We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Adlerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Adlerhof
Ranked #46 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Avenel, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Chose this hotel as it was close to the train station. That is probably its only redeeming feature. Room was small and very ordinary. No frills whatsoever. Breakfast very ordinary. Staff not very helpful. Asked the man on the desk if he could ring our tour for us as it was 15 minutes late and you'd think Id asked him to sell his grandmother. Begrudgingly he rang the number and handed me the phone. Very expensive for a very ordinary place. Also on a very noisy street.

Room Tip: Not sure there would be one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWriggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    138
    87
    19
    8
See reviews for
82
128
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Convinient for those who visit Salzburg via the raylway cause is just behind the station. Beyond that, the location is rather indifferent. About 15 min walk from the interesting part of the city. Standard breakfast, normal rooms relative old. I think its a little bit expensive however for Salzburg prices can be considered acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgios C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Okay rooms - but not for the price. Come early in the morning if you want a table for the poor breakfast. Anyhow - the staff has been friendly and helpfull. We got a map and a good explaination of how to find the different attractions in Salzburg.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Casper J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were very pleased with Adlerhof! Our room was ready in the early part of the dya, which was really welcome as we could freshen up a bit and then still get in a very full day of sightseeing! Its super easy to get here from train station by walking. The room was lovely - typical Austrian decor, a fan provided to cool the place in the warm weather. Cmfortable beds, very tasty breakfst. Great recommendation on a dinner spot nearby. We had no problems walking to the old town and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Gracious, mature staff. Thanks Adlerhof!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is only a few minutes from the train station and maybe 15 minutes from Mirabellplatz by foot. Definitely not a luxurious hotel, but the staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the included breakfast, wi-fi, and TV are an extra bonus. Would definitely recommend this location to travelers looking for a calm, inexpensive option in Salzburg!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellyse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Adlerhof is a small hotel not too far from the train station (which is being renovated as of May 21, 2014). Booking.com page should specific the location better. Knowing just the street name does not help.
First, location: From the train station, exit towards Forum1 Shopping complex. Walk straight ahead, cross the first traffic light, and keep to the LEFT side of the street. At the next traffic light, turn LEFT. You can clearly see the hotel on the right side of the street.
Second, space. The room is spacious. I got a 3-bed room overlooking the front street which is quiet despite the fact that there are shops and bakery on that street.
The room is clean though there's cigarette smell despite the hotel non-smoking sign. I complained and the hotel keeper said they could not watch over the guests at all time---which is true. So I left the windows open--which is ok. No one climbed in or anything.
Third, breakfast. It is good. It's the German/Austrian kind of breakfast with cold meat, eggs, cheese, bread, juice, hot drink, and others. So it was fun to eat breakfast at the hotel.
And the people at the hotel speak English fairly well. They are all very helpful.
The hotel has an elevator.
From the hotel if you walk straight ahead following the sign to city center, you will see EVERYTHING there is to see in Salzburg.
I will try to come back to this hotel next year if I get to come to Salzburg again.
Charlie.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want, and they will try to meet it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C-Charlie-008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Maur-des-Fosses, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for its price (85€/night) more than its location or services.
Well, there's no big surprises, it's worth its price.
Rooms are not very spacious but clean and calm. There's free WIFI and a TV with a hundred channels. The staff is friendly.

The breakfast is very poor with absolutely awful fruit juices, so you might take it elsewhere...

The main problem is its location : very far from the old city (25 mn walk, if you're fast) in a very uninteresting part of the city. But there are buses that go directly from the railway station (5 mn walk) to the historic center.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Remington_3555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Jahn
Pension Jahn
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
ACHAT Plaza Zum Hirschen
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
#50 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
#61 of 132 in Salzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Adlerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Adlerhof

Property: Pension Adlerhof
Address: Elisabethstrasse 25 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Adlerhof 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adlerhof is a family-run hotel, located in the modern heart of Salzburg, just next to Salzburgs main train station (Salzburg Hbf). All our 28 guest rooms are located in a landmarked 19th century building. The Historical Old Town of Salzburg (Mozart houses, Mirabell Gardens, Church District) can easily be reached by walking (about 20 minutes) or by bus from the train station. The Adlerhof is also an ideal starting point for all excursions to Salzburgs surroundings, such as Hallstatt, Eagles Nest, Ice Caves, Untersberg, Salt Mines, etc.... as all public means of transport to reach these places leave from the main train station of Salzburg (Salzburg Hbf) Its most central location and the personal atmosphere let the Adlerhof be the ideal starting point for your stay in the beautiful city of Salzburg! We are looking forwart to your visit! Familie Pregarbauer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pension Adlerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Adlerhof Hotel Salzburg
Adlerhof Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing