We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to renovation.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Stein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stein
Ranked #81 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms were small and low ceilings. Not good value for what we paid. One of the reasons we booked there was the roof terrace but it was closed for renovations and not accessible during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Whilst I didn't stay overnight at the hotel, I did fully enjoy a cup of hot chocolate from its roof top bar. Clearly the prices are inflated but with a view like this, one should expect so. Our two hot chocolates and bottle of sparkling water came to 16.30eur, not the cheapest and the hot chocolates were not all that. The service was efficient and the host friendly which was appreciated bearing in mind that it is clearly full of tourists. We had a look at the menu but again overpriced for simple food so decided to leave after having soaked up the grandeur of the view and our hot chocolates. Therefore my recommendation is to go there, have a drink, enjoy the view but go somewhere else for good affordable food.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 0481Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

It's a nice hotel, week situated with a great terrace, and the staff are relatively polite, but the food is kind of meh and looks a lot better than it tastes. Cocktails were pretty good though, and the clientele were from a variety of backgrounds, some musical, some commercial, but an interesting bunch, and popular with the locals

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Neonindigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in front the main road and the city centre .. The Deluxe room are seriously SO HUGE !!! The bedroom is big with a bug bed and a big living room also the bathroom .. The breakfast is added with the room and its in the roof top .. Also there is a WIFI access in the entire room .. The hotel greets you with huge basket of fruits , and a big bottle of water .. Over all its the best hotel I've ever been thru whole Europe !!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Hessamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel Stein is located centrally on the river Salzach. Interior design is retro-style, rooms are spacious, beds were very old and therefore the quality of sleep was poor. Service can be improved. The view from the roof-top terrace is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaColumna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband loved the location opposite the river, the whole theme was nice, receptionists were friendly but the only issue is with service and the food quality in the roof top restaurant wasn't as I expected especially with high price

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Modhimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We are staying at the Stein at the moment and have had a very good experience so far! I was worried when we arrived, because of the negative reviews, but we have not encountered the horrors mentioned...Reception staff were friendly and helpful. our room is on the 5th floor, at the back of the hotel and is spacious .The bathroom has all toiletries and the shower is lovely.All very clean. Aircon works well and wifi very efficient. we had drinks on the terrace bar and yes, there are people smoking, because this is acceptable in Austria. we asked to move tables, as we were next to a smoker and were moved very promptly. Welcoming staff in Terrace. looking forward to breakfast. DON'T BE PUT OFF BOOKING! people mention the dark corridors and creaky floorboards,but this is part of the charm...it's got character! The location is great...2 minutes to all the main sights!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#51 of 132 in Salzburg
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#56 of 132 in Salzburg
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stein

Address: Giselakai 3-5, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £134 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stein 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel in great location, right at the main bridge of Salzburg in the historic city center. The festival halls, as well as the congress centre are only a few minutes away. Stylish rooms and 7th floor roof top terrace with great view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stein Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Stein Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing