We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good location and choice”
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Am Dom
Ranked #22 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Salzburg, what a wonderful, intimate, manageable city! We were so glad we stayed in such a convenient location, just off one of the main squares on an old, winding, charming street. All you have to do is look past the odd choice of wall hangings in the room--from a local exhibition or festival, perhaps, but not the best choice to sleep under with all those angry-looking people staring at you. Other than that, the hotel was a great choice, with very helpful front-desk staff, well-served breakfasts, and quiet, clean rooms, including good, spacious bathrooms. This boutique hotel is small, which we liked, with rooms carved out of a centuries-old building. We are a family of four, including two teenaged boys. We stayed in two rooms.
You can drive your car up to the hotel to unload your bags with a passcode (the area doesn't allow cars), then park your car in a nearby underground lot. Ask for clear directions about not only how to drive to the parking lot but also how to walk back. It's not far at all. Make sure you write down exactly where you parked and remember to pay for your parking when you are ready to pick up your car at one of the kiosks in the parking deck BEFORE you get in your car to exit.
Hotel am Dom was a terrific choice for us. So easy to step out after dark after most of the tourists are gone and surrounds yourself with an almost empty Salzburg. You can feel the history and see the beauty in a whole new way.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had, one on the first floor (the American second) and one on the second, were quiet--i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETT1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stylish renovation combined with owner/management make this a STELLAR choice for a small boutique hotel. Everything within walking distance. Lots of individualized attentive tips from staff with candid and reliable assessments. Top floor does not have elevator access so if a problem be certain to specify.

Parking available but not on site.

Room Tip: Top floor requires one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

There are two hotels in Europe we seem to rep coming back to, and Hotel Am Dom is one of them. It's tucked into a side street right in the middle of Salzburg's altstadt sites (and just steps from the cathedral). The owner [who's frequently on site--a good sign] and staff are always welcoming and go the extra mile to see that guests old and new have a great experience. The hotel itself is small and cleverly designed; its owner seems dedicated to keeping it in top form. There's a small coffee and wine bar downstairs, and a tasty variety of meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, cereals, and eggs for breakfast. Sleek bathrooms, large flat screen tvs, and a/c in each room are among the conveniences in this _very_ old but completely modernized building (a plaque in the foyer traces the building's ownership back to the 1500s). Just wonderful.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are a bit more comfortable, but really, they're all quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights and overall were very pleased with this small boutique hotel in the heart of old town. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and the entire hotel is non-smoking. The only thing I would change is the lack of a coffee machine in our room. This is a problem, but we were told they have an expresso machine in the lobby for guests. So my husband and I came down (often) a couple times per day during our stay to the lobby for expresso & cappuccino's. You can imagine our surprise when we were checking out and there were multiple charges for each time we came downstairs for coffee. I do not agree with this policy and it was NEVER communicated to us that it would cost us over 3 euros (per cup) each time we ordered coffee! They never asked for our room number nor did we sign anything when we were served the coffee. Not a pleasant surprise to say the least! Other then that annoying issue... our stay was very nice, our breakfast was simple but good and the staff were very pleasant. If you drive, it is easy to park in garage B parking (a short walk from the hotel) and ask for a ticket from the hotel front desk to save a few euros for 24 hour parking. What an amazing city! We will definitely return to visit Salzburg again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When balancing price, location, and size, this hotel is a great value and one that we’d definitely stay in again. In my review I'll try to hit on all the standard aspects of the hotel:

-STYLE: This hotel is recently renovated and looks very fresh and modern. It also has an elevator.
-LOCATION: The hotel is located in Salzburg’s old town on the Goldgasse street, a block from the Residenz, the cathedral and Mozartplatz. The street the hotel is located on is too narrow for cars, so you’ll have to roll your luggage down a short block. The old town is pedestrian-only, but we were able to drive our rental car into the barricades to drop off our bags (15 minute max), and then we parked it nearby (about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel). Note that this will be the case with all hotels in old town. There are restaurants and stores everywhere in old town, so the options are seemingly limitless.
-ROOM: We booked a standard double room (room #615). We had a comfortable queen bed (note that like most of Europe, it was two beds pushed together), a floor length mirror, a small desk, a flat screen tv, a chair, a ton of cabinet space, a water closet and a separate bathroom. The air conditioning was excellent and the room was a pretty standard size.
-BATHROOM: The bathroom had a shower and a sink. Ladies take note: there was excellent shower pressure to wash the shampoo out of your hair, bright lighting for makeup application, and an outlet next to the mirror, so you can curl/straighten your hair. Those might seem like small things, but they are next to impossible to find in Europe! The toilet was in a separate water closet.
-INTERNET: Wi-fi was included in our rate and was very fast – probably the fastest we’ve had in a hotel. We could watch videos and use Facetime with no problem.
-NOISE LEVEL: We had a room on the top floor (with cathedral views) and had no complaints with any noise, and I’m a light sleeper. No need for earplugs here!
-LUGGAGE RACK: Yep! I always think it’s an easy item to provide that makes a stay more comfortable. Not a big deal, but always appreciated.
-BREAKFAST: Since we booked through hotels.com, breakfast was not included in our rate (it seems to be included for guests that book direct, though). We opted to pay for the breakfast each morning (9 euros each) and were pleased. It consisted of breads, cheeses and meats, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, fruit, cereal, cottage cheese, juices, coffee and tea.
-SERVICE: Top notch. This is a very small hotel (I think only around 15-20 rooms), so the front desk staff double as the concierge. The owner is present and goes out of his way to make sure you are happy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights prior to moving on to Vienna. We arrived at the railway station and took the short taxi ride to the hotel ( approx €10) which dropped us at the end of Goldgasse, the narrow street where the hotel is located in the very heart of the old town. We chose the hotel primarily for its location and we weren't disappointed. All of the attractions that we wanted to visit are within easy walking distance. Check in was very very friendly and that really set the tone for our stay. The small management team was incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our stay, giving us a useful street map, marking the attractions that we wanted to visit and giving us restaurant recommendations. Our room (203) was in keeping with a boutique hotel, not the largest that we have stayed in but had a big comfortable bed, a heavy beamed ceiling and a modern well appointed bathroom. In spite of its central location we experienced no external noise at all. The continental breakfasts were excellent and appeared to be continually replenished. Overall this is an excellent, individually styled hotel. We are so pleased that we stayed here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 14SRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised by Am Dom! First and foremost the staff was unbeatable. I have seen excellent staff in my day but these beat them all as far as going above and beyond to make our stay outstanding. They engaged in pleasant conversation with us. We enjoyed coffee in the lobby. The hotel itself is great - wonderful water pressure, comfy cozy beds and bedding, fantastic location, cleanliness, nice complimentary breakfast, thoughtful décor. The only thing I could think of to improve upon would be brighter lighting in the room - a suggestion I saw in another review as well. I am a person that likes a brightly lit room - others may not care about that. I was in Salzburg with my parents - I was by myself in a room and it was very small - their room was a very decent size. If you are visiting Salzburg do yourself a favor and don't stay at a chain hotel - try this charming hotel instead for a refreshing change. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoradoKat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#15 of 132 in Salzburg
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#11 of 132 in Salzburg
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Address: Goldgasse 17, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £114 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing