We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound of Music experience”
Review of Schone Aussicht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schone Aussicht
Ranked #50 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It might seem trite, but 'Sound of Music' is all I could think about the first 24 hours we were here. Hotel is a little out of central Salzburg, and you need a vehicle to get here, but you have views of the city, the mountains, sheep, need I say more? It's family run which makes it very personable. The rooms are clean and authentic Austrian. We had two rooms and one was average size and quite fine. The other had a sitting room, two bedrooms, and a large bathroom. This was very nice for small children as they could be taking a nap and the adults could be talking without disturbing the children.
Great location for walking out in the country/hills on the trails that are marked.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel staff for a room facing the pool - this has the best direct view of the city. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryAnn6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

Located in a country setting within a stones throw of the city, this beautiful rustic looking hotel is really nice, the staff treat you with respect and make you feel right at home, the restaurant has excellent food, which was well prepared, smoking is allowed in the bar, and non-smokers can use the lounge to relax in whilst having a few drinks, which is nice if the weather is not too good.

If you are a non-driver, then getting to the hotel can be a bit daunting, up a steep hill, although taxis are fairly cheap from the city centre/station. There is a bus stop near the bottom of the hill for day trips to the Altstadt or further afield - buy a day ticket, works out cheaper.

The only thing lacking was tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but this did not bother me at all.

They have an outdoor pool, Sauna and Whirlpool which I did not use so cannot comment on

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the restaurant have the best views of the city, I had No. 1 which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobWaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We really liked this hotel because it had a great room, great location, and it was everything that I expected from a small town hotel in Austria. The good is it had the best breakfast that I ate while in Europe and the staff was helpful and friendly...but maybe I have a more positive view because there was a dog show in town and the hotel was full of some of the most beautiful dogs that I have ever seen. The bad is that I think it would be impossible to find this hotel without a GPS...and the road up to the hotel is narrow and the locals drive downhill like you are not there...and it really has a great view of town because it is not very close to town. Otherwise, we had a great one night stay at this hotel and I would come again just to eat the great breakfast.

Room Tip: Just make sure you are able to carry your baggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Marvelous!!!! But before describing my lovely stay there, one should know:

- the steep, narrow road that is like 400 m that take u from Obergnigl Obus stop to the hotel is : Super steep, veryyyy narrow ( two cars cant pass at the same time) and there is no light at all at night, so dont even think of taking it by foot at night, or with luggage at any time. However its so nice to walk it down during the day, its beautiful but since the road is very natrow, one should be careful not to be hit by a car.

- The hotel is so old, cosy and authentic, so NO elevator

-Wifi isnt for free.

-Reception isnt 24 hrs. So if u come late u just open the main gate with your room keys and enter

On the other hand:
-the Hotel, the hill itself, the surroundings are a true piece of Heaven,
-The view from the Hotel is breathtaking
-Breakfast is rich and delicious
-Staff are friendly and helpful
... Simply Magical

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Azzigeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This Hotel is situated on a hill overlooking Salzburg and is just charming. The view is great and the service is friendly and genuine. The rooms are large and comfortable and the old charm of the building has been well preserved. Breakfast was good and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I was in Germany on business and my wife accompanied me for the first week. The first weekend I had free we traveled to Salzburg and stayed at this hotel. We had a car and the hotel was easy to find with my GPS. The hotel is up on a hill that overlooks the city of Salzburg. We had a very comfortable room with a terrific view. I probably would not have stayed at this hotel without a car, because it is a pretty good walk into Salzburg. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed advice on what activities to do in town. Breakfast was typical European fare and very good. We also had dinner at the hotel as well. The food was outstanding. If we ever go back to Salzburg, we will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Yes, it's in nice place top of Hill what you must drive or Walk. So maybe not the Best place to stay without a car.

But you can get a taxi from there to the old town for 12-15e oneway and old town you can Walk everwhere.


Rooms where ok, littlebit old decorated but still very Fine, no aircon


View from the rooms to City side where nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaltoespoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
6 mi away
Hotel Gabi
Hotel Gabi
#37 of 132 in Salzburg
121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Romantik Gersberg Alm
Romantik Gersberg Alm
#45 of 132 in Salzburg
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Turnerwirt
Hotel Turnerwirt
#58 of 132 in Salzburg
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlosswirt zu Anif
2.4 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
2.9 mi away
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
Landgasthof Kohlpeter
#46 of 132 in Salzburg
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schone Aussicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schone Aussicht

Address: Heuberg 3, Salzburg 5023, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#28 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £75 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schone Aussicht 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Schone Aussicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schone Aussicht Salzburg
Schone Aussicht Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing