We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and Disappointing !”
Review of Schone Aussicht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schone Aussicht
Ranked #57 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average and Disappointing !”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Hotel cannot be reached without a car as its located on top of a steep hill ! The staff was helpful but the Hotel needs some major renovation . The rooms were average and the bed headboard was very uncomfortable ! Not value for money !

Room Tip: I think it would be better to stay near the city centre if you are visiting Salzburg for 2 or 3 day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiranpreet31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    89
    26
    8
    12
See reviews for
35
125
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

First and foremost. Salzburg is a confusing town to get around in....at first! The street names are not always there, and most of the time they are on the building in a xsmall font. So it is hard to navigate. The hotel is hard to find, they do have a couple signs along the way at a certain point. I would ask for direct directions when booking. We used a map/google map directions and it was still hard. The town is busy with traffic all the time. My husband and I just toured through Italy and picked a car up from Venice to head to Salzburg. Not sure how much I would recommend this hotel if you don't have your own vehicle. Taxi's are expense and for them to come up to the hotel add on another 10Euro. Just easier with your own vehicle.

The VIEW, the VIEW, the VIEW!!! Best your money can buy, I am telling you what. Amazing through all weathers, sun rise/set, fog, rain, and thunder storms. You can see it all. The hotel rooms we had are facing the city with a balcony, worth it, worth it! We enjoyed a few cocktails and bottles of wine just hanging out on the balcony over looking Salzburg.
Room is good size, hallway, with extra single bedroom, toilet and shower were separated, which was great. Their toilets are the worst. The style of them, not the cleanliness. The style is not made right, it's just all wrong!
Breakfast was the best we'd had in Europe thus far. Still no eggs and bacon, but we'll wait to return to the states for that. It was super clean hotel. Staff was friendly enough. Family owned, and spoke decent English. Minimal interaction unless approached, but whatever. We did not eat at the restaurant. It seemed to be priced high and I would think that's all about the view. So we had the view 24/7 so we went else where to eat. Pool looked clean, we just didn't use it. Saw they had some kind of Sauna but that was discovered our last night. So again, not used. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others, if you aren't wanting to be in the heart of the city and have a car.
Cons: The Bed isn't terrible but not very comfortable, and ask for more pillows cause they are weak!! Toilet, that was just weird. The street to get to the hotel, scary. One lane road and it's a two way road, straight up hill. Hold on tight!
Overall loved the hotel and think it's a great place to escape and yet not!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing Salzburg, is the best for the money. The views are breath taking!! Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethBailey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have visited the Hotel Schoene Aussicht twice this year with my family (including 3 children from 5 to 13 years old). This is the perfect hotel if you do not like to suffer the city heavy traffic and you really want to have time to relax, although you have all the city amenities at hand. The cuisine is just glorious, and the service, warm and helpful. To be honest, the rooms are not that big, but you are not supposed to stay in your room, or what? Expect Austrian luxury and style. Bathroom in perfect and everything tidy(soup bar would be a good idea instead og showergel). Next year I shall come back to Salzbug and, the Hotel Schoene Aussicht is my definitive choice. Max

Room Tip: Perfect place to relax and enjoy cultural life without the huzzle of city traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxSpiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

the hotel is okay, average old fashioned. friendly people, nice breakfast
the view is amazing, and by car it is close enough to the city center
(driving up hill is scary though)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

Pros:
Swimming pool
Tasty Breakfast
Good view
WiFi connectivity was awesome
Staff is friendly and most speak English
Clean room and bathroom
TV
Relatively cheap rooms

Cons:
Steep uphill 20 min. hike if you don't have a car or don't take a cab
Restaurant closed on Tue/Wed and a tad bit expensive
Tiny room
Away from city centre
Thin walls. You can hear what neighbours speak

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
228 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I LOVED this hotel.

First, we did not have a car like the other reviewers have mentioned being important. Here is how it worked for us- we took tours that would pick us up for free in the morning, then took a taxi (about 12-13 Euro before tip) back to the hotel from the old salzburg part of town. One day, we took a bus and it was about 12-15 minutes to walk down a long, windy, one lane road downhill to the bus stop. About 4,80 euro for a 24 hour pass. I would not recommend walking up the hill as it would be a "get sweaty" kind of walk.

The views at this hotel are AMAZING. The hotel restaurant also had some good food but I would only eat here if you need to as it was expensive and there is a 2,50 euro COVER CHARGE to eat! What?! The menu claimed the kitchen gave a "small gift" but when we asked about it after our meal, they said it was an egg with bacon. They never offered the "gift" to us, even after we asked about it, just told us about it. Weird.

The room is quiet and we had two windows, a balcony, and door to help us keep cool during the summer.

The breakfast was great. They had a really good marbled sweet bread I had every morning (see picture). The drinks were cold and refreshed frequently.

Internet is not very good. Like others have said, I had to go to the lobby area or outside seating to get the connection to work, even though there was a router right outside my room. I was not there for business, so the internet connection was more for pleasure and it did not bother me that I could not use the internet in the room. Also, they charge 5 euro for the password. When we got to the room, we found it in the table drawer. oh well.

Overall, great hotel and nice people working at the front. I would come back here, with or without a car.

Room Tip: Room #9 is a corner room that faces the city and beautiful mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were a little concerned about staying in this hotel without a car, but when we made the reservation, the manager was able to give us good information about cab fares. It all worked out well. The people running the hotel and restaurant are very friendly and helpful. The room we had was on the second floor with a balcony and view of the city (but not the castle and old city.) It was a little small, but OK. The breakfast was very good, as we experienced time and again in German and Austrian hotels.
Be aware! The restaurant is not open every evening. We arrived at about 7 or 8 in the evening without having eaten dinner, thinking we could eat at the hotel restaurant only to find it was not open that evening. We walked down the hill from the hotel, but in the neighborhood there was very little available.
In the mornings, we walked down the hill (an easy 15 minutes). There is a bus stop at the foot of the hill where we could catch buses to the old city or the train station. We only used cabs when we returned to the hotel.
This hotel was a great value. We found room prices in Salzburg to be extremely high, and this hotel was a steal, especially considering its great view of the city, excellent staff, and breakfast.

Room Tip: If you do not have a car, ask the hotel about taxi fares from the old city or train station to their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolgerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Romantik Gersberg Alm
Romantik Gersberg Alm
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
#58 of 132 in Salzburg
96 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#34 of 132 in Salzburg
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Frauenschuh
Hotel Frauenschuh
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#23 of 132 in Salzburg
809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Salzburg Nord
Ibis Salzburg Nord
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schone Aussicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schone Aussicht

Property: Schone Aussicht
Address: Heuberg 3, Salzburg 5023, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#28 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Schone Aussicht 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Schone Aussicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schone Aussicht Salzburg
Schone Aussicht Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing