We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay!”
Review of Hotel Amadeus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amadeus
Ranked #54 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

spent 2 nights in this wonderful Hotel and loved it perfectly located and extremly friendly stuff. our 2 rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. breakfast was fresh and great variety. if you are looking for something special - go there! i would definetly stay there again.

not to Forget the great Restaurant - ist just recently opened and has a nice outside area.

Room Tip: ask for Apartments - they are really nice!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelproette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amadeus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! If you plan on coming in the summer time, pick a different hotel. We arrived after 6 pm, and front desk was already closed. They left out keys outside of the door in envelope, that could have easily been taken by someone else. Once we got to our room, on the fourth floor, we were drenched in sweat. It felt like a furnace. The hotel is located in a busy location meaning that with the windows open we could hear people's conversations even on the top floor. Loud partying contined though out the entire night. It was so hot we had to leave the windows open, which allowed bugs, and Mosquitos to bite us all night. There were holes in the sheet, (there was only one sheet on the mattress, nothing else). This was a miserable night and we moved to a different hotel in the morning. Needless to say, we will never return to this hotel, nor recommend it to any one!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kblackburn1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellerpro43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Guest.
I am the Manager of the Hotel and would like to answer you personally. You have been at our Hotel with your entire Family and had booked 3 rooms. Your Family stayed with us for 3 nights and only you mooved to another Hotel. Yes it was extremly hot at this time - it was a heatwave we had never experienced before in this Country and it lasted for 3 days. I am sorry you did not accept our offer to moove to another room on a lower floor wich would have been much cooler. I am also very sorry to experience that the entire Hotel bill, including your Salzburg Cards remained unpaid upon your departure. Finally I would like to say, that I took personally care of your family as soon as I had heard of your complaint and I was told everything was fine and no room change or anything else nessecary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We went thru Hotels.com for a prepaid 4 nite stay. When we got to Innsbruck,due to the rain and flooding, they closed the autobahn and the train to Salzburg. We called the hotel to cancel-at first they said ok and then reneged. They had us call Hotels.com who said that since the hotel would not refund any portion of our $600, they could also do nothing. It is my feeling that the hotel rented out the room twice -Salzburg was crushed with flood refugees from the east. There was no discussion or token. Will file dispute with my credit card.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellerpro43, Manager at Hotel Amadeus, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Guest!
At first I would like to express my regret for your travel difficulties. Nevertheless - especially with booking professionals like hotels.com, you can always and easily and for a small fee only, take the advantage of a travel insurance which largely protects you from any travel risk. Most of the travellers do so and are safe. If you - for whatever reason - decided not to take advantage of this offer we have to respect this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We recently took a family trip throughout Europe accompanying my husband on a business trip. It is so hard to find hotels in Europe willing to accommodate a family with two children. The Amadeus Hotel has apartment suites with two bedrooms that were perfect for us. Normally we would consider this too large but the price was too good to pass up. The location is charming and breakfast is outstanding. Our desire to return to Salzburg is affected by our fantastic experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We spent two days here on a weekend and paid 198€ including tax and breakfast. This little hotel has some nice rooms of reasonable size. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. Our room overlooked the St. Sebastian cemetery and the rest of the city was in the distance. The rooms on this side are quiet ours was 43. 44 was also on this side. It appeared the same numbers on the floors under us also overlooked the cemetery. Some work was needed in the plumbing area as the shower heads were old style and would not stay up as the connection was worn. Management needs to to a walk around to check things like this. Staff was great, especially the restaurant crew at breakfast. Worked hard to keep food, coffee and other drinks supplied.

Room Tip: As mentioned, get room on the St. Sebastian side of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I recommend this hotel to everyone. I was there with my family including 2 infants for 2 weeks The place was clean, friendly stuff gerat service. Averall great value for thr money, perfect location. Parking is complicated and cumbersome needs improvement. Dedicated management appreciating attitude

Overall good value for money I will be back for sure

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hajnuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and paid 180€. The room was spacious and the two beds were joined but comfortable and suitable for couples. For the inclusive breakfast the hotel was connected to the restaurant next door and it was very filling. The only downside was the bells from the cathedral near the hotel ringing every once in a while but the hotel provides you free earplugs... :) finally I was surprised in a good way when we arrived late at night and an envelope with our room key was waiting for us at the entrance, but please notify the hotel staff before hand that you would be arriving after 6pm.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
Hotel am Mirabellplatz
#53 of 132 in Salzburg
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
833 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amadeus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amadeus

Address: Linzer Gasse 43/45 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £112 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amadeus 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent and unique Boutique Hotel in the historic city center of Salzburg. The hotel is located directly in the famous old town in the pedestrian area. Most of the popular sights in Salzburg, like the Getreidegasse, Mozart Museum, Mozart's birthplace or the Cathedral are within a few minutes walking distance.Here you experience the real Salzburg, the art of life and style of this elegant City. Wonderfull rooms and a great Restaurant as well as an excellent breakfast are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amadeus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing