We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap for this city, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Haunsperger Hof
Ranked #115 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cheap for this city, but...”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The first thing... Everything is very expensive in this city. So it's difficult to find good hotel in the center for good money. This hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the train station.
The first thing I didn't like is terrible smell in the room. I don't know what it is, but it's not good. They even have air freshener there, but it doesn't help.
The second thing is early check out. You just can't do it. at 6 am reception is closed. They sleep. I called by the phone and somebody told that they can't come, because they are sleeping. It is very funny! So I couldn't pay for the number and went away without paying. Afterall I made a transaction from Moscow, but it is very strange situation in center of Europe. I wouls say that it is good 2stars hotel. I am not sure that I want to come back there one more time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pashaslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    48
    25
    32
See reviews for
40
28
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour group. Room was huge with great airconditioning, wifi and bathroom. Breakfast was disgusting, the service from the receptionist was appaulling. Just so rude and will not help. Take her out of it and the hotel itself is ok.. With her in it I'd look elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jem_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Walking distance to the city and close to a shopping centre for topping up necessities BUT the service of the woman at reception is shocking, the rooms are average at best and the breakfast was slop. Plenty of good hotels in Salzburg so have a look around as I am certain you could do better for your money.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salzburg hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have lots of complaints about this hotel.....

1. There was no air conditioning and the room was stiflingly HOT! We were given a fan but this was v loud and made it difficult for us to sleep. As there were 3 of us the fan wasn't adequate anyway.

2. The noise from traffic was extremely loud and went on all night.

3. The design of the bed meant that it was not possible for one person to sit up and read in bed using the integral light if others were trying to sleep. The centre light would not do for obvious reasons. Also my daughter banged her head on the back of the bed a number of times.

4. We asked for an alarm call which didn't come!! Luckily we did not miss our flight.

5. The choice at breakfast was very limited and the staff didn't seem to be able to cope with the number of people having breakfast.

6. The safe was broken!!

7. The hairdryer didn't work!!

8. The walk into town took more like 25mins than the 15mins quoted. I don't mind a 25min walk but would have liked to have known that in the first place.

9. Cable t.v was supposed to be provided and a list of available channels was provided in the room. However, we couldn't receive most of the channels and when we queried this we were told that cable is only available in certain rooms i.e not ours!!

Obviously we would not recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Maybe an upstairs room would be cooler and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

A frankly very poor hotel for Austria, where standards of cleanliness, hospitality and service are normally much higher. The only plus is the location - 2 minutes from the river, 20 minute walk to the City Centre or No.1 bus from round the corner. The rooms are tired and not particularly clean, the breakfast is bare minimum standard, there is quite a lot of road noise, no air conditioning and decidedly dodgy wi-fi and we found piles of furniture and bedding constantly blocking corridors. As others have said (with one exception) the staff are surly, rude, unhelpful and spend a considerable proportion of their time lounging in the reception area smoking, thus the whole building permanently smells of stale tobacco smoke. All the infra-structure is there - needs a paintbrush and proper management - until then, avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room - on the noisier side but appeared cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClarissaBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Too poor, it's a family busyness .... most of the time you can't find no one at the reception... The breakfast is too average... and I won't say nothing more B'coz you probably understand the issue ....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al0n_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My friend and I arrived on a tour. We were given a room that they had made up part of the bed for one person, and the fold out single armchair couch for the other (so we just transferred the blankets on to the other part of the bed). The staff were unfriendly and one guy constantly chain smoked in what was the lobby - so disgusting. My friend was sick so stayed behind in the room while we went out for dinner, and as the doors are archaic and cannot lock without the key, i left the key with her. Another girl and I went out after dinner, and her roomate had also taken her key. So when we arrived back at 1am, there is no night porter after 11, so we couldn't gain access to the hotel. We tried unsuccessfully to ring our tour leader, and others on the trip, and then tried the number on the front of the hotel (it said to ring after 11pm). After the 5th try I finally got through to a woman, who spoke to me in German then hung up. So so rude! As it was snowing there was no way we were staying outside, so we ended up walking to the hotel up the road, hotel Hohenstauffen, and checked in there at 2am, just to check out at 7am the next morning and catch our coach. I wish the tour had booked this hotel it was so much better. I would definitely not recommend this place. I can't rate the sleep as I never got to sleep there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aroha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#31 of 132 in Salzburg
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#65 of 132 in Salzburg
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scherer Hotel
Scherer Hotel
#66 of 132 in Salzburg
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#44 of 132 in Salzburg
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
Hotel Imlauer & Braeu
#21 of 132 in Salzburg
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
#71 of 132 in Salzburg
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haunsperger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haunsperger Hof

Property: Hotel Haunsperger Hof
Address: Haunspergstrasse, 30, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haunsperger Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Haunsperger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haunsperger Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing