We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
Ranked #42 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel has a terrific location in the old centre within easy walking distance of everything you want to see. The reception area is rather swish and the staff very friendly and informative. On the first floor, off a small library/lounge area, was our room (number 504), which overlooked a patio. Simple but nicely-furnished, the room was spotless, as was the brightly-lit bathroom. It was, however, somewhat stifling, despite the fan that was already on when we arrived. In the hottest part of summer, I would imagine the room would become unbearably hot.
The breakfast was very good and the overall ambience of the hotel pleasant.

Room Tip: Don't book a room on the first floor, off the library area, if the weather is likely to be hot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95,097,779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Officially, this hotel is a 4 star hotel. This might be a bit too much, but the rooms are nice, clean and not that small. The hotel has a nice classic atmosphere. The breakfast was very good and the location is excellent. On the ground floor, there is an old movie theater, which unfortunately was closed about a year ago. If you go by car to this hotel, you need to reserve a parking place in advance, because space is very limited.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boudvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose the hotel for a 2 night stay because of its location in the old town. We arrived on Friday 5th of June, straight into the middle of a two day street party. Its an annual event and the locals line the narrow streets at tables drinking beer and listening to a live band on each corner. Its all free and the atmosphere is brilliant. Just sit down and order Zwei Bier bitte.
The hotel is lovely, quaint rooms but comfortable. Lovely choice of breakfast too.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back. The music festival carried on until 12 on Friday and 11pm on Saturday but...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiMarieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had an end room and it was very quiet except for the bells. With no a/c we had windows open and there are many church's. The room was clean and well appointed unless you need coffee before 630 am. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The sauna and steam room worked great

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very expensive and definitely not worthy of a four star rating! Room was very shabby looking, uncomfortable beds, creaky flooring, no soundproofing meant that we could hear the family next door which also meant that they could hear our 2 children as well. No coffee/tea making facilities in room. The room was on the top floor, not a good layout and definitely could not be called a suite!!!!! I reported a broken lampshade within 30 minutes of arrival and yet it remained there for the duration of our stay some 3 nights later. One night after a lot of rain there was a puddle of water on the floor at the door to the terrace, The Italian Restuarant obviously does not cater for children as there was no high chair! Shower head over bath with shower curtain that sticks........no modern amenities in here!!
Limited selection at breakfast given a four star rating hotel......we expected much more!
Overall, poor build quality for rooms that had apparently just been refurbished.

On a positive great location for the old town......is this what we paid for??.

Would not stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is ideally located in old town, at the foot of the fortress. The lady on reception was very lovely. The rooms were tidy (though the furniture was a little warn, but that didn't bother us) and the bathrooms were clean and new. The fourth floor offered great views. The breakfast was fantastic: cereal, yoghurt, juice, meat, cheese, sausage, eggs, bacon, breads - they even had cake!

There is a spa, but you need to notify the staff 24 hours in advance if you'd like to use it. We weren't aware of this so unfortunately couldn't use it.

Room Tip: Fourth floor offers the best views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBCDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great location. Great pizza place. The ladies on reception were brilliant and the older of the two blokes was a total miserable git. Salzburg is fantastic with great bars and the locals very kind. The local beers are well worth getting stuck into

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.5 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu

Address: Kaigasse 33 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Salzburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#32 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £94 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 45 individual, stylishly appointed rooms and suites and indulge in the luxury of staying right at the centre of the cultural capital of Austria, Salzburg. Experience cordial hospitality and the unique atmosphere and feel at home in the cosy rooms decorated with great care. Although the Salzburg hotel lies at the heart of the World Heritage Site in the city of Mozart it is still accessible by car. It’s the only hotel in the historic center of Salzburg with an own car parking. The extensive breakfast buffet leaves no breakfast wishes unfulfilled. Experience a marvellous breakfast on the hotel’s terrace in summer. Recharge your batteries after an exciting sightseeing tour at an oasis of relaxation. A sauna and a quiet room are waiting for you at the wellness area. Why not treat yourself to a soothing Ayurvedic massage during your stay? The charming Salzburg hotel could very well be the star of a film. Romy Schneider, the actress of the widely known ‘Sissi’ films once stayed at the picturesque Hotel Kasererbraeu. The locals gathered at the hotel’s own cinema in great crowds to watch the premiere of ‘Sissi’. The Mozartkino Cinema is one of the oldest cinemas in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadthotel Kaisererbraeu Hotel Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Salzburg
Altstadthotel Kasererbrau Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing