit but only with a quiet room at the rear.

Room Tip: Insist on a room away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryTUk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Well. Ok it is on a busy road so be sure to ask for a quiet room. We stayed her for five nights. Hotel staff very welcoming and very helpful. Had extra pillows, an iron and extra key for us within five minutes! And sent someone up to sort out the safe within another five. The location is very good being about five minutes walk from the edge of the old town. Ok, so it's not really more than a two star, room wise. A bit worn out, but the shower is good. The bed comfortable and fresh with cotton linen. Breakfast is excellent with lots of choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visited Salzburg and have chosen this hotel as we wanted to stay close to the city. Within a few minutes we reached the city center and had access to all sights. The hotel has a perfect location and can be reached by car (parking at the hotel) and by bus (from the train station directely) which is very comforable. The staff was absolutely helpful and so friendly! Breakfast was great

Room Tip: Room to the courtyard is more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d_ebenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

In the downtown of Salzburg. Excellent location, main tourist attactions in walking distance range. Safe in the night times. Limited food choices. Breakfast is OK. Tariff is very reasonable considering strategic location and tourist place. Value for Money.

Room Tip: Road Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkharul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had the worst service experience I have ever had at any hotel anywhere in the world of any class. The arrogance of the staff was unparalleled, basically telling me it was my fault for not bringing a problem they caused to their attention earlier. At 27 square meters, you'll find that this is the smallest junior suit outside of Lilliput. As a plus, a third of that space is in the oversized bathroom.

As another reviewer said, the only thing this place has going for it is being just outside the old town.

NOTE to families: this place is family hostile. Do not stay here with small children.

Room Tip: There are much better rooms in other hotels the old town itself. They will be much quieter and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShakingTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ARCOTEL Castellani
ARCOTEL Castellani
#41 of 132 in Salzburg
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
#40 of 132 in Salzburg
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schwarzes Rossl
Schwarzes Rossl
#98 of 132 in Salzburg
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutor

Property: Hotel Neutor
Address: Neutorstrasse 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neutor 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel "Am Neutor Hotel Salzburg Zentrum" is located in the heart of the city of Mozart!In just 3 minutes you can reach the Getreidegasse, as well as the Festival House.A stay at this hotel promises you the central location and thus to be in the middle of the city. All attractions and cultural sites of Salzburg are within reach. The famous Getreidegasse, the festival halls, numerous attractions, galleries, museums, shops and cafes are located in the immediate vicinity.The Hotel Neutor places emphasis on hospitality. The receptionists endeavour to satisfy the guests’ needs and concerns. We would be happy to assist you in recommending and booking tickets and tours.You can book our rich breakfast buffet on-site.Drinks can be ordered at the bar or café around the clock.All rooms are equipped with toilet, shower / bath, safe, cable TV, luggage rack, WiFi and desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Neutor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing