We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in Salzburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Turnerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Turnerwirt
Ranked #60 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good choice in Salzburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I stayed at Turnerwirt in July 2014 and was pleased with the experience. it's a rather old-fashioned place but quite charming in many ways and the staff - especially Richard - were very helpful and professional. Good location just a 5-minute drive from the gorgeous historical center of Salzburg, and free parking. And an excellent breakfast which was very cheap for the quality and selection. The only drawback was slow internet - 2kbs/sec at one stage for uploading but fine for most email and webs browsing. However that should not deter visitors. There is an internet cafe 100 yards down the road if you really need fast speeds. Recommended for famililes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    154
    98
    38
    19
See reviews for
120
127
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Turnerwirt in the beginning of august 2014. We were charged 70€ for a double room without breakfast (which was 8 € pp extra but not worth it anyway).
We stayed in the second house (villa) where the beauty parlor is. The room was very small ( the bathroom had only a very small shower cabin and the toilet while the sink was located directly in the room) and in need of some refurbishment.
We were disturbed by the noise coming from the corridor when people walked by (entirely tiled) and from the rain ( the window was under the terrace roof).
On the positive side, we could leave our car all day in the hotel parking for free and avoid paying the parking in the town.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liliute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We booked at last minute, only 1 room was available. A bit far from the center but not expensive and clean, great view.
average breakfast.
Very helpful staff and free parking
No fridge and air conditinion, but pleasant at nights. Recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank xvost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent 2 nights in this place in April 2014. It is really cute with a nice view over the garden. The rooms are huge and the toilet also. Bus stop across the street, but since it's far, it takes long for the next bus to arrive. Very helpful staff with good English. Modest breakfast and not totally fresh...but it's acceptable. No elevators you have to carry your stuff for 2 or 3 floors which is exhausting. Internet connection is good, but unavailable in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very friendly and helpful front desk attendants. Bus stop is right outside the front door. Rooms were clean and fairly large by European standards. The hotel is a bit dated and smells a little musty when you enter the rooms. We opened our window and it aired out. The beds were a bit firm for our liking but didn't affect us too much. I've seen other people complain about the noise so we asked for a quieter room and were put in a room on the top floor in the back of the hotel and it was not noisy at all.
The location is a bit outside of the city center. Depending on what bus you take, you can be to Mirabell Square within 10 minutes. The hotel offers 24 hour tickets for 3.30 euro which is amazing. Regular rates are 4.40 euro one way. It is not the finest hotel but for what you are paying it does the trick. Hotels in Salzburg are very expensive so we were grateful to find Hotel Turnerwirt.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mroberts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Random Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a lovely stay in Salzburg and firstly I'd recommend the city to anyone. However, I'd caution against staying at the Turnerwirt.

The room was small and very warm for us, even in June. Opening the window wasn't an option as the main road is right outside, and there was no air conditioning.

It was noisy from other residents most nights, probably because the hotel is used for coach travellers. And the road noise as mentioned.

Some of the basics, such as we had a twin bed despite booking a double were missed. The power socket for the bedside light was in the middle of the headboard, so I banged my head on it. And was superfluous as the bedside light didn't work. And if you have any form of back or neck problems, definitely bring your own pillow!

The ensuite was very small - so much so that the gap between the loo and the bathroom wall was only a centimetre or so. And the towel rail was above the loo too. The fan was loud and continued long after the room was used.

We didn't try the breakfast, so can't comment as to it's quality. 8 EUR per person we found it a lot more convenient to go to the Penny Markt just down the road.

In it's good points, the town centre is about 2 miles away, but the bus stop is right outside the hotel, so that was a breeze to manage each day. And the Gaizberg hill is close.

The cleaning staff are very efficient and the room was clean. However, they let themselves in without knocking and there are no Do Not Disturb signs provided or chains on the door to prevent it.

Finally, they took our money twice - once at booking and when we checked out they insisted it wasn't paid. So we had to pay and have not received all the money back. A real summary of their attituted to customer service.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We requested a room away from traffic noise when we booked this hotel, but we given a room at the front of the hotel facing a main road. As the weather was over 30 regress and the hotel had no air conditioning we had to open the windows to let in some air. The noise from the road was so loud and constant it was impossible to sleep. We would not choose to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: When you book in insist on a room at the back of the hotel even if you have already requested it whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
2.6 mi away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#68 of 131 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#66 of 131 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#49 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pension Jahn
Pension Jahn
#56 of 131 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#58 of 131 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turnerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turnerwirt

Property: Hotel Turnerwirt
Address: Linzer Bundesstrasse 54, Salzburg 5023, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 131 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turnerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Turnerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Turnerwirt Salzburg
Gasthof Turnerwirt Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing