We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place right in the centre of it all!”
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Am Dom
Ranked #21 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel Am Dom is run by a great gentlemen who loves taking care of his guests. Greeted at my car with an umbrella in hand, my bags were taken inside as I parked the car. Room was nice, modern, clean but was smaller then normal (however that is to be expected in the heart of Salzburg) but still a great bed, nice shower/bathroom and air conditioning.

The breakfast was standard but with great cappuccino! The only down fall would be that the wifi connectivity was horrible. I found myself opening my room door just to find the connection some times. Parking offsite was not a problem at all and you are close to everything you could need!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dutchie_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Am Dom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed two nights in Salzburg. The hotel was perfectly located for our stay in the Old Town. It is situated a few steps from the square surrounded by the Cathedral, Residenz, and Salzburg Museum. The hotel close to everything - the Fortress, Cafe Tomaselli, and shopping. The manager was extremely helpful in describing the sights to see in Salzburg and in making eating recommendations. He was able to get us a prime table at M32, overlooking the city. He also recommended the Salzburg Card. This was a great idea and we would recommend this card to anyone who intends to go in museums and historical sights. We slept extremely well. When we return to Salzburg, we will return to the Hotel am Dom.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights...one of the best places we stayed while in Europe. This hotel is in a medieval building in the middle of the Old Town, but it is very comfortable and beautifully restored inside while retaining some of the ancient beauty. Our beds were comfy, air worked great, and everything was fastidiously clean. We ate breakfast every morning in the dining room: breakfast consisted of fresh eggs, breads, fruit, yogurt, cheeses, juice, coffee or cappuccino. Joseph, the proprietor, is a ball of fire, friendly and cordial. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to others!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ARTrav481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Salzburg, what a wonderful, intimate, manageable city! We were so glad we stayed in such a convenient location, just off one of the main squares on an old, winding, charming street. All you have to do is look past the odd choice of wall hangings in the room--from a local exhibition or festival, perhaps, but not the best choice to sleep under with all those angry-looking people staring at you. Other than that, the hotel was a great choice, with very helpful front-desk staff, well-served breakfasts, and quiet, clean rooms, including good, spacious bathrooms. This boutique hotel is small, which we liked, with rooms carved out of a centuries-old building. We are a family of four, including two teenaged boys. We stayed in two rooms.
You can drive your car up to the hotel to unload your bags with a passcode (the area doesn't allow cars), then park your car in a nearby underground lot. Ask for clear directions about not only how to drive to the parking lot but also how to walk back. It's not far at all. Make sure you write down exactly where you parked and remember to pay for your parking when you are ready to pick up your car at one of the kiosks in the parking deck BEFORE you get in your car to exit.
Hotel am Dom was a terrific choice for us. So easy to step out after dark after most of the tourists are gone and surrounds yourself with an almost empty Salzburg. You can feel the history and see the beauty in a whole new way.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had, one on the first floor (the American second) and one on the second, were quiet--i...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETT1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stylish renovation combined with owner/management make this a STELLAR choice for a small boutique hotel. Everything within walking distance. Lots of individualized attentive tips from staff with candid and reliable assessments. Top floor does not have elevator access so if a problem be certain to specify.

Parking available but not on site.

Room Tip: Top floor requires one flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

There are two hotels in Europe we seem to rep coming back to, and Hotel Am Dom is one of them. It's tucked into a side street right in the middle of Salzburg's altstadt sites (and just steps from the cathedral). The owner [who's frequently on site--a good sign] and staff are always welcoming and go the extra mile to see that guests old and new have a great experience. The hotel itself is small and cleverly designed; its owner seems dedicated to keeping it in top form. There's a small coffee and wine bar downstairs, and a tasty variety of meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, cereals, and eggs for breakfast. Sleek bathrooms, large flat screen tvs, and a/c in each room are among the conveniences in this _very_ old but completely modernized building (a plaque in the foyer traces the building's ownership back to the 1500s). Just wonderful.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are a bit more comfortable, but really, they're all quite nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights and overall were very pleased with this small boutique hotel in the heart of old town. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and the entire hotel is non-smoking. The only thing I would change is the lack of a coffee machine in our room. This is a problem, but we were told they have an expresso machine in the lobby for guests. So my husband and I came down (often) a couple times per day during our stay to the lobby for expresso & cappuccino's. You can imagine our surprise when we were checking out and there were multiple charges for each time we came downstairs for coffee. I do not agree with this policy and it was NEVER communicated to us that it would cost us over 3 euros (per cup) each time we ordered coffee! They never asked for our room number nor did we sign anything when we were served the coffee. Not a pleasant surprise to say the least! Other then that annoying issue... our stay was very nice, our breakfast was simple but good and the staff were very pleasant. If you drive, it is easy to park in garage B parking (a short walk from the hotel) and ask for a ticket from the hotel front desk to save a few euros for 24 hour parking. What an amazing city! We will definitely return to visit Salzburg again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#7 of 132 in Salzburg
576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#18 of 132 in Salzburg
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt, Salzburg
0.2 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Address: Goldgasse 17, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range: £123 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing