We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value ... But ....”
Review of Hotel Stein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stein
Ranked #73 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location and value ... But ....”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location right by the town bridge is superb. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room had a million dollar view over the old town. Nicely furnished and impeccably clean. Good value, too, in this expensive tourist Mecca. My only complaints were these : nowhere to get a cup of coffee or tea apart from pricey room service. The rooftop bar / restaurant is only open certain times and at breakfast time it is the 19 euro breakfast or nothing, the staff would not sell me a cup of coffee only. A hot water jug in the room would be nice, of failing that, a vending machine in so,do public area. also the free wifi was hopeless in our room, it kept cutting out and even when on it was amazingly slow. Each time you had to reconnect it meant entering an 8 digit user ID and an 8 digit password, valid only for one device. Hardly worth using. Other than that we really enjoyed the Hotel Stein.

Room Tip: Get one at the front if you can. The view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    158
    87
    70
    63
See reviews for
69
213
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel's location can't be beat. It's right across the street from the old walled part of Salzburg. From our window we could see the fortress as well as many churches. The breakfast on the upstairs patio, overlooking Salzburg is breathtaking. Great selection and great quality. What a great way to start your day! The front staff were super friendly, even calling restaurants to check if they were opened, we got in really late on a Sunday. The only thing that I did not enjoy we're the very dark hallways that have been mentioned before. So dark that we had trouble with the key most times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Huge room and bed, good but not spectacular breakfast on the roof terrace (mind the wasps!) amazing artwork on some of the landings. But no minibar or fridge in the room, could not get my windows phone connected to their wireless, only German channels on the tv, and cafe/bar on the rooftop did not serve coffee in the evening! Surely a hotel of this standard should provide these services.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

hotel is in good location across the river to the old town. roof top bar is excellent but drinks very expensive great views of castle and river would stay there again.The hotel staff was very freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie
Level Contributor
240 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Pros - clean, spacious room
courteous personnel
excellent breakfast buffet (Included) with great variety
reasonable rate

Cons -asked if there was a laundromat nearby, was told housekeeping would be happy to do our laundry (one washer load) -SHOCKED to receive a bill for 129 EUros (about 180 Canadian dollars)
parking is 600 meters away (A good 15 min walk)
Son called 3 times .Each time the line was disconnected.
our room was above a bar and the noise went on til 4 a.m. -got little sleep
With the shocking laundry experience and horrible parking situation, we do not recommend.


We learned a lesson. Do not expect that a hotel will do something for good PR. ASk price. (We plaaned on giving a 20 Euro tip for the kindness. Well,as we learned, there was no kindness -just gouging.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

new jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

HOTEL and room a bit dated. Hallways need more light but all things considered this is a perfectly good hotel. It is in the center of the city and an easy walk to all. We had a room with a great view of the fortress and river.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I came here with a friend while on a quick visit to Salzburg. We did not stay at the hotel but just came up for drinks and the scenery.

PRO's
I have to say the views from up top are amazing! We came early afternoon and while it took a little bit to get service I did not find it any longer than anywhere else in Europe. I know America has quicker service in most places generally but I did not feel this place took any longer than most. We came late afternoon before the evening rush around happy hour time and we had good luck finding a spot next to the edge. I ordered a top shelf bourbon and the waiter/bartender were both very knowledgeable. Good music and a cool breeze help set the mood.

CON's
The place could use a little bit of an update but you're going for the views not the style. Drinks are overpriced and I know Europe is not customed to happy hour I think it would help ease the pain on the pocket book of the tourist.

All in all come in get a drink relax and soak up the atmosphere after a long day of walking the city. Make small talk with the waiters can go a long way and being friendly helped the server keep our glasses full!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein

Property: Hotel Stein
Address: Giselakai 3-5, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stein 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel in great location, right at the main bridge of Salzburg in the historic city center. The festival halls, as well as the congress centre are only a few minutes away. Stylish rooms and 7th floor roof top terrace with great view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Stein Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing