We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel! Great location”
Review of Hotel Am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Am Dom
Ranked #20 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel! Great location”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This is an awesome hotel in a great location. I can't wait to return to Salzburg so I can stay here again!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sbb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    113
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
74
182
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The hotel is located in the very middle of the old town, the feeling is great: not only all the monuments are close by but, little by little, you are being absorbed in the history of the city and start feeling like living in the 17th century. The hotel is very modern and very efficiently run, rooms are small but highly comfortable. Breakfast is good, quite consistent, eggs cooked as you wish, any kind of coffee or tea, even Red Bull is available! Everything is very cozy. Still the best feature of this hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the entire personnel, from hotel manager to staff: they manage to make you feel a strange mixture of 'visitor' 'at home'.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mircix2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We had stayed here twice before prior to the renovations.
It was rustic and cottagey back then and I really liked that.
We arrived to discover that they had totally gutted it and that it was now a boutique hotel with every conceivable luxury.
I was a little sad at first, but I got over that pretty quickly, especially once I realised that the old owner was still helping them out.
This place it elegant and comfortable in every aspect.
The staff are friendly , the breakfast remarkable (allow an hour) and as always the location is the best in Salzburg. One step out the door and you're in the centre of the old town.
You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

My husband and I are well travelled, having been from Hong Kong to New York to Sydney....and this was the best hotel experience we had! I would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to visiting again. When my 3 children recall our stay in Salzburg, they only talk about our 'friends' at the hotel. This owner operated hotel was truly spectacular....we miss you!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryantmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Park, N.Y.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

i stayed in this hotel in 1990 with my teen age son! It was then run by a woman and her son. We loved our stay and since I spoke German, I think we got extra nice service. I am so glad the hotel is still there, as i plan to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitzi1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We couldn't stay overnight here. The room was very dark and smelly (Chinese restaurant below) and HOT. With the window open to try to get some breeze, the noise from extractor fans (presumably from the restaurant) made sleep impossible. After resorting to taking a shower in the early hours, in an attempt to cool down, we drenched the room as there was no shower curtain. By about 3am we decided it was crazy to stay - we weren't sleeping anyway - and drove to the outskirts and slept in our car.
There is no one on reception after 7.30 pm, so no advice or help is available. If you ring their out of hours number, no one replies, so don't expect help in an emergency.
Pay a bit more if necessary but don't stay here. It's awful. A night in the car was preferable and more comfortable.
Dreadful experience - and we LOVE Salzburg. Great location but it's a small city so wherever you are will be ok.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — hot, dark and smelly
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne55England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solon ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We had a wonderful experience...great location, great room. Felt very old world European. The front desk was very helpful with setting up tours. Would highly recommend to friends.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the smoking in the lobby area
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#13 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldgasse
Hotel Goldgasse
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
Hotel Sacher Salzburg
#6 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Salzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Dom

Property: Hotel Am Dom
Address: Goldgasse 17, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel
Am Dom Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing