We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visit to Salzberg old town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #36 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First time visit to Salzberg old town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Firstly apologies in writing this review late. I stayed in this hotel last year for the October fest, it was in a great location and everything was nearby. Although I would like to point out that the layout of the hotel was a bit odd. Firstly the hotel shared the same entrance with a cinema, which was most unusual. Our room was located at the front above the main entrance which was fine, a relatively quite street with the odd sound of horses hoofs and pedestrians walking by which did not bother us at all. However, the room was adequate and clean but I was very disappointed with the bathroom (see my photos). The bedroom and hall area had laminate flooring and was slight raised higher than the bathroom floor, both my husband and I when leaving the bathroom stubbed our toes which was quite painful and we felt was a health hazard. Secondly in the bathroom we had a ornate sink but the fitting around it was chipped, screw holes left under the sink exposed, plus some of the floor tiles were chipped. This was very disappointing as we paid nearly £100 per night. The other comment I would make was the outdoor area near the breakfast room was very pleasant and looked inviting but sadly was full of smokers! (I accept some people smoke but it would have been nice to have 2 areas one for smokers and one for non-smokers.

Best bits - we loved Ocktobefest 75% of Austrians wear their national dress (including the men) a real taste of culture, many different schnapps to try, a great flea market in the grounds of the monastery. A very interesting lovely place to visit and we will be visiting again this year. (Needless to say in a different hotel).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jampes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander K, Manager at Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Sir,
thanks for your information about the room/bath. We refurnished this and 4 other rooms in march 2014! This problem should be solved right now.

Kindest regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    214
    104
    42
    28
See reviews for
131
273
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

First time i booked a hotel online on basis of TripAdvisor reviews. Did not regret. Very good location at the edge of old town, away from tourist traps but still within a few minutes from where all the action is. Can easily walk to most important sites in and around old town. My room was very simple but well done. Not luxurious but spacious. Staff was extremely friendly. Amazing breakfast selection. Would definitely recommend. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were lovely, comfortable and very clean. The bathroom could have been more luxurious but it was scrupulously clean every day.
The breakfast buffet was small but very good. There was a great selection that satisfied all our tastes. The food was delicious.
The location of the hotel was perfect. We walked easily to the Christmas markets, across the river to the city, good shops etc
We would definitely stay in this hotel again if we were fortunate enough to visit Salzburg again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel was located in Old Salzburg .Horse drawn carts clop outside the quaint streets of Salzburg surrounded by restaurants and small shops which were begging to be browsed .The Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful .We had travelled 5 countries in 3 weeks and this hotel was one of the best in regards to a home away from home feel .very comfortable and tastefully decorated.High ceilings give a feeling of space . The beds were extremely comfortable .Our daughter in an adult and had her own area overlooking the tops of Salzburg and mountains of Austria.It was magical as our room had a glass roof with a view of the magnificent fortress .It is walking distance to Mozart Piazza and if you don't want an expensive taxi ride an easy trip on the bus fro the airport will take you a few blocks away from the hotel .Simply email them fro directions before you leave .The bathroom had a bath which helped chilled ,tired bones at the end of a long magical day .The breakfast was the best we had had in 7 hotels through Europe .

Room Tip: We had the two bedroom apartment .This would suit a family of 4 .I'm not sure if they have roll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very good location in the old city! Close to the main attractions and many restaurant nearby.
Great value for money - good breakfast and friendly staff. The hotel receptionist happily gave recommendations on what to see in the nice city of Salzburg.
My room was very big and nice for a single room, only problem was that you could hear when the elevator was going, and that interrupted my sleep. But then the elevator broke, so it was fine.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pachanga2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This small hotel is conveniently located in Old Salzburg. Within walking distance of all the major attractions on the old side of Salzburg, this homey place has helpful staff and a wonderful restaurant right on the premises. It's a short walk to the Mozart footbridge to get to the new side of Salzburg, and from there, it's a 15- to 20-minute walk to the train station and Mirabell Palace. At the hotel, we had a fabulous suite with a balcony and a skylight facing the old fortress. Ask for an upgrade to one of these rooms for a magical experience of seeing the fortress at night from your room. The stars overhead, the fortress at the top of the mountain, the chimes from the glockenspiel each morning and throughout the day, absolutely charming. We will stay here again on our next visit to Old Salzburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
295 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was very concerned being this was not my usual hotel in Salzburg. The location was easy to find and the parking was not any more expensive than what I've experienced on the other side of the river. As to the historic centre you're right there. Service was friendly with that special austrian touch of hospitality. My room was large, clean and comfortable. In addition, the cost was very reasonable. This Hotel will remain a high choice when I return.

The christmas decorations on the breakfast settings were a very nice touch!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#19 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Property: Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing