We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best small European hotels”
Review of HAUS ARENBERG

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HAUS ARENBERG
Ranked #8 of 61 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best small European hotels”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

If you are looking for a large, American style hotel, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for charm, a great view, good breakfast, helpful staff, clean and quiet, then this is it.

We stayed 3 nights here and loved it. We are big fans of European bread/rolls and we started each day with a great sampling. We had a beautiful view off of our balcony and we enjoyed the absolute quiet.

Like most of the reviews, we made the 15 minute walk into town. While it was not problem for us (we like to walk), one could have a little difficulty coming back as it all uphill.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    35
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
70
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

By "not modern," I imply a compliment. There would have been nothing worse than arriving in Salzburg to experience genuine Austria & find ourselves in a steel & glass monstrosity that could be anywhere in the world.

Haus Arenberg has decor that evokes class from a couple of decades ago, but is utterly charming in its execution.

The service is wonderful & the breakfast is sublime, served in a chocolate-box-pretty sunroom.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a classy little gem in Salzburg.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FOSTERSAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at Haus Arenberg and found it to be a charming, small hotel set up a steep hill just outside the city center. It's about a 15 minute walk to the city but public transportation is available once you get to the bottom of the hill. The hotel is immaculately clean, the rooms are a comfortable size, the balcony is nice to sit out on and the breakfast is wonderful.

The only downside for us was that there is no air conditioning or fans. We happened to be in Salzburg during a heat spell (90-100 degree temps) so it was a bit stuffy in the room. Luckily the first night there was a rain storm so with the balcony door open there was a breeze.

The owners were nice and I would recommend this hotel but only if you can walk up hills easily and don't mind the lack of air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leighann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Haus Arenberg - 17, 18 & 19 July. I had picked this family run hotel from my research on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. I felt 'at home' in this hotel. We had a balcony room which was spacious and bright with lovely mountain views. We did not have a car but it was a pleasant 15 minute walk into the Old Town and 20 minutes to the Fortress. It cost us 11 euro for the cab fare from the main train station. We caught the number 25 bus (4.60 euro return for 2 people) to Untersberg where we caught the cable car ride and had a wonderful day hiking in the alps. We also made use of the electric bikes for hire at the hotel (much cheaper than the hire places in the city) and there are some great cycle tracks along the river. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and work colleagues wanting to travel to Salzburg in the future.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with balconies have the best views of the mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronte_b491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great garden setting, quiet, with birds chirping. Spacious rooms with good view of the mountains in the distance. Bathroom area cramped, with shower a bit too small, but everything clean.

Terrific breakfast area with sliding doors all around, basically make you feel like you are sitting in the garden. Breakfast itself was good, though nothing special. Attentive service.

Easy walk to the old city in 10-15 minutes.

The hostess Gabriele was very friendly and helpful. Stayed 2 nights and would happily return.
She recommended 2 restaurants that were both good in their own way. The first night we walked to Steinlechner, which is a tavern. Nothing fancy, but more of a neighborhood kind of place, with good food and a fun, high energy vibe. Second night we tried the Gasthaus Zwettler in the old city. That was more upscale with excellent kitchen.

Note that as of the date of this review (16June2013), the location of the hotel as shown on google maps is slightly wrong. If you put the address of the hotel into google, it does put the pin symbol in the correct location. But the little bed icon is down the street about 300 meters away, well out of sight of the hotel, and actually on a building that looks like it could be a hotel. A neighbor helped us find the right place.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have slightly better view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becej, Serbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just behind Kapuzinerberg hill in Salzburg is a place where you will find well organized family run hotel with charm of Austrian folkore. Everything about this hotel has to be said in the superlative, hospitality,well equipped rooms, quality of sleep, breakfast and garden. Miss Gabriel is the host to which you can always rely on, whether you're looking for a good restaurant or a tourist attraction. Little Mina, daughter of Mrs. Gabriele beautify our children stay at the hotel.
The hotel is, by the way, is a bit isolated from the city center, which is a plus for a quiet holiday. Walk from the hotel through the narrow and not too steep streets to the city center and back was not a problem to our four-year daughter.
If you have previously had a dilemma where we will be staying in Salzburg, now we have solved with the Haus Arenberg hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majstorovici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The Haus Arenberg is owned and operated by a family, and it shows. Gabriele and Helmut run a professional but warm hotel, with great service, delicious breakfasts, and well-appointed rooms. Our room had plenty of space and even a small fridge, a nice option after shopping trips to the Christmas markets. The view to the Alps was beautiful, and the balcony would be a great place to spend time in warmer weather. The closet was huge and there was plenty of space for luggage.

However, the bathroom in our room was only separated by a thin sliding glass door, so it was not the most privacy (other rooms have full doors that close, so ask for one if that might bother you).

Breakfast offered lots of choices, with cereals, breads and rolls, jams, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, vegetables, meats, cheese, juice, and eggs to order. Gabriele's homemade spreads (tomato, arugula, and olive) were addictive.

The walk from the Old Town was short and pleasant - the hill mentioned by others is very gradual and no problem at all for our group. Take a taxi from the train station, though - the walk would be tough with luggage.

We loved our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have better views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Packlighttravelright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#5 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HAUS ARENBERG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HAUS ARENBERG

Property: HAUS ARENBERG
Address: Blumensteinstrasse 8, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — HAUS ARENBERG 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frühstücksraum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your HAUS ARENBERG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Arenberg Salzburg
Haus Arenberg Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing