We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families -- sehr gut!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We absolutely loved our large "loft"-style bedroom for four -- from the added space for relaxing at night to the morning/skylight view of the Fortress above. Decor was a bit kitschy-alpine-y, but it just made it feel more homey. (Interesting contrast with ultra-modern lobby.) As other reviewers mentioned, great location for walking throughout the "old town" near the cathedral and not far from the funicular. Great eating and shopping are nearby, and the "other" historic/tourist part of town is a short ride or pleasant walk across the bridge/river. Taxi ride from train station was a mere 10 minutes or so. We appreciated the chance to (for a surcharge) get into our room early due to the extra-early arrival by train.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClassicalEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were booked in as a Superior Room, but when we checked in we were given the keys to a very average room with very tired furnishings. I immediately went back to reception and we were given another room which was much more modern with a fantastic bathroom (it was well worth complaining, since we did pay for a superior room). The location of this hotel is great and there is a fantastic Italian restaurant downstairs next to the hotel (well worth a try). The only complaints with this hotel is the room does get a bit warm (a fan is provided for use in the cupboard) and the room we were in was too small for the bed (impossible to walk around it).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcommins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Salzburg is a pearl in Austria. This hotel was all we expected and the price was reasonable and the location was fantastic. We immediately felt welcome and felt we were in a special place. It is situated in the old town. Everything is within 15 minutres of walk and the Fortress overshadows the hotel. Parking is provided by the hotel but make sure you let them know prior, there are limited spots.

If you are looking for Austrian hospitality, you will not be disappointed with this hotel.
One point, the rooms were typically small but ok as per European standards. The beds were comfortable but closely locked together. If we had one complaint it was because there was no air conditioning which is typical in these old buildings. The windows are small and don't allow for good air circulation (this was June and the weather was around 22 degrees not too much humidity). The washrooms were very practical fairly modern, and very clean and you will appreciate. The room service was excellent.

Tip - Intrnet access is in the lobby, however if you get a room on the first floor you may have free aceess as we did. thru WiFi.

The breakfast are included in the price. Its a wonderful buffet and the decor is very relaxing ad amazing and a good start to the day.

Its important to note, that there are amazing restauraunts, souvenir shops and access to all the sites and amazing historical winding romantic streets are all within a few minutes of this hotel. The area is very secure and you will very quickly feel at home.

I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel. Enjoy!

Room Tip: first floor if you need internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 231098Marcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. The first time was in 2006. We really enjoyed the location and hotel on our first visit prompting our second stay. The location is very convenient for seeing the sights and just strolling through the old town. The hotel itself is ok, but the furnishings in our room were a little tired, especially the bed which had a wooden frame that I kept hitting with my leg during the night. Staff members were pleasant and the breafast was very good with a variety of hot and cold choices. The room rates are fair. I would certainly not discourage people from staying here, but I will probably seek out another hotel on my next visit to Salzburg.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedartrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We ( an extended family on vacation) for three nights. All of us agreed that this was a
superb hotel!! Rooms varied in sized with Suite 2 being extremely large. All were fine.
Rooms were spotlessly clean and modern. Personnel were very helpful, professional and
fluent in English and other languages. Location was excellent with restaurants in house,
50 ft. away, to all over. Major sights were minutes away by foot. Old Salzburg is a walking town, and this hotel was close to many, and not far from any. Breakfast was available in house and very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and We would stay there again in a heartbeat. Drawbacks?? Parking is not available on site, but nearby. Not a problem as you see Salzburg on foot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank histodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The hotel was a comfortable place to come back to after a day of touring the city. Centrally located meant you were only a few minutes away ever. The staff was exceptional (especially Geza) helping recommend places for dinner or drinks, getting taxi's, even helping us be able to watch an American football playoff game.

The rooms and furniture are average quality but the location and staff make the difference.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dblackfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Great location at a super price. Helpful friendly staff and a hearty breakfast sets you up for the day.We remarked that it was the quietest hotel we had ever stayed in ! Salzburg is an easy place to get around and you really only need a couple of days unless you intend to go out of the city.
The train links are great to Munich and as we took an Easy Jet flight to Munich it kept our cost down. Book any train journey before you travel online to save more money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Applenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
1,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
872 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £76 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing