We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7-8 minutes walk from city center (Altstatt)”
Review of Gastehaus Scheck

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salzburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gastehaus Scheck
Ranked #105 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is a beautiful old house

I stayed in a room with balcony, at second floor.
Wonderful view to the austrian alps, and the garden in front of the hotel.
The neighborhood is peacful.

The staff is friendly and very helpful. And it smells clean all over the hotel at any time.
Good breakfast with fresh rolls, ham, cheese, jam, egg. And freshmade coffe/tea/juice

If you avoid topseason, the price is low.

It so much to see and do in Salzburg. And Gasthaus Scheck is a nice place to "come home to".

Room Tip: 2. floor. Rom with balcony if you are 1-2 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwegiantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

very nice and quiet place! we had a balcony, which we really enjoyed. moreover the old city is very close (around 5 minutes walking)!
Also the couple that owns that hotel was always very helpful!

in a nutshell - nice one!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Our friends booked it because the hotel is near their house. It was just after christmas and everything was covered with snow, wonderful! We had 2 rooms for 3 adults, they were both cosy and clean and pretty big. Large window to stare the snow..
The area is very quiet, since it is not so close to the center. Approx. 10 minutes ride to the Bahnhof (train station).

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nimrod-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Stayed here with my family of three (14 month old child). The hosts are very friendly and accomodating. Helped with suggestions for different events in the area.

The walk into town is about 15 minutes along the river and past a park with a little pond and a playground, and a very small basic miniature golf. This was a plus for us, because the baby got to play outside for a while.

The rooms & bathrooms are very clean, spacious with great water pressure. Breakfast was basic and sufficient (ham, cheese, plain yogurt, cereal, bread, milk, oj, coffee, tea, etc). Parking available on the grounds.

Price was 49Euro/person. The only thing I missed was access to the Internet :).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Italia28Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bristol, England
39
Reviewed 11 July 2004

We had this guesthouse recommended to us by a friend and were very glad we stayed here! The lady Margaret that ran the place was lovely and friendly and would do anything to help booking tours, giving out maps etc. We stayed initially for two nights and returned later in our holiday for another night. The rooms were excellent, spacious and clean with lovely big windows (some with balcony). The area was beautiful with the river only a 2 minute walk with about another 10 minutes along the river path into town. The tram service however was only at the end of the road and very efficient (every ten minutes into town and every twenty to the train station).
We will definitely be returning and at only 40 euros each per night it was really good value too!

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andavi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
27.9 mi away
Pension Rostatt
Pension Rostatt
#31 of 63 in Salzburg
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
1.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
1.7 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#16 of 132 in Salzburg
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Scheck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Scheck

Address: Rennbahnstrasse 11, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing