We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt
Ranked #23 of 63 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2008

As with a previous contributor we arrived at lunchtime on Monday to be told that the restaurant,bar etc were closed for the day.No alternatives were offered and no mention made on the two occasions I had e-mailed the hotel.I had requested a room with terrace and again the lack of availability was not mentioned in an e-mail reply a few days before arrival.Instead we were given a room on the second floor with a small window and curtains whose hem was hanging down!

We did not find the family especially friendly-answers to questions were always curt. Dinner on our second night was uninspiring and the restaurant lacked any atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mrslbCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2008

I have stayed here a number of times as well as in the inner city Hotels (when on tours). I would definitely choose the Doktorwirt above any other for the good value of the accommodation and the Restaurant meals which are to die for, the Zwiebelrostbraten melted in the mouth and as a previous poster said, the breakfast is substantial and a good variety of foods to choose from - breads, cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, juice, coffee etc.
The bus stop is close by and the peacefulness of the location appealed to me. I don,t find the distance from the city a problem at all as it is only 10 mins by bus.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank margsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

I booked this hotel as suprise get away to Salzburg for my boyfriend, and i definetly don't regret it. It was a great hotel, the bedroom was nice and spacious. The hotel is about 15mins bus ride away from the centre, but it wasn't a problem as the bus stop is just 2-5mins walk from hotel, the buses ran on time and came every 10mins. I would recommend buying a Salzburg card, we got one for 48hours and we saved a lot of money! ( public transport is free with the card and many of the sights are too, such as; cable car to Untersburg, the fortress,salzburg zoo,natural history musuem etc..)
The food at the hotel was amazing, a bit pricey but def worth it! the menu was all in German but the waitress and waiter were kind enough to translate everything in english for us!
Thanks Doktorwirt for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Emelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2007

Just 10 minutes from Salzburg centre by bus. A great location for combining the city sites and culture with beautiful countryside. It beats staying in the city. The hotel is so beautiful, adhering to traditional values. It remains a timeless classic in an ever increasingly contemporary world. No steel, glass and plastic here. Just pure Austria as it used to be with spotless, warm and quiet rooms, big comfortable beds, great food (an amazing breakfast) and a family who run the hotel with efficiency, love and passion over 5 generations. Something that no hotel chain run by "hotel & catering graduates" could ever aspire too. This family have hospitality in their blood and make a great team. If you don't stay here, just go for a meal. If you don't, you'll have missed a real treat. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hansjheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2007

My friends and I spent a lovely few days at the Doktorwirt at the beginning of December. We loved the location, because we had the feeling we were in the middle of the countryside, away from the hustle and bustle of Salzburg, and yet the bus stop was only a stone's throw away and the buses into Salzburg centre were on average every 7 minutes, and the journey took about 10-15 minutes.
The hotel itself is full of Austrian charm, and very clean and cosy. The staff were always extremely friendly and helpful, in fact we found everything about the hotel to be wonderful and very good value for money - including the restaurant. The one slightly negative thing I would mention, is that there is no lift to the upper floors, which could be a problem for more elderly or unfit guests, but the staff offered to take our bags to our rooms and bring them down when we checked out.

We would have no hesitation in recommending it and would definitely stay there if we ever visited Salzburg again.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JKBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2006

A couple of the reviews for this Hotel were less than glowing but we decided to book anyway because the photos looked nice.
I cannot understand why some people could find fault with this hotel other than if they are so spoilt that anything other than perfection will do. We found the family to be friendly and attentive in extending to us the usual warm hospitality that is all we know when visiting Austria. The Hotel is utterly spotless, the food was first class, and the pool area, although the pool was a little cold due to the low season timing, was super for the kids to let off a bit of steam. There is a Turkish Bath, and two saunas.
There is a very regular bus service to the city centre right on the doorstep which takes just 10 mins, and for those moaning about the Hotel restaurant being closed on Monday, just 200 mtrs away are two superb restaurants where we enjoyed a very high quality range of meals at very fair prices, so much so, we made a point of going back 3 times during our stay. If you like a warm family run Hotel, look no further and book this one... superb.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BilkoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2006

My family and I have stayed here at least annualy for 20+ years. Doctorwirt is nothing if not consistent. The rooms are always immaculate. We've found them roomy and nicely appointed. I think we've been in about every room, but of course, prefered the tower rooms. The food in the restaurant is excellent. The buffet breakfast is my wife's favorite anywhere in Europe.

My only complaint is that in 24 some years, they have not moved closer to town. OK, so that''s a stab at those without the good sense to look at the location, and then bad rap the hotel for it.
I always stay here because of the location. Quiet and away from the likeness of Mozart!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank snuggs5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Amedia Art Salzburg
5.8 mi away
Hotel Gabi
Hotel Gabi
#36 of 132 in Salzburg
121 reviews
4.7 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
Pension Rostatt
Pension Rostatt
#31 of 63 in Salzburg
5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Itzlinger Hof
1.9 mi away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#15 of 63 in Salzburg
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt

Address: Glaserstrasse 9, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price Range: £115 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing