We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Service but dear...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amadeo Hotel Schaffenrath
Ranked #98 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Pescara, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excelent Service but dear...”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I've been staying in the Amadeo Hotels (Salzburg) during the Oktober fest and I must say that it looks like a perfect business hotel. The restaurant is very nice, and large and the dishes are delicious...the only negatives things are the extra prices at the restaurant...one bottle of water 4 €!!!
Anyways the rooms are amazing, no noise coming from outside, none bother you in the mornig and the spa its great! The staff is smiling and they always try to help you in any case...if I go back to Salzurg I will book there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioLupi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    38
    26
    18
    9
See reviews for
30
38
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

First...my bad in picking poor lcoation. Map was deceiving - thought it was closer to town itself but we had to drive 10 minutes or take the bus. Luckily we found a parking garage that seemed to be unknown to most. Anyway - we had the two bedroom apartment. The good thing was that it was a good price 208Euro and it had a mini kitchen wso we could cook in which gave us a break from eating dinner out.

So that was the good. The rest was not so good. Air Conditioning worked but it didn't make it into the bedrooms and it was super noisy on the street so couldn't sleep with the windows open. Free wifi was pathetic. Got the codes from the front desk (everyone had to get their own password). But you couild barely get a signal and then it basically disappeared after 11:30 pm. Shower head wouldn't stoy up; I'll give them credit for actually fixing it the same day we complained about it.

Attached restaurant....OMG. No one was around who worked there. Even to get a cup of coffee. IN the morning - breakfast buffet...yikes!...I just had a piece of bread and tea. Lunch meat looked so bad and the smell of the restaurant itself.....even the flies stayed away! My husband was starved after having a bad dinner that he couldn't eat the night before so he grabbed a couple of fried eggs out of the chaffing dish. Yes, you read correctly....fried eggs in the chaffing dish. The only reason he took them was because he could tell that any bacteria was probably cooked out of them they were so overdone and they were probably about 4 hours old. I don't know where the people ate who gave the breakfast buffet good reviews but certainly it wasn't edible when we were there! Still gives me a chill.

The front desk people were pleasant. I was able to access the washer and dryer on my floor to get some laundry done (for 5 Euro) but it was worth it - I was in desparate need.

It had dated feel to it and also seemed quite empty.

Room Tip: If you need sleep - make sure you aren't on the road side. Although - I have a feeling the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI,INDIA
Level Contributor
219 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night in may 2012, to my notice the hotel doesnt have Air condition or fan. it was 29 degrees in salzburg the day we arrived. when contacted the reception they asked us to open the windows for air. even the breakfast was pathetic, the milk smelled staled. the hotel is also out of the city. the reason i have given this hotel 2 stars is just because it has free Wifi and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamsTravelogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed overnight in this hotel the Saturday before Easter. Not real close to the city center, but VERY easy to get there and back on the bus. Safe underground parking included in price, as well as a very good buffet breakfast. The wireless internet was not accessible, but wired worked fine, just a bit slow. Staff were very kind, helpful and readily spoke English. Room was enormous with a small kitchen area, sofa, desk, table and chair. Very, very clean! Easter morning awoke to a chocolate bunny, sweet treat and a couple of Easter eggs outside our door. :~)

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception get wireless internet easily, front of hotel has a somewhat busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2011

It is the second time we stayed in Salzburg & in this hotel - reconmended by friends! Everything was perfect- service, room and very nice buffet-breakfast. The reception staff was very friendly!
We come back very soon!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We loved thus hotel!
Free parking, free WIFI, Great breakfast!
The location is superb: close to small shoping center, 4 kilometers from city center, 1.5 kilometers from the amazing Hellbrun Palace and only 14 kilometers from Salzburg desiners outlet.
We got room 331, a department with 2nd floor for the children, seperate toilets from the bath.
The only problem was that the air condition upstairs did not work ( luckily the weather was ok).
We recommend this hotel and loved it so much.

Room Tip: Apartment room is better than Regular room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomersNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We had booked to stay at the Castellani Park hotel but learned on the day of our arrival that owing to a fault in their onling booking system they did not have a room available so they had booked us into this hotel instead. Not a good start. The hotel is not one we would have chosen. It is a long way out of town - you couldn't walk it, you have to take the bus and whilst they are frequent they aren't cheap. The room was big - on 2 levels, but very noisy even with all the windows closed as it faced the street. Breakfast was very poor. We arrived about half an hour before breakfast was due to end. The hot food looked as though it had been there since the start of service or had run out and wasn't replaced. Very few individual guests it seemed - there was a coach party eating in a separate room.
Only good thing, an original 1950s dukebox complete with the original records which the waiter put on for us one evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topaz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_12627, Manager at Amadeo Hotel Schaffenrath, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
We do understand your frustration due to the fact that you had not been informed of change in booking before - this is not our philosophy - we are very sorry! The Amadeo Hotel Schaffenrath is located very central at the Alpenstraße, same like the Hotel Castellani - distance approx. 3 bus stops. Our business as well as FIT's and group guests enjoy the international and cultural flair of our hotel. During your stay and at Check Out everything seemed to be okay.
It's a pity that we had not the chance to fulfil your wishes - it would have been a pleasure for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
732 reviews
4.9 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Salzburg Mitte
1.2 mi away
Austria Classic Hotel Hoelle
Austria Classic Hotel Hoelle
#66 of 132 in Salzburg
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Villa Cicubo Hotel
Villa Cicubo Hotel
#99 of 132 in Salzburg
31 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
808 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#33 of 132 in Salzburg
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadeo Hotel Schaffenrath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadeo Hotel Schaffenrath

Property: Amadeo Hotel Schaffenrath
Address: Alpenstrasse 115-117, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amadeo Hotel Schaffenrath 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
48 rooms and 28 serviced apartments await you in this Salzburg city hotel. Our perfectly equipped seminar rooms offer the ideal setting for conferences or meetings. For our business travellers we offer serviced apartments with free Internet access (travel groups except). The amadeo hotel is the right place for holidays and business. Good public transport connections, easy to reach and close to many sights in the old town and historic city centre. Our hotel is perfect for families with children and business-travellers. For the convenience of guests to this hotel, Sound of Music tours depart from the property. Tickets are available at the reception. Use the opportunity to see the beautiful locations in Salzburg, where the film was shot. Visit Sound of Music Locations like The Benedictine Convent Nonnberg, Mirabell Gardens and Palace, St. Peter’s Cemetery, Leopoldskron Palace and the Sound of Music Pavillon in Hellbrunn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amadeo Hotel Schaffenrath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schaffenrath Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing