We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay at hotel doktorwirt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt
Ranked #21 of 60 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at hotel doktorwirt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

I booked this hotel as suprise get away to Salzburg for my boyfriend, and i definetly don't regret it. It was a great hotel, the bedroom was nice and spacious. The hotel is about 15mins bus ride away from the centre, but it wasn't a problem as the bus stop is just 2-5mins walk from hotel, the buses ran on time and came every 10mins. I would recommend buying a Salzburg card, we got one for 48hours and we saved a lot of money! ( public transport is free with the card and many of the sights are too, such as; cable car to Untersburg, the fortress,salzburg zoo,natural history musuem etc..)
The food at the hotel was amazing, a bit pricey but def worth it! the menu was all in German but the waitress and waiter were kind enough to translate everything in english for us!
Thanks Doktorwirt for a great holiday!

  • Liked — The location and the Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Emelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    27
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
39
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2007

Just 10 minutes from Salzburg centre by bus. A great location for combining the city sites and culture with beautiful countryside. It beats staying in the city. The hotel is so beautiful, adhering to traditional values. It remains a timeless classic in an ever increasingly contemporary world. No steel, glass and plastic here. Just pure Austria as it used to be with spotless, warm and quiet rooms, big comfortable beds, great food (an amazing breakfast) and a family who run the hotel with efficiency, love and passion over 5 generations. Something that no hotel chain run by "hotel & catering graduates" could ever aspire too. This family have hospitality in their blood and make a great team. If you don't stay here, just go for a meal. If you don't, you'll have missed a real treat. We will be back!

  • Liked — It beat our expectations handsdown
  • Disliked — That we had to do home. We wanted to stay longer
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hansjheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2007

My friends and I spent a lovely few days at the Doktorwirt at the beginning of December. We loved the location, because we had the feeling we were in the middle of the countryside, away from the hustle and bustle of Salzburg, and yet the bus stop was only a stone's throw away and the buses into Salzburg centre were on average every 7 minutes, and the journey took about 10-15 minutes.
The hotel itself is full of Austrian charm, and very clean and cosy. The staff were always extremely friendly and helpful, in fact we found everything about the hotel to be wonderful and very good value for money - including the restaurant. The one slightly negative thing I would mention, is that there is no lift to the upper floors, which could be a problem for more elderly or unfit guests, but the staff offered to take our bags to our rooms and bring them down when we checked out.

We would have no hesitation in recommending it and would definitely stay there if we ever visited Salzburg again.

  • Liked — The complete cosy Austrian feel.
  • Disliked — The stairs after a very large meal and too much wine!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JKBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2006

A couple of the reviews for this Hotel were less than glowing but we decided to book anyway because the photos looked nice.
I cannot understand why some people could find fault with this hotel other than if they are so spoilt that anything other than perfection will do. We found the family to be friendly and attentive in extending to us the usual warm hospitality that is all we know when visiting Austria. The Hotel is utterly spotless, the food was first class, and the pool area, although the pool was a little cold due to the low season timing, was super for the kids to let off a bit of steam. There is a Turkish Bath, and two saunas.
There is a very regular bus service to the city centre right on the doorstep which takes just 10 mins, and for those moaning about the Hotel restaurant being closed on Monday, just 200 mtrs away are two superb restaurants where we enjoyed a very high quality range of meals at very fair prices, so much so, we made a point of going back 3 times during our stay. If you like a warm family run Hotel, look no further and book this one... superb.

  • Liked — warm , frienldy and spotless
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Book on the fist floor and try the local restaurants...most of all... enjoy and relax
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BilkoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2006

My family and I have stayed here at least annualy for 20+ years. Doctorwirt is nothing if not consistent. The rooms are always immaculate. We've found them roomy and nicely appointed. I think we've been in about every room, but of course, prefered the tower rooms. The food in the restaurant is excellent. The buffet breakfast is my wife's favorite anywhere in Europe.

My only complaint is that in 24 some years, they have not moved closer to town. OK, so that''s a stab at those without the good sense to look at the location, and then bad rap the hotel for it.
I always stay here because of the location. Quiet and away from the likeness of Mozart!

  • Liked — Open space of rooms and common areas
  • Disliked — People complaining about the rain
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank snuggs5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2006

I wish I could share the last reviewer’s enthusiasm about the Hotel Doktorwirt, but our experience there was not very pleasant. It is worth repeating that the Doktorwirt is not only an appreciable distance (about 15 minutes) from Salzburg, but it is in a (to be kind) non-descript area leading into town. In fact there is a main road close by, and the approach to the hotel is somewhat unattractive. When we left for a small mountain town in Bavaria the contrast was marked!

The hotel lobby is very dark and, perhaps because of the incessant rain we had the entire time we were there, it emitted a musty odor. When we approached the woman at the front desk, who turned out to be one of the Schoell family twins, we were not acknowledged at all until we extended a greeting. Directions were given to us in an extremely cursory manner, facilities were not explained or shown to us. The room we were given was small, plain, contained a small bathroom with a tiny tub equipped with a shower nozzle but no shower curtain, and sat next to a public restroom. After voicing our concerns at the reception, we were told that no one uses the bathroom (although the running plumbing was how we became aware of it), but were finally, grudgingly given another room which was slightly larger and which had a nicer bathroom with an enclosed shower. The furnishings in both rooms were plain in comparison with other hotels in this price range--especially considering the out-of-town location-- and a tad shabby (trim peeling off of a light fixture, worn rugs, thin linens). To be fair, the towels and the bathroom fixtures were very nice, as was the view out toward the back.

Our biggest issue was with the bed, which was not twins pushed together sharing the expected common box-spring, but was actually two uncomfortable mattresses sitting separately in wooden frames which butted up against each other creating a gap of ½ foot between matresses. For a married couple on holiday, this was hardly romantic. We could never get our internet to work at the Doktorwirt and, although it worked at every other wireless port we encountered, the daughter seemed to blame us—noting that this was only a problem with American and French computers.

Our first night was nearly sleepless due to the uncomfortable beds and consistent noise from fighting guests down the hall, who slammed and pounded on doors.

Mainly we felt a lack of courtesy and warmth during our two days there, which contrasted greatly with most of our other experiences in Europe. All of our interactions with the family were tinged with what we perceived as hostility, so we decided to leave early and gave the front desk 24-hour notice that we would be checking out the following day. Nevertheless we were forced to pay for a night we did not use (they wanted us to pay for 2 ), and this after embarrassing wrangling and arguing. Beware of this, as the website did not note this in English, nor did any of my e-mailed correspondence mention this policy.

The aforementioned unfriendliness was also experienced with several proprietors in the town of Salzburg, and was noted by other tourists we spoke with, and even a lovely, native business owner we befriended. We left for Ruhpolding in Bavaria (where they do not charge you to drive on their roads), checking into a lovely, friendly property and enjoying a much more charming experience.

  • Tips/Secrets — Explore smaller Bavarian towns, better prices, friendlier locals
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Litlove39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2005

My family and myself stayed in 2 rooms at the Doktorwirt last month. It is a wonderful choice when staying outside of the city! You don't have the noise of traffic. You can relax by looking at the beautiful nearby mountains or enjoy your breakfast on the terrace. The staff were all friendly and helpful. They give it the personal touch. We highly recomment Gasthof Doktorwirt and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank austriabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salzburg
2.4 mi away
Romantik Gersberg Alm
Romantik Gersberg Alm
#41 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Friesacher
Hotel Friesacher
#1 of 5 in Anif
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#16 of 60 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau
1.7 mi away
Pension Katrin
Pension Katrin
#10 of 60 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.6 mi away
B&B Villaverde
B&B Villaverde
#5 of 60 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt

Property: Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt
Address: Glaserstrasse 9, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing