We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #35 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had an end room and it was very quiet except for the bells. With no a/c we had windows open and there are many church's. The room was clean and well appointed unless you need coffee before 630 am. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The sauna and steam room worked great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    215
    104
    42
    28
See reviews for
131
274
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very expensive and definitely not worthy of a four star rating! Room was very shabby looking, uncomfortable beds, creaky flooring, no soundproofing meant that we could hear the family next door which also meant that they could hear our 2 children as well. No coffee/tea making facilities in room. The room was on the top floor, not a good layout and definitely could not be called a suite!!!!! I reported a broken lampshade within 30 minutes of arrival and yet it remained there for the duration of our stay some 3 nights later. One night after a lot of rain there was a puddle of water on the floor at the door to the terrace, The Italian Restuarant obviously does not cater for children as there was no high chair! Shower head over bath with shower curtain that sticks........no modern amenities in here!!
Limited selection at breakfast given a four star rating hotel......we expected much more!
Overall, poor build quality for rooms that had apparently just been refurbished.

On a positive great location for the old town......is this what we paid for??.

Would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is ideally located in old town, at the foot of the fortress. The lady on reception was very lovely. The rooms were tidy (though the furniture was a little warn, but that didn't bother us) and the bathrooms were clean and new. The fourth floor offered great views. The breakfast was fantastic: cereal, yoghurt, juice, meat, cheese, sausage, eggs, bacon, breads - they even had cake!

There is a spa, but you need to notify the staff 24 hours in advance if you'd like to use it. We weren't aware of this so unfortunately couldn't use it.

Room Tip: Fourth floor offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBCDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high wycombe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great location. Great pizza place. The ladies on reception were brilliant and the older of the two blokes was a total miserable git. Salzburg is fantastic with great bars and the locals very kind. The local beers are well worth getting stuck into

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a suite based on nice photos. Upon arrival, they were overbooked, so we got bumped. The front desk tried to stick us in room 500. That room appears to be for the night manager? The bathroom was new and posh, but the main room was spartan and worn, opening on to an air shaft. While I was waiting in the lobby, 2 other couples were given that room, and all came back and refused.

We ended up with a newish room which had windows opening on to the smoking patio. Others have also written of this room on Trip Advisor. In the summer, not being able to open your window for air would be unbearable.

Overall, the hotel is a mixed bag: some rooms, pictured on the website, are new, sexy, and roomy. Others are dated, tired, and worn. Our room had recently been updated and had not yet been finished--stickers still on toilet, soap dispenser not mounted on wall, frame of tv unpainted. They are trying, though.

The location is the very best. The breakfast is 4/5.

Reconfirm reservations, request to see room first, and if overbooked, just say no to room 500... They sent one unhappy couple to another 5 star hotel and paid the difference.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Excellent. Very friendly staff, happy to help with advice about Salzburg, local buses, etc. Went over Easter, and lots of lovely touches: flowers on the tables at breakfast, traditional painted eggs, baskets of chocolates outside the room. Rooms and bathroom very clean. Excellent location in the old town close to key attractions. Breakfast excellent - could easily eat a full meal, and stick to a coffee and cake for lunch! Didn't try the spa, so can't make any comments on that. We liked the decor, individual furniture items scattered around the floors gives interest. Easy to find - public bus from the airport and a 2 minute walk. Very good restaurant just round the corner, full of locals.

Room Tip: Family room on two floors excellent, and good fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Thames
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel was old and creaky. The room decor was very dated. breakfast options were minimal. the floors were very creaky. There was no room service or hotel restaurant. This was a big disadvantage with small children. The location was good and everything was accessible by walking but still would not stay in the hotel again since it was very minimalist.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinjini T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander K, Manager at Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for your information please let us know in which room you sleep that we can check there the floor.
And we have an italian restaurant in our hotel but it´s right that we have no room service, if you want you can take your dishes up to your room!

Best regards
Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#19 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Property: Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing