We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to check out!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stein
Ranked #71 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
tripsfor5
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to check out!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just checked into the Hotel Stein. We reserved three rooms for a total of 6 in our party (3 adults and 3 children) for three days. The hotel staff has MUCH to learn about customer service. Our rooms have all had issues (room 502, 503 and 304). Room 502 has a terrible stain on the wall near the desk that appears to be some sort of liquid that has stained the paint. Room 503-the door handle handle broke from the inside making it impossible to open the door whilst inside. While this was fixed immediately it still speaks to the quality and maintenance of the property. Room 304 had a broken safe that had an alarm going off until they came and reset that as well. This is all the the first 3 hours. The manager assures us that there is nothing to be done and invited us to have complimentary drinks. Room 304 is tastefully decorated while the other two rooms are decorated with zebra print and purple drapes. All other comments are relevant-elevator is on the mezzanine level, it is extremely dark in the hallways, the staff is extremely unfriendly, there is no on site parking. I overheard the manager tell a handicap guest that she was sorry that there was nothing to be done for his parking and he must park in the hotel lot two blocks away. Lastly, the wifi is very impractical (requires separate login for each device and is very slow). We have not yet enjoyed the rooftop deck for breakfast and hear that the view is terrific.
The only positive is the location and the view. Please note that we are experienced travelers, easy going family and are usually able to find the upside to just about everything. This hotel has tested our "glass half full" attitude.

Room Tip: Avoid 502 and 503.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsfor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca C, Manager at Hotel Stein, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,
I am the manager of the Hotel and am very sorry to hear about your complaint. I have not had the chance in talking to you personally and would very much appreciate to do so. As I learn from your review you should still be in the Hotel - so please let me know when we can meet. I will be very happy in helping to satisfy your expectations. Please adress to the front office.
Sincere and warm regards Margot weindorfer
Manager Hotel Stein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    158
    87
    70
    63
See reviews for
69
213
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Central location and great roof terrace, but poor or average in every other way. Staff did not clean dirty glasses or trash from room each day. Room #505 was so narrow, that we could hardly walk between the wall and the bed and it only contained one window (granted it did have a terrific view.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Fortress view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca C, Manager at Hotel Stein, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,
first I would like to thank you very much for taking the time and reviewing our Hotel. We do very much care about the opinion and experiences of our guests and are thankfull for your point of view.
All suggestions will immidiatly be handed to the responsible person and are been taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My family enjoyed a 3 nights stay, had a good size room for triple,and a television screen in the bathroom.Great location to good restaurants and walking distance to sight-seeing spots and bus-stop to railway station. Friendly front office staff who help us on directions( walking route & bus) to sight-see Salzburg. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca C, Manager at Hotel Stein, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest we would like to thank you very much for your review. it is very important for us to satisfy our guests and the reviews of our customers are a big help in doing so. With our warm regards from the entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Hotel Stein got off to a rocky start in a room that needed some repair, but once we explained the issues, we were moved to a nicer room. The stay came with an amazing breakfast on the top floor of the hotel overlooking old Salzburg. The view was breathtaking. Be prepared to climbed stairs as the elevator situation is sketchy. All in all, it was a very nice hotel that just needs a few updates.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StacyCentralFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Where do i begin!!!!!.........Checked into room 301.......which is the room from HELL!!!!.......before getting to the room.....the corridors are so DARK.......lifts do not come down to ground level...so u have to carry cases up flight of stairs........the floors creaked soooooooooo badly......the bed had no matress on it.....no mini-bar.....no kettle....door did not lock.....the floor was soooooooo uneven when u came out of the bathroom u had to put ur arms up to stay level because of 'banking to the left'......tv was over desk not near bed....by the 2nd night when phone didnt work i was nearly in tears.....i went to reception sooooooooo upset....but will give 'Martin and Axel' their due....they moved me immeduately to a beautiful suite.....room 304.....it was like heaven then.....i will say the whole place was very clean.......Would NOT stay here again!!!

Room Tip: choose room 304........NOT 301,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for one night in a double room.

The pros:

- Clean
- Incredible location next to the old town
- Beautiful views from rooftop bar (with appropriately surly staff)
- Fantastic breakfast (with appropriately surly staff)
- Front desk staff very nice
- Free wifi

The cons:

- Rooms a bit dark
- Front desk staff not very knowledgeable about attractions in the area
- Parking at a 15 euro cost and is about half a km. away.


Overall - I do recommend this place if you value the amenities outside the room more than the room itself, as all of the extras were superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SkiScubaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
237 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel for only one night in January, 2014. The rooms are small but adequate. The location of the hotel is good....a short walking distance to the main pedestrian areas. No parking at the hotel but there is some located about 500m away. Dropping off/picking up luggage is a bit difficult as you have to park right on the road. Internet was free. The reception staff were very nice. Breakfast was not included but we were told that it was 19 Euro each.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Italian-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Am Dom
Hotel Am Dom
#20 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.2 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein

Property: Hotel Stein
Address: Giselakai 3-5, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stein 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel in great location, right at the main bridge of Salzburg in the historic city center. The festival halls, as well as the congress centre are only a few minutes away. Stylish rooms and 7th floor roof top terrace with great view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Stein Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing