We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #35 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great location. Great pizza place. The ladies on reception were brilliant and the older of the two blokes was a total miserable git. Salzburg is fantastic with great bars and the locals very kind. The local beers are well worth getting stuck into

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked a suite based on nice photos. Upon arrival, they were overbooked, so we got bumped. The front desk tried to stick us in room 500. That room appears to be for the night manager? The bathroom was new and posh, but the main room was spartan and worn, opening on to an air shaft. While I was waiting in the lobby, 2 other couples were given that room, and all came back and refused.

We ended up with a newish room which had windows opening on to the smoking patio. Others have also written of this room on Trip Advisor. In the summer, not being able to open your window for air would be unbearable.

Overall, the hotel is a mixed bag: some rooms, pictured on the website, are new, sexy, and roomy. Others are dated, tired, and worn. Our room had recently been updated and had not yet been finished--stickers still on toilet, soap dispenser not mounted on wall, frame of tv unpainted. They are trying, though.

The location is the very best. The breakfast is 4/5.

Reconfirm reservations, request to see room first, and if overbooked, just say no to room 500... They sent one unhappy couple to another 5 star hotel and paid the difference.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Magdar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Excellent. Very friendly staff, happy to help with advice about Salzburg, local buses, etc. Went over Easter, and lots of lovely touches: flowers on the tables at breakfast, traditional painted eggs, baskets of chocolates outside the room. Rooms and bathroom very clean. Excellent location in the old town close to key attractions. Breakfast excellent - could easily eat a full meal, and stick to a coffee and cake for lunch! Didn't try the spa, so can't make any comments on that. We liked the decor, individual furniture items scattered around the floors gives interest. Easy to find - public bus from the airport and a 2 minute walk. Very good restaurant just round the corner, full of locals.

Room Tip: Family room on two floors excellent, and good fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel was old and creaky. The room decor was very dated. breakfast options were minimal. the floors were very creaky. There was no room service or hotel restaurant. This was a big disadvantage with small children. The location was good and everything was accessible by walking but still would not stay in the hotel again since it was very minimalist.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinjini T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander K, Manager at Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thanks for your information please let us know in which room you sleep that we can check there the floor.
And we have an italian restaurant in our hotel but it´s right that we have no room service, if you want you can take your dishes up to your room!

Best regards
Alexander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I found this hotel to be quite pleasant. The breakfast was very delicious and it filled me up for my walks throughout the city.The room was a well sized room with a couch in it.The bathroom was a tad too small but I made out fine with it.There is 2 little grocery stores right across the street which was nice to pick up snacks and drinks.The walk into the center of old town Salzburg took about 4 minutes from the hotel. The younger girl at the desk was very informative and always had a smile on her face.If I ever head back to Salzburg I would most definitely stay here again. Thank you very much Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu.

Room Tip: Room 322 was my room and it was a very fair sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeMassimilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is based in the picturesque Old Town and hence it is subject to the size constraints in some areas given the architecture available. However having said this, the public areas of the hotel are well laid out and the staff very friendly. Unfortunately the room was a massive disappointment - the beds were tired and small and the bathroom was unacceptable for a 4* hotel - cracked sink and a small thin room - not really enough room to get in and out of the shower or even use the toilet. I would say that the only reason it gets a 4* rating is that it has a spa service, although I didn't make use, so can't comment. Having stayed at a large number of hotels, I would rate the public areas as 3*, but our room was certainly no more than a 2*. I have also stayed in other Salzburg hotels in the past and was disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_MHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is old, the floors creak, and the elevator is tiny, but it also sits in the center of ‘old town’ and directly under the Hohensalzburg Castle. From our top floor room, we looked directly up at this fortress. Our room slept 3 (included a loft) and was very spacious. The bathroom was very modern and was kept very clean by the staff.

They also had the best breakfast of all the hotels we visited on our two week trip. They not only have the traditional German breakfast of cold meats and cheeses, but they also had both bacon and sausage as well as scrambled eggs. I enjoy a good German breakfast, but we stayed here about half way through our trip so I was ready for an American style breakfast.

If you stay here, I recommend not paying in advance for their parking. Their lot is tiny and is up a steep one way hill. Once there you must continue up the hill and find your way back to the hotel (easier said than done). The buildings are close to this street and your car will barely fit (nerve raking). Once you get there the cars are parked so close together you will barely be able to squeeze out of your vehicle. We had two cars in our group and the only space left for the second car partially blocked the entrance. We tried to get a refund on the second car, but the hotel refused. Once they get their hands on your money you will not get it back.

Parking is a premium when you are staying in the old town. No one parks for free in this area. The residence living here must have a parking sticker and all cars without the sticker will be towed. The good news here… there is a large parking garage a couple of blocks away and on the same street as the hotel. This garage only charges a couple Euros/day more. There is a loading/unloading zone in front of the hotel so I highly recommend the parking garage.

Other than the parking fiasco, I highly recommend the Kaisererbraeu and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannyMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
1,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
873 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
619 reviews
0.8 mi away
IMLAUER HOTEL PITTER Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £75 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing