We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel at start of pederstrian mall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Ranked #34 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Gmunden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel at start of pederstrian mall”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Hotel is at the start of the pedestrian mall, very quite. from the hotel it is a very pleasent and convenient walk into the Salzburg City Centre , enough shops and restaurants to make the walk interesting .The Hotel is located in two opposite buildings, I understand one is Hotel, the other Hotel & Apartments . Very clean, very friendly even at the time the Hotel was fully booked . Value for Money considering Salzburg Price Level.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eu-citizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    352
    134
    45
    19
See reviews for
279
442
66
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights triple share at this boutique property just around corner from pedestrian linzerstrasse. Service at front desk was excellent and generally service here especially at breakfast could not be faulted. The trick here is to understand exactly what you are booking. There is the main hotel for check in and just across the road in Wolf-Dietrich strasse a 'residenz' with more rooms. Then around the corner in Linzerstrasse apartments too. I misunderstood my booking and thought I was booking apartment. Also had trouble working out where to post this review. We had a 2 room suite, which should really be sold as an open loft apartment. The main bedroom is upstairs and is open to the downstairs living area which has a sofa bed. The sofa bed was of average quality and a bit lumpy. To watch DVD had to lie on made up sofa bed. Really there is no privacy in the sleeping arrangements. A bit worn around edges but a lovely view of the town from our top floor loft. Some nice extras...robes, umbrellas, free ( if dated) dvd library and newspapers at reception. Tiny pool, sauna and relax area in basement of hotel. Our over bath shower had no curtain so water splashes everywhere and toilet seat rocked. Other negative is no tea coffee making kettle although plenty of space in room to put one. They provide free afternoon tea from 2.30pm for a few hours but most guests are touring at those times. It cost 8 euro for us to walk over and order 3 hot drinks to bring back to room as we like hot tea before bedtime. This is my mistake as I did not read the fine print carefully enough. Overall though could not fault service. Would stay again but be more careful about exactly what I was booking

Room Tip: Read all the fine print and make sure you know if you are in hotel, residenz or apartment. Check yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaretPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My family of three stayed for a week and found it to be a good all round hotel. Clean, neat and orderly with nice staff and modern bedrooms. Breakfast was a buffet, euro style good ham and cheese. All services were carried out quickly, with them letting us have a late check out at short notice with no problem. Central and close enough to not have to spend a fortune on taxis. Enjoyed our week.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Annabel,

thank you so much for choosing the Wolf-Dietrich for your trip to Salzburg and sharing your experience with all the other travellers here on Tripadvisor. We hope you had a safe journey home!

Sunny greetings from the city of Salzburg,
Christine and the Wolf-Dietrich-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my 13 year old son. Stayed in the Residenz just a few yards across the road. Room was bright and airy in a Scandinavian style. Breakfast was nice with plenty of continental choice ( go elsewhere if u need your American breakfast). Nice little bar area was a relaxed place to hangout and the spa with a very small ( but with a counter current generator) pool in the basement we're a real bonus to relax in after a days sightseeing. Car access and parking handier on this side versus staying in old town with pedestrian streets

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestguv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback here on Tripadvisor. We hope you had a safe journey home! Hope to seeing you again in Salzburg.

Sunny greetings,
Christine and the Wolf-Dietrich-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We are a family of five and booked two rooms because the website we used said the maximum number of people in a room was 4. Upon arrival we discovered that there was actually place for 5 people in the family room (one double bed plus three singles). Moreover, the double room that was given to us was on a separate building from the kids' room - not ideal!!! We asked at the reception if we could quit the double room we had already paid for and get a refund, the man at the desk said it wasn't the hotel's fault that we had booked two rooms and that they couldn't do this. We also asked if we could at least get a room closer to the kids and the answer was again no. He didn't seem to care at all, since we had already paid. We will never stay at this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay at this hotel as a family, make sure you get the family room (there's r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CRPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Family Palmer, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Wolf-Dietrich. After checking the circumstances I have to inform you that the reservation was made for 6 persons, 4 persons in the family room and 2 persons in the double room. As our family room 55 accomodates a maximum of 5 persons (2 adults and 3 children) we were not able to cancel the double room. As mentioned in all our listings on several booking plattform we are able to prepare one(!) extra bed in the family rooms on demand at an extra charge and our rooms are separated into two separate buildings. Unfortunately we were not able to change your double room to the Altstadthotel on your arrival day as the hotel was fully booked.

We hope you had a safe journey back home!

Kind regards,
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Overall good hotel. Nice, clean rooms and bathrooms. Good location, no problem with parking - even with ski-box. Plenty and tasty breakfast. Good option for transit hotel during ski-trips. Minus for no restaurant in the hotel - you need to go to the town. Also cold pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zawsze-w-drodze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for choosing the Wolf-Dietrich for your stay in Salzburg and for sharing your experience here in Tripadvisor with other travellers. Although we do not have a restaurant on site anymore we will be pleased to help with words and deeds to find a perfect location for lunch and dinner nearby.

Warm regards from the city of Salzburg,
Christine and the Wolf-Dietrich-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Carlos, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The central location of the hotel makes it easy to access. Even though upon our arrival from the train station, we got to the hotel by a taxi, it can be easily reached on foot as well. We stayed in the Wolf-Dietrich Residenz, which is the building just across Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel, both part of the same hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated in a classical style. We had a big TV screen, a comfortable bed and a nice bathtub. There was also a fully equipped minibar and we liked the bonus of the room, though we didn’t use it - a DVD player, with movies available for rent in the hall of the opposite building. We had to use the stairs to reach the fourth floor. The fact that we had to cross the street to have breakfast didn't bother us, since we got to enjoy the view of the mountain hills of Salzburg first thing in the morning. We had a variety of choices for breakfast (different kinds of cheese, ham, yogurt, fruit, juice, tea and coffee). The staff was friendly and gave us directions and maps of the city. We would consider the hotel again as our best option if we return to the breathtaking city of Salzburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco_Batalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
822 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#26 of 132 in Salzburg
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Property: Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing