We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkhotel Brunauer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkhotel Brunauer
Ranked #51 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Underwood, In
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I happened upon this hotel by chance, with more than a little help by Trip Advisor and was pleasantly surprised! This was by far one of the nicest hotels we stayed at during our 6 country trip to Europe and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling through Salzburg. The spacious rooms, coupled with our own private balcony made it that much nicer after shuffling between different hotels for over a week. Their outside patio was a nice, relaxing place to eat and drink and the free internet service is actually free...and honestly unlimited, vs. just the 10-20 minutes offered as "free wifi" in some of the hotels. The free breakfast buffet has a great variety of food, complete with a special order chef who will make your eggs just the way you like them!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony if you've been traveling and are tired of being cooped up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beate W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Parkhotel Brunauer, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Holly G!

Thank you, that you've taken the time and gave us your assessment about our hotel here at TripAdvisor!

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me or my colleagues at +43 662 454265-0 or office@parkhotelbrunauer.at .

We hope you will come back and see us again and wish you a happy new year!

With kind regards,
Beate Woger
Guest Relation Manager
Best Western Plus Parkhotel Brunauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    103
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
114
33
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very nice hotel. Location is a bit away from town center but it is close to train station and not that far a walk (20 - 25 minutes) if you are inclined. Room was very spacious and well maintained. Staff were very friendly. Bar downstairs was very friendly. A good value. I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Salzburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beate W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Parkhotel Brunauer, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. webrunt!

Thank you so much, that you have taken the time and gave us your assessment about our hotel!

It's a pleasure for us to read your feedback and we want to say: THANK YOU!

If I can assist you in any way in the future, please contact me or my colleagues at +43662454265 or office@parkhotelbrunauer.at .

We hope, we'll see you again at our Best Western Plus Parkhotel Brunauer in Salzburg.

With kind regards,
Beate Woger
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as it was close to the train station so we didn't have to haul our bags. The downside was we had quite a walk to get to the old town although we enjoyed the walk along the river and it really wasn't much of an issue(20 minutes). The breakfast was pleantiful and delicious. Our room was above the lobby so we got good wifi reception but not so great in other parts of the hotel although the staff showed they are aware and the problem is being worked on. The room was clean and spacious and the staff was helpful and friendly. Enjoyable stay in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XXXVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beate W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Parkhotel Brunauer, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear XXXVIII!

Thank you, that you have taken the time and gave us this excellent assessment about our hotel!

Your feedback is very important for us! By telling us waht you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitat to contact me or my colleagues at +43662454265 or office@parkhotelbrunauer.at .

We hope, you will come back and see us again!

With kind regards,
Beate Woger
Guest Relation Manager
Best Western Plus Parkhotel Brunauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Yet another lovely stay in this hotel. The Junior Suite room I was assigned was amazing, everybody was willing to help and there were only smiling faces all around. That’s great customer service which I have not come across very often. Congratulations!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Javipena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beate W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Parkhotel Brunauer, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Mr. Javipena82!

Thank you so much that you have taken the time and gave us such an excellent assessment about our hotel!

Your feedback is very important for us and we want to say: THANK YOU!

If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitat to contact me or my colleagues at +43662454265 or per e-mail at office@parkhotelbrunauer.at .

We hope you will come back and see us again!

With kind regards,
Beate Woger
Guest Relation Manager
Best Western Plus Parkhotel Brunauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Only stayed here for 1 night, largely because it's quite close to the railway station. The room we had wasn't the largest we've ever stayed in, & the shower was definitely on the small side, but all was fairly modern & very clean. As others have said, the big downside is the lack of air conditioning - when we were there, in August, it was pretty hot & humid. On the positive side however, it's just a 15 minute walk to the Mirabel Gardens, & 25-30 to the old town. Reception staff were fine & spoke excellent english. The lovely garden area is a nice bonus. Breakfast was also well above average. The free wi-fi also worked well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lettyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beate W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Parkhotel Brunauer, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear lettyger!

Thank you, that you've taken the time and gave us your assessment about our hotel!

Please, let us explain why we don't have an air condition in our hotel. The reason is, that we have the Austrian eco-label! So we are committed to take note of a low energy consumpion.

Thank you again for your excellent assessment and we want to say THANK YOU for your compliments!

If I can be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitat to contact me or my colleagues at +43662454265 or per e-mail to office@parkhotelbrunauer.at .

We hope you will come back and see us again!

With kind regards from Salzburg,
Beate Woger
Guest Relation Manager
Best Western Plus Parkhotel Brunauer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

I choose this hotel because of its proximity from the central station as I would arrive from Munich by train. Initially I was slightly lost in finding the location but from the moment I stepped inside, I have been very very satisfied with it.

The main building is slightly hidden from the road and the building design is rather widely spread (instead of narrow and vertically high). The receptionist was very friendly and the check-in process was swift. I was given a junior suite which is larger than my expectation. The room is clean with separate bathroom and toilet. Water boiler is provided also for convenience. The room hall-way (the path way between the room and shower) has an auto light which switch off when the lights in the other rooms are turned on... so it conserves energy. It gives good feel to know that I am staying in eco-friendly hotel (i.e. with eco suggestion on towels and toiletries).

When I approched the staff for suggestions of the place to visit, she had kindly showed me the various "tourist attractions" plus local secret on the good cafes and suggested the Salzburg card which is a must have for anybody visiting the city. She gave me full attention and thorough explanations which definitely add a plus mark for this hotel. When I was back to the hotel around 11pm, another staff greeted me kindly and attentively asked if I need anything else. The same staff still remembered my request when I met him the next day and asked if I were satisfied with the stuff I requested. I find this level of service very professional instead of treating every guest simply as "just another guests on short stay".

The hotel has free wi-fi or alternatively guest can borrow LAN cable from the reception counter. Breakfast buffet was good with ample bread selection and an egg station where one could request how he/she wants the egg to be done. Every staff would greet the guests kindly and try to meet the requests. I believe they have a garden too although I did not check it out.

I would definitely recommend this hotel based on my own good experience staying with them.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We got a room towards the front, and as it is summer and the rooms have no airconditioning, it was very noisy, sleeping was not easy.

The hotel has a delightful garden which we enjoyed for a quiet beer and later for a dinner. Parking is ample and safe behind the hotel.

The staff is very helpful and not buerocratic regarding internet cables (for rooms too far away from wifi). It is near enough to go to the city as parking in Salzburg is horrible.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dungdang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Salzburg
H+ Hotel Salzburg
#22 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#19 of 132 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scherer Hotel
Scherer Hotel
#98 of 132 in Salzburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Brunauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Brunauer

Property: Parkhotel Brunauer
Address: Elisabethstrasse 45A, Salzburg 5020, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkhotel Brunauer)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#27 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#37 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Brunauer 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkhotel Brunauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Josef Brunauer Hotel Salzburg
Josef Brunauer Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing