We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Ranked #33 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is an attractive, mid-priced hotel close to cafes and amenities, which is a fairly easy walk to the old town. It's convenient and quick to find, when driving into Salzburg. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was really excellent. I would have given it five stars but as we had luggage it was rather disappointing that we were given a room across the road in another building. However, the building was clean and secure, the room was fine and very clean, and looked out onto a quiet, pleasant courtyard, so this did not cause a major hassle. I would definitely recommend this hotel - but perhaps ask if you can stay in the main building which is very attractive. My only other small quibble was that we went to the bar for a nightcap one evening and the service was not very friendly or welcoming - in fact, we felt as though we were rather a nuisance. Service at breakfast and on the front desk, however, was very friendly and helpful, so mostly made up for the grumpy man at the bar!

Room Tip: Suggest you ask if you can have a room in the main hotel - however, these may be pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    356
    136
    45
    19
See reviews for
282
445
66
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is a truly lovely hotel in an excellent location in Salzburg, sitting adjacent to a pedestrian walkway full of restaurants and cafés leading to the river and old city beyond after a 10 minute walk. Unfortunately we hit Salzburg during a heat wave. We had reserved a family room for our family of 5 - plenty of space and beds but no A/C as it is in the old part of the hotel. The room was sweltering hot - they provided 2 fans which helped some but still very difficult to sleep. We asked to be moved to the newer side of the hotel across the street where they do have A/C but these were all sold out. The staff were very apologetic and told us there is no A/C because the building is old and can't be retrofitted. Wonderful hotel but beware if you are the type who needs A/C this may not be the place for you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location was very convenient for a visit to Salzburg, being convenient to the main railroad station, the old town, restaurants, etc. in particular, the staff was very friendly and helpful. And the spa was of very high quality - not large, but very nice.

The only reasons for not awarding a 5th star were the minor inconvenience of having to cross the street to get to the lobby and breakfast room, and the absence if dining. That having been said, the breakfast, included in the price, was really first rate.


CBJR

Room Tip: Face the Hof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is about EUR 6.5-8 taxi ride away from the Salzburg HBF (it's not that far if you want to walk, but we have luggage). We stayed in this hotel for 2 separate nights (went somewhere else for the night in between). The location is simply awesome that you can walk across the bridge and you’ll reach the Old Town. And on the way to the Old Town, there were plenty of restaurants/cafés/bars and shops for you to enjoy. (please don’t go to the Tokyo Japanese Restaurant, it’s a tourist trap!). There’s a church around the corner and the bell will start ringing from 7:00am (you can treat it as your morning call). The lady-in-charge at the breakfast was very warm and friendly and the breakfast was okay. It might also be worth to mention that this is an air-con-free hotel.

The first night, we stayed in the Romance Suite. It was very spacious and a welcoming fruit platter and a rose was sitting on the table waiting for us. How lovely. In the bathroom (can’t really say that it’s a room, it’s on a stage with curtain) there were starry lights on the ceiling and the bath tub is sitting in the middle of the bathroom. So you can imagine when you shower (not taking a bath), the floor will be all wet because there was not any shield. Shampoo, conditioner, body wash and cream are provided. (*no toothbrush & toothpaste is provided, please bring your own). The bed is big and comfortable and the only thing is that the pillow is too flat (I used 2 pillows). It was so hot when we were there that I couldn’t sleep well and because we have opened all the windows, it’s quite noisy outside. (P.S. my hubbie told me that he heard kids playing, women walking on heels and elderlies talking at around 4am – which I found very suspicious!)

The second night, we booked a superior double room. It’s not as big as a suite of course, but it’s already big enough for 2 of us to open 2 suitcase in the “living room” area. Probably because it was too hot when we were there, there’s a fan provided in the room – how lovely, it was soooooo hot!!! And the bathroom is a normal one which is comfortable enough. In this room type – you’ll get the all-in-one body wash/shampoo (not as fancy as what you get from the Romance Suite). In my opinion, this room is more comfortable that I slept well.

Suggestions: I suggest the hotel changes all the spot lights into normal lights because the spot lights generate too much heat and especially when the weather is so hot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaSaLoVeU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife, her brother, and I stayed three nights at the Wolf-Deitrich in May 2014. From the moment that we entered the hotel, we felt welcome. The desk staff was friendly and made every effort to meet our needs while staying with them. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts (included in the room rate) were beyond belief, meats (including smoked salmon), cheeses, breads, jams, pastries, cereals, fruits, and juices, plus a variety of teas and coffee. Who could ask for more? The hotel is located a short walk to the river within the new part of the city, and the Old Town is a just across the river. We came to town by train from Munich, and the hotel was a very comfortable walk from the train station. Of all of the hotels I stayed in while on this trip to Europe, this is the one I would most definitely return to!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in the residences, they are just across the street from the main hotel. Apparently if you want air conditioning this is where you stay. What makes this hotel is its location.

The breakfast was very good and the staff excellent. I have no problem in recommending this hotel and I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hexthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great location at the beginning of the pedestrian walking area. Very nice hotel and staff. The included breakfast in the restaurant is first class. Wi-Fi works great in the hotel room and lobby but not very well in the restaurant. The price was fair compared to the expensive hotels across the river in the old town. Worth the walk down the pedestrian area to the old town to keep the cost down. Only a 10 minute walk from the train station. Nice grocery store a few blocks away. Great location. Great hotel. Fair price compared to the old town hotels.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 132 in Salzburg
1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,027 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Property: Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing