We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for tourists who don't want to pay a fortune”
Review of Hotel Turnerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Turnerwirt
Ranked #58 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very friendly and helpful front desk attendants. Bus stop is right outside the front door. Rooms were clean and fairly large by European standards. The hotel is a bit dated and smells a little musty when you enter the rooms. We opened our window and it aired out. The beds were a bit firm for our liking but didn't affect us too much. I've seen other people complain about the noise so we asked for a quieter room and were put in a room on the top floor in the back of the hotel and it was not noisy at all.
The location is a bit outside of the city center. Depending on what bus you take, you can be to Mirabell Square within 10 minutes. The hotel offers 24 hour tickets for 3.30 euro which is amazing. Regular rates are 4.40 euro one way. It is not the finest hotel but for what you are paying it does the trick. Hotels in Salzburg are very expensive so we were grateful to find Hotel Turnerwirt.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mroberts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Turnerwirt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a lovely stay in Salzburg and firstly I'd recommend the city to anyone. However, I'd caution against staying at the Turnerwirt.

The room was small and very warm for us, even in June. Opening the window wasn't an option as the main road is right outside, and there was no air conditioning.

It was noisy from other residents most nights, probably because the hotel is used for coach travellers. And the road noise as mentioned.

Some of the basics, such as we had a twin bed despite booking a double were missed. The power socket for the bedside light was in the middle of the headboard, so I banged my head on it. And was superfluous as the bedside light didn't work. And if you have any form of back or neck problems, definitely bring your own pillow!

The ensuite was very small - so much so that the gap between the loo and the bathroom wall was only a centimetre or so. And the towel rail was above the loo too. The fan was loud and continued long after the room was used.

We didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment as to it's quality. 8 EUR per person we found it a lot more convenient to go to the Penny Markt just down the road.

In it's good points, the town centre is about 2 miles away, but the bus stop is right outside the hotel, so that was a breeze to manage each day. And the Gaizberg hill is close.

The cleaning staff are very efficient and the room was clean. However, they let themselves in without knocking and there are no Do Not Disturb signs provided or chains on the door to prevent it.

Finally, they took our money twice - once at booking and when we checked out they insisted it wasn't paid. So we had to pay and have not received all the money back. A real summary of their attituted to customer service.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We requested a room away from traffic noise when we booked this hotel, but we given a room at the front of the hotel facing a main road. As the weather was over 30 regress and the hotel had no air conditioning we had to open the windows to let in some air. The noise from the road was so loud and constant it was impossible to sleep. We would not choose to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: When you book in insist on a room at the back of the hotel even if you have already requested it whe...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice and lovely place. Staff was okay and helpful. We also got a city map from the reception. The city center is not so far, so we got there by walking like 30 mins, but people can use busses too, to get there in 5 minutes. We didn't tried out the restaurant, maybe next time.

Room Tip: Our room was low on WiFi signal, so if you are interested in using WiFi, ask about WiFi range. I ha...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empeharom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Decent place for the money we paid. I stayed in a group of 8 people and got a great deal from bob.com...decent place for the money we paid. The only hitch was the on and off wifi that became a bit irritating. Also, the front desk is not that very cooperative. Otherwise the location was good with public transport as well as supermarkets very close to the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRDMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is very suited for undemanding tourists, which use the hotel only for overnight stay and breakfast. We have spent there three nights for making trips around and it precisely served its purpose. Very kind staff, helping receptionist, cleaned rooms, enough space for parking a car. The center of the city is approx. 15-20 min. walk from the hotel or the bus station is across the way (station Turnerstrasse). The hotel is very simply reachable from the highway A1 (Exit 281 - Eugendorf) The only one thing I have noticed was the noise, because our room was situated to the street with very heavy traffic. The hotel has no bar, but immediately next to the hotel is small but very pleasing pub.

Room Tip: Ask for room in opposite direction of the street.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 435lukasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent two nights here and enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was very acceptable. Beds were a little firm and they only have a heavy duvet with no sheet to cover with - it was too hot with it on and too cool with it totally off. Very quiet and located on the edge of town. There is a bus stop literally right outside the front door that was very convenient - they even sold us the tickets. Since there is no parking near "old town", this worked well for us. Wifi worked very well and free parking too. We didn't have the breakfast so I can't comment.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor room since there isn't an elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredTravelsEnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.6 mi away
Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
0.9 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#63 of 132 in Salzburg
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#55 of 132 in Salzburg
757 reviews
4.3 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
2.0 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turnerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turnerwirt

Address: Linzer Bundesstrasse 54, Salzburg 5023, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £53 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turnerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Turnerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Turnerwirt Salzburg
Gasthof Turnerwirt Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing