We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property-excellent location and breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #41 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice property-excellent location and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in December and everything was great. Perfect location on pedestrian street and 10 min walk to major Christmas Markets and old town. Great breakfast and cool cemetray right out back where Mozarts father and wife are buried.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snickerbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    122
    34
    15
    15
See reviews for
62
121
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband found the hotel on line, and I really think he chose it for its name! But we really enjoyed being there. The staff were all quite helpful with tickets for performances and other details. We were even given a choice of rooms! We chose the one with a shower instead of the one with only a bathtub, and that turned out to be fortunate, as the room we chose was on the back of the hotel, overlooking a cemetery! The bathroom was quite large, with a bidet, of course. The room was fairly small, as most European rooms are, but we were fine, and loved that we could open both windows, as the temperature was perfect while we were there in late September 2011 (might be hot at other times). The closet was a small armoire, but we managed to use it creatively, and did not feel too cramped. The bed (two singles with a king headboard) was quite comfortable, and we used the room quite a bit, as we were tired from an earlier excursion. The location is absolutely perfect for sightseeing. The church bells ring a great deal in Salzburg, but do not ring all night, thank goodness. The computer in the small lobby was usually available when I wanted to use it. The breakfast buffet was quite lovely, although only cold items and hard-boiled eggs were available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back if you're looking for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great location in a pedestrian oriented area near the river. Nice room, spacious bath, good breakfast buffet and afternoon coffee. Nice staff. Wifi in the lobby. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

By calling itself Amadeus, this dowdy hotel tries to enhance its image. I found it entirely disappointing. The rooms needed updating, and a paint job. And the carpeting has been there since Mozart's day. The housekeeping staff was also poor, leaving no toilet paper one day and failing to vacuum the room on another. It's also extremely noisy at night because it's located on a main street that's centrally located. Of course, the location was good but the problem was the room had no air conditioning so windows could not be closed at night. Breakfasts however were very good.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel to mitigate the noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel is ideally located on pedestrian street in central Salzburg. We were given a "free upgrade" to a very comfortably appointed and spacious room at the front of the hotel but spent a sleepless night thanks to the noise from a nearby bar, which was followed by returning revellers and then street cleaners in the early hours. Suggest asking for a room at the back if you want a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countrybumpkin403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

So you want to stay in Salzburg - maybe just for a night - and therefore you don't want it to cost the earth.

Well this is where Amadeus starts to look attractive: single rooms from 93 Euros in high season (I know that seems high for a 3 star but we are in Salzburg); central location & only a short walk to the main sights in 10 minutes, accesible for all but the really unfit; nice photos on the website of the rooms accented with antiques; and located in a pedestrian zone next to a baroque church.

However, it's when you stay that it all starts to unravel. The fact that there's only one young girl on reception who seems to run the whole thing; that there is no-one on site from 6.00pm to 7.00am; that the rooms are (in my case) a slight throw back to the 70s/80s: all of this is only slightly countered by the immpecable cleanliness of the bathrooms and the fact that, yes, the hotel is so near where you want to be.

The real down side is when you need to use the hotel for the one thing you booked it for: sleep. I stayed on a Friday, and you'd need to sleep as solidly as those in the neighouring St Sebastian's churchyard, to gain a decent night's rest here. Throughoout the night, and until the light is breaking through, you'll be woken by revellers walking (perhaps, crawling) drunkenly along the pedestrian zone on their way home from either the nightclub a few doors down or other drinking establishments in the old town. I'm no light sleeper, yet was woken every 20 minutes or so by the shouts, yells, and what might have passed for singing. Or fighting.

So should you stay? Maybe...if it's a Monday, you've got earplugs, and you are a deep deep sleeper (remember there are also the bells from the next door church). Otherwise think twice. Oh and turn the shower on about 10 minutes before you step in .. the hot water will have come through by then.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank brockleyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,233 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The positives first. Extremely well located for walking to all attractions around Salzburg and convenient 15 minute stroll from main train station. Our double room was very spacious and had Ok size ensuite. Comfortable bed and everything clean and in good state of repair. An attractive breakfast room with all the usual accompaniments. A top of range 3 star hotel.
Despite positives I would never stay there again or recommend it for other than perhaps a 1 night stay. The hotel is next door to a church whose bells toll every 15 minutes from 6am to 10pm with occasional extra serenades. No room would be spared the sound. Also some 12 of the 25-30 rooms are street facing, and despite double windows, restaurants and bars opposite and nearby are patronised until sometimes 1am. Also revellers returning home can be heard in the street anytime until sunrise. Delivery trucks arrive before 6am so impossible to leave windows open. If going out late, sleep through the day would be challenging despite what you had been drinking! Forget sleepins. Rooms are not air-conditioned but corridors are, impossible to understand the logic! No room refrigerator and in room safe not secured, pick it ip and take it home! Free wifi only works in lobby. Curtains do not block out light from outside.
Overall give it a miss.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#53 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#4 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#25 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Property: Hotel Amadeus
Address: Linzer Gasse 43/45 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amadeus 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent and unique Boutique Hotel in the historic city center of Salzburg. The hotel is located directly in the famous old town in the pedestrian area. Most of the popular sights in Salzburg, like the Getreidegasse, Mozart Museum, Mozart's birthplace or the Cathedral are within a few minutes walking distance.Here you experience the real Salzburg, the art of life and style of this elegant City. Wonderfull rooms and a great Restaurant as well as an excellent breakfast are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing