We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Am Dom
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Goldgasse(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Elefant(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Stein(Salzburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu(Salzburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
240
127
31
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
127
31
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelperfect locationold townsmall hotelthe breakfast areatop floortourist informationchristmas marketbed was very comfortablewould definitely stay here againstayed here for two nightsfantastic hotelair conditioningfew minutes walksound of music tourvisit salzburgjosef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Ignore any of the old reviews. Josef has completely redone the insides of this hotel and it was a terrific find (thanks to Trip Advisor). Old reviews do not take into account the modernization. its appearance is very sleek and modern, but it's full of low tech human charm that befits a boutique hotel--without the prices. Josef had a dream to own a hotel and he is present to make sure your every whim is cared for, including a recommendation for a restaurant for a business meeting. Beds were clean and comfortable, and had the best reading lights I've seen anywhere. The breakfast buffet was ample and tasty. It's smallness provides a sense of coziness within a modern atmosphere. Others have written about location and we concur. Nice not to have to travel far to get back "home." We hit town just at St. Rupert's Festival time so there was a party in the square just for us, but the noise or traffic doesn't affect the hotel. Rooms are spotless, large for Europe, and come with free Wi-fi. I wanted to get medical attention for a bum foot (Venice's cobblestones) and Barbara (night shift and budding lawyer) kindly made all the arrangements to get me to Salzburg's emergency ward where I got very comforting treatment and sent back with Ace bandages and icing instructions. True, there is not a large reception area for business meetings, but, there is a small bar and the breakfast area. The hotel's website has good photos. We can't speak highly enough of this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

There's everything to love about this boutique hotel. Joseph, the owner, is friendly and helpful. The staff is efficient and helpful. Our room was well decorated and very, very clean. We stayed at the Hotel Am Dom for three nights while on a hectic business trip and found it to be an oasis. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We were booked into this hotel after the Hotel Elefant "lost" our reservation. Looks like they updated the rooms recently, they have flat panel TV, and swank bathrooms, comfy beds. There is really only room downstairs for a reception area and a few tables and breakfast bar. No lounge area to congregate and meet other vacationer's. However, that was made up for by its excellent central location in old town. So easy to walk wherever we needed. And most of the sights were in the old town anyway, so we were right close by that and numerous restaurants. Staff was nice and friendly. We had them help us book a tour- and it was obvious that was still new to them. But again, friendly and had a good grasp of English, so it turned out fine.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canatrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Visiting the Hotel Am Dom was a wonderful part of my holiday in Austria. It's location was ideal... on a picturesque side street very close to the centre of town. The staff could not have been friendlier or more thoughtful, despite the language barrier. It was a beautiful hotel which could boast all the luxuries of modern conveniences while still maintaining in architectural character at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovemarylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We booked this hotel after reading good reviews here and at booking.com and we were not disappointed. This hotel has a very very good location - its bang in the middle of the old town, on Goldgasse street literally within a stone's throwing distance (with a strong arm, of course) to the Dom. Funicular to go up to the salzburg castle is within walking distance too. The rooms are new and very stylish - and very comfortable beds too! And free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel!

Two minor shortcomings -there's no room service for food and only a limited breakfast spread + it was quite understaffed with one man running the show from handling the reception to making eggs for us at breakfast!! As there are plenty cafes and restaurants around the lack of food didn't really bother us though..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews