We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Budget Traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Haunsperger Hof
Ranked #113 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Warm staff, good location and lovely blue building, but it seems like a B&B, a good choice for budget traveler. They allowed us to have a early check-in, we arrived at 11:00am and the price is very good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Easy walk from the railway station and a pleasant stroll to the old town along the river. A warm friendly welcome from the duty manager. Our room was clean fairly spacious and on the corner of the building so had windows on two sides. Breakfast was adequate but the staff were slow to clear away and top up the buffet. Free use of wi-fi was a bonus.

A down side was the banging of doors in the night by a group who arrived late.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

On the 1st of June we came to Salzburg for excursion and were smashed by waterfalls of water. Heavy rain prevented us from enjoying the sightseeing in full, nevertheless we managed to come at the excursion that was planned beforehand.Temperature was +10 C. Of course, when we came to the hotel, we were frozen and got wet. The staff was not pleasant and didn't smile.
Room was not very big, facing the road. The room was clean except for the window that was dirty. We were lucky to have radiator in the room, turned it on and could dry our clothes and shoes.
There was table, chairs in the room and bath in the bathroom.
I didn't like that lobby of the hotel was rather small and when our group of 40 people from the bus came at once, the room became overcrowded. The dining room was also very small to accommodate 40 people , it was tight near the trays with food. Those who came first, were lucky to find some food (cheese, sausage, bread, fruits and cereal) But those who came later, could afford only coffee and toasts with jam. They also do not have hot meals , even fried eggs.
The room is over priced and cost 119 EURO per night for double room, that is very expensive for * * * Hotel with very small breakfast.
I 'd not say that price corresponds to the quality of this gloomy hotel.
I'd not stay there once more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kolrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

thanks to the great receptionist our stay was much easier, we were 6 hours late, he stayd couple hours after closing hour to let us in the hotel, breakfast very nice, we payed for our group dinner to the hotel and it was excelent . 5 star.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boris023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The bedroom we stayed was clean and quite spacious however, one of the curtains was falling down, the room was noisy and wi-fi was not working.
Breakfast was okay. Can't complain much as it is free.
Walking distance to old town is about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlineVione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed at the Haunsperger Hof in August during a bicycle tour. We turned up in Salzburg on a Friday night during the music festival season with no reservations (which was stupid of us). Everything in the Alstadt was booked solid, and many other near-in hotels were also fully booked or way too expensive. A quick search on hotels.com on my iPhone turned up this hotel at a somewhat agreeable price (around 110 euro, with breakfast), so we called and booked it.

It's a fair distance from the Alstadt, but wasn't too bad as we were on bicycles. It's also very convenient to the main train station, which is about a five minute walk. From there you can catch trams to just about anyplace in the city. There is also a bus or tram that goes right in front of the hotel, but we weren't able to figure out its timetable and so just walked up to the main station.

The standard rooms are OK but don't have air conditioning. They do have some newly upgraded rooms on the top floor that cost a bit more (20 euros or so). We were tired and hot, and I willingly paid the extra for the nicer room and AC. The new rooms are extremely nice and very well appointed, and extra-quiet. I think it was the best night's sleep we had in our three weeks in Europe on that trip. I recommend spending the extra money and getting the upgraded room.

The breakfast buffet was your standard Austrian hotel buffet. Nothing special, but not bad at all. I will agree with other reviewers that the lady at the front desk was brusque and not terribly helpful, but I wouldn't call her rude.

If you are bike touring, be aware that there is no enclosed, locked place to put your bike. We locked ours in the back parking area in a small roofed area, but it wasn't terribly secure. Since the hotel is just a short distance from the main bike route along the Salzach river, I'm surprised they don't cater more to the many bike tourists that come through.

Would we stay there again? Maybe, but we'd seek out other alternatives first. It was adequate and we had a great nights sleep, but it's not convenient to anything except the main train station.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are newly refurbished and of a higher standard. They cost a bit more, but are well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BriPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The first thing... Everything is very expensive in this city. So it's difficult to find good hotel in the center for good money. This hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the train station.
The first thing I didn't like is terrible smell in the room. I don't know what it is, but it's not good. They even have air freshener there, but it doesn't help.
The second thing is early check out. You just can't do it. at 6 am reception is closed. They sleep. I called by the phone and somebody told that they can't come, because they are sleeping. It is very funny! So I couldn't pay for the number and went away without paying. Afterall I made a transaction from Moscow, but it is very strange situation in center of Europe. I wouls say that it is good 2stars hotel. I am not sure that I want to come back there one more time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pashaslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hohenstauffen Hotel
Hohenstauffen Hotel
#32 of 132 in Salzburg
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Adlerhof
Pension Adlerhof
#42 of 132 in Salzburg
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scherer Hotel
Scherer Hotel
#64 of 132 in Salzburg
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#17 of 132 in Salzburg
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
Atel Hotel Lasserhof
#81 of 132 in Salzburg
499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Drei Kreuz
Hotel Drei Kreuz
#66 of 132 in Salzburg
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haunsperger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haunsperger Hof

Address: Haunspergstrasse, 30, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haunsperger Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Haunsperger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haunsperger Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing