We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasteful food, good service, but uncomfortable beds.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt
Ranked #22 of 61 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Southern California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasteful food, good service, but uncomfortable beds.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

On a positive side this hotel has a very nice restaurant with great food and wine selection. Nice Alpine chalet decor. The service from the front desk and restaurant staff was also excellent.
Breakfast is wonderful with good coffee, fruits, cheese, and sausages.

On the negative side beds in our room were very hard and uncomfortable. Out of several hotels/guest houses we stayed on this trip, this place has by far the most uncomfortable bed.

The hotel is located on the edge of Salzburg (you see the "end of town" sign on the road just before turning to the hotel) and the nearest bus stop is 600 meters away on rather narrow sidewalk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiWhistler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOKTORWIRT, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Google Translation
Gruess Gott,
Da wir mehr Schwierigkeiten mit weichen Betten haben diese hart zu machen - haben wir uns für mittelharte Matrazen entschieden und Sie können Ihnen jederzeit mit weichen Bettauflagen behilflich sein um einen guten Schlaf zu gewähren.
Bitte immer bei jedlichen Problemen gleich an die Rezeption kommen und wir versuchen
diese immer sofort zu lösen.
Viele Grüße aus Salzburg
Carolin Schnöll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    26
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
39
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

my wife and I stayed there for two days, It was nice, relaxing and friendly but not close to the heart of Salzburg. And don't wait any kind of luxury even if it is a four star hotel. If you want to stay at a peaceful and quite area, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This charming Hotel / BNB is situated about 20minutes out of salzburg..on the #7 bus line which stops only about 300mtrs from the Hotel

Our room was clean and functional and we had a 3 great breakfasts there with a huge selection of fruits, cheeses, salami, ham breads and jams and good coffee. My wife used the pool which was rather inviting and we had a good view of the mountain from our roadside room
We would certainly recommend this hotel
Tea / coffee not avalable in room ..this would have been nice.

Restaurant closed Sunday and Monday nights ( year round?? )..but places to eat nearby

They also booked taxi and Tours for us..helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiLint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is a nice German style lodge that offers pool facilities and a great outdoor area overlooking the mountains.

The reception were very helpful, breakfast was great, awesome views.

Only thing was basic rooms and appeared nicer in the photos than it actually is. Still a great place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zerep08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

The hotel is in an excellent position, being quiet and close to the mountains, yet a short, easy bus ride to town. The welcome was friendly and information knowledgeable. The bar was a lovely spot for a drink in the evening.

Room Tip: Do not book the large room that doubles as a conference room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsejf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

The reception we received at this gueshouse on our arrival was rather cool and unwelcoming. Because nobody answered the reception bell when we rang it (about 2.00pm), we were advised to go to the door and ring the main bell. This clearly did not go down well with Elizabeth, one of the twins whose family run the hotel. She dealt with the check in details briskly and made no attempt to engage in conversation. When I asked about the Salzburg card she said it would not be worth it because we weren't there long enough. However, the next day, I asked Caroline, the other twin, who was on reception and she priced it up carefully and said it would be well worth it, which, with hindsight, it certainly was. We were rather disappointed with our room; I had contacted the guesthouse in advance to ask how we could ensure a view of the mountains. They responded that as it was the Salzburg Festival, most of the mountain view rooms were taken, however if we upgraded to a junior suite, this would provide us with a view. Unfortunately, most of the view was of a fir tree right in front of 3 of the windows. You could just about see the view by positioning your head in the corner of one of the windows. Apart from this, the room was fairly basic wih some rather functional but not particularly clean or comfortable sofa and chairs. There was a dead spider behind the bathroom door all the time we were there. (2 nights). The spa facilities were good for a hotel of this size with an indoor and outdoor pool. We had to ask for towelling robes to use as they were not left in the room and nor were towels for the pools. The sauna cost 10 euros to use. As indicated, Caroline, on reception, was warmer and more helpful than Elizabeth and I think our initial impression would have been different if she had been there on our arrival. The staff in the restaurant were all friendly and helpful and the meals were tasty and of a very good standard.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjtWindsor_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and weren't disappointed. As the hotel has been run for generations the room fit the period, was spacious and clean. The buffet breakfasts were excellent and food and drinks at dinner were delicious! The hotel has smoking and non-smoking areas so as a non-smoker took a little getting used to but was completely fine. Excellent service from Carolin and the family. Went on a day-trip skiing from hotel recommendation which was fantastic and also went on some recommended local hiking trails in the snow. Beautiful! Quick bus links to the centre of Salzburg so very easy to get around. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzChards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salzburg
2.1 mi away
Hotel Friesacher
Hotel Friesacher
#1 of 5 in Anif
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Gabi
Hotel Gabi
#44 of 131 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
#2 of 61 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.8 mi away
HAUS ARENBERG
HAUS ARENBERG
#10 of 61 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#17 of 61 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt

Property: Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt
Address: Glaserstrasse 9, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing