We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Ranked #27 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently. Our room was not in the hotel but in the building opposite . It was a nice room, quite spacious and clean.

The location is very good and a short walk from all the main activities. Breakfast was great and the service was very good also. Then hotel staff in general were very helpful.

We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    342
    129
    44
    14
See reviews for
274
428
61
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

First pleasant surprise was the room upgrade at check in, to a suite. Next was the suite itself, which was wildly decorated like out of a movie with whimsical themes from Mozart's Magic Flute. Just around the corner from the best shopping and restaurant street. Easy walk to bus stop etc.
Only problem was the head waitress in the breakfast restaurant, who clearly established a pecking order for which folks get which tables (don't dare ask to change). She has a jarring, in your face attitude which doesn't fit at all with the rest of the staff, who are great.

Room Tip: We had suite 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We've stayed in four hotels in two weeks and this was our favorite! Great, friendly, helpful staff from reception to the servers in the restaurant. We had a two story room in the 2nd building (across the street from the main hotel), which felt like having our own apartment and provided privacy when staying with young children. Terrific location as well--very close to pedestrian shops and restaurants. The breakfast each morning was awesome! Lots of options, very good quality. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you so much for sharing your great experience here on tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed the ugrade, the breakfast and the staff. It would be nice to welcoming you again someday. All the best and greetings from Salzburg, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is great for large families. Our group of ten occupied three rooms, including two family rooms that were amazing... a room with a loft so the kids could sleep downstairs while we were upstairs. The only downside was that the beds weren't super comfy. That wouldn't keep me from coming back, though. The service and staff were excellent and the breakfast included with the room was lovely. There's even a small pool. It's a short walk from all of the things we wanted to see and a five minute cab ride from the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and for the feedback. Nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with your family. We also hope you got to enjoy the city of Salzburg. Have a nice summer. Best regards, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Not a bad overall experience. Hotel is in a good location near Mirabelle Palace (where Julie Andrews and children sang "do-re-me" during the Sound of Music). Hotel is split in two with main rooms above lobby and a "residence" across street. We stayed in the residence. I asked for an upper floor room but the change was too much for the front desk to handle, so we stayed on the 1st floor. Luckily the street was quiet. Lots missing overall: drapes in room didn't cover windows...allowing plenty of light in during the morning. No shampoo/conditioner...just a one soap dispenser in the shower. Spa downstairs...but never towels. Juice available in spa...but no clean glasses. Not the service or amenities I would expect for the price. Don't think I will bring my family back to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AzugaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback with improvement suggestions. We are sorry to hear, that your stay wasn´t as comfortable as it whould be. We provide body and hairwash in all showers. If you would like a special conditioner or toiletries, please ask at the front desk. We hope you had a good journey home and that you still had a good time in Salzburg. Best regards, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights on holiday. Great location, lovely room with Air conditioning - clean and comfortable and spacious - although across the street from main part of hotel this was no problem. Quietlysituated yet easy walking distance to old town, reataurants etc. Swimming pool is small but well appointed and a welcome extra amenity. Good breakfast, pleasant staff. Would happily return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are happy you liked the room, our breakfast and the SPA. We also hope you enjoyed the city. Would be great to welcoming you again someday. Best regards, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our stay in Salzburg was great, loved the city. The hotel's location was perfect, just off the main path, not to noisy, and surrounded by restaurants and shops.
Although we got the secondary location across the street, the room was impeccably clean.
The breakfast provided was very good, and the service there was exceptional, our young server was very polite and attentive. The gentleman behind the bar in the afternoon/evening was GREAT, gave us great suggestions on daily activities, night spots to visit for the World Cup games, and traveling thoughts. Our only issue was the gentleman behind the reception desk who we found to be cold and not really willing to go beyond what was expected of him.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine S, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your stay here at the Wolf-Dietrich and thank you for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Salzburg. It would be great if you would visit us again someday. All the best and greetings from the city of Mozart, Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#6 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Property: Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing