We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but hotel better to stay in the Winter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #37 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice, but hotel better to stay in the Winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We are a younger couple and we stayed here for 3 nights on our 3-week trip to Europe in July. We really enjoyed the location. It's in old town, next to several great restaurants and next to all of the main churches in Salzburg. The location is great.

The e-bikes we rented were also amazing! We loved that we could do that. It really made our stay so much enjoyable.

The breakfast was great, but there are only two workers and so the food seemed to always run out (though they would replenish it). There was always a line for coffee and it was a bit crowded. The spread was fantastic though.

The hotel has a nice spa, with sauna/massage/steam room but I don't think it's really "up and running" during the Summer season. It was deserted when I was there (I used the sauna) and it looked like it hadn't been used for months.

I think this hotel would be PERFECT if you are planning a ski/winter vacation in Salzburg, especially if you have a family (they have some cool loft rooms I saw), but for a young couple in the summer, it wasn't the best hotel choice for us. Rooms were nice and big, but the bed had a lip over it, so you couldn't sit up in bed, unless you had 2-3 pillows behind you. Yes, a small nitpick thing, but really annoying when you want to work on your computer/iPad in bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    216
    104
    42
    28
See reviews for
131
275
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Kaisererbrau is brilliantly located in the old city just up from Mozartplatz and under the Fortress. The rooms are comfortable and traditional with windows that open! Bathrooms large with good fittings. The reception staff are very helpful and full of information and ideas about where to go and what to do. There are many good restaurants and shops nearby including a very good Indian place down near Mozartplatz. The hotel has two electric bicycles available for rental at reasonable rates cheaper that at Mozartplatz. Rent a bike and ride up to the Fortress (or at least part of the way) and around the old city, and surrounding straze and platz. Ride down to the river and along the great bike paths on each side. Ride back to Mozartsteg and back up to the Hotel Stein to another platz where you might hear a band playing rockabilly and blues... Not to mention Mozart playing at at least two or three places most nights...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarthurMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

This very old building has been altered many times over the centuries and now houses two movie theatres and the hotel, complete with modern sauna/steam bath, and breakfast terrace. Our room was large, facing the front and we were slightly disturbed by early morning deliveries and late night diners at the adjacent restaurant. These objections were overcome, however, by the helpful staff and the fabulous location. All the tourist sights were close enough for us to walk and there were many good cafes and restaurants nearby. Breakfast at the hotel was more than ample in selection and quality. We liked this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I spent only a night in Salzburg, but it was a great experience. We chose this hotel because of its good positioning, in the middle of the old town, under the fortress. All tourist sights are very close, by foot. The reception staff was friendly and helpfull. The room wasn't too large, but with enough space to move around. The furniture was old style, but good looking and in good shape. The bathroom was bigger than in other hotels, with a big bathtub, planty towels and hair dryer. The breakfast was good and diversified. On the ground floor there are a cinema (KIno Mozart) and an italian restaurant (Trattoria Domani). Also, there is a parking posibility (even if the hotel is situated in a walking area). It costs 12€ / day, but needs to be reserved in advance by phone or email. Most of the sights are very close, excepting Hellbrunn Schloß and the Red Bull Hangar-7.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fan4milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Intersting hotel. Some rooms opened on to a terrace where one could have breakfast and that could be noisy. Also not secure - our friends commented that if they left the window open someone could climb in! We did not have that problem.
Every room had different furniture. We had an armoire in the room instead of a regular clothes cupboard but it was fine for the clothes. One of the better hotels for adequate rinsing of clothes and stringing a line to hang them to dry. A fan was provided instead of AC and that was adequate for us as the weather was not extremely hot.
Breakfast was excellent - a perfect location for touring the city.

Room Tip: Try for a room which does not open towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Being in the limited traffic area of the old town it is an excellent position to see the sights. The room we were given was basic and a bit tired looking, not what I would call a Superior Room. The bedhead and cupboard, etc looked liked pine, but on closer inspection we found it was actually wallpaper with rose motifs (very cheap looking). After checking the bathroom which was also quite ordinary, in hindsight we should have asked for another room, as we also found there were 'squeaks' everywhere - the bed squeaked evertime you moved, and if you got out of the bed to go to the bathroom, every floorboard squeaked, which of course woke up my wife.
The buffet breakfast was reasonable as it had hot and cold choices, but they were always running out of scrambled eggs, and the replenishment was always coming but not arriving!
They have an excellent Italian Restaurant (Tratttoria Domani) next door, you can actually go direct from the hotel. In the building of the hotel is the Kino Mozart Cinema which is the oldest continual working cinema in the world ( the first movie performance being in 1904) - this was of fascinating interest to me.
There are many sights to see such as Mirabella Gardens, a bit of walk to the other side of the river.Close to the hotel is the fortress at the top of the hill overlooking the town, we walked which is okay if you are fit, otherwise there is a cable train which will take you up there. Once you get there it is like a village inside and is very well maintained, and they also have a cafe there. The views are great, especially looking over the town.
Except for the faults listed earlier I would have to say if you get a good room this hotel has good service, reception are very helpful, and it is in a perfect position o walk and explore.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights towards the end of June. Booking was easy, and the hotel provided good instructions to find its location (its within a restricted zone), no problem driving in, dropping luggage and parking. It is in a very central location, minutes from the Salzburg museum, Hohensalzburg tram, and the main shopping street. Plenty of good dining options all around the hotel.

We had booked a family room which was large and a split level. The room and beds were clean, but relatively basic. There was no airconditioning, which we were aware of, but even at the end of June, before it gets really warm, it was getting uncomfortable to sleep in the evening. The breakfast was generous with a good variety.

Overall the location and sizeable rooms make this a good option for family travel, but only for the cooler months!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#20 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Property: Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing