We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Austrian Experience”
Review of Haus Wartenberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haus Wartenberg
Ranked #78 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this 400 yr old family owned and run hotel. We booked one large room (which was bright and sunny on the 3rd floor) and they offered us a second room for no extra charge on arrival. It is a cosy, eclectic place with alot of memorabilia that the grandmother has collected over the years. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Wireless internet in the rooms AND free access to a computer. Free parking on the street. Located in a quiet neighborhood a short walk into the middle of the historic district. We also liked that there was a restaurant which was very good and alot of locals came to eat there as well.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainepny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. The room was clean, the people very friendly and within walking distance of all the sites. I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is a unique hotel run by a very friendly and helpful family - we booked for a night and stayed for two. However, if you are looking for a hotel chain experience this is not for you. Its a hotel - but in some ways more like a casual bed and brekafast or even a hostel (ie if you want help you phone from the reception desk and someone will come to help you).

We had a large room overlooking the beautiful garden and it was like being in the middle of the countryside - but 10 minutes walk from the city. The room was clean and comfortable - but sort of looked like it needed upgrading - but if it was it would be just like any other hotel.
Internet was provided for free -although I had to be shown how to use.

The buffet breakfast was served in the restaurant and was good with constant refilling as required. Once the server found I liked expresso I think I could have sat there all day drinking more and more.

Our bicycles were stored in the special bike shed.

Overall good value for Saltzburg

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wcroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The first thing that happenned when we checked in was that the gentleman on reception saw how big our teenagers were and gave us an extra room! This a very interesting old building with lots of character and lovely old furniture. The breakfast was also very good.. as it was easter sunday we all got a chocolate rabbit! It is very well situated in a quiet area about ten minutes fast walk to the town centre. A tip for Sound of Music fans.. do visit the lake which is singposted near by.. its a bit of a walk but the castle in which the Trapp family lived in the film is there. All in all this was a wonderful place to stay with lots of genuine Austrian character and very pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pollypolooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Haus Wartenberg is a short walk to salzburg's old city, but is away from the touristy bustle of the city. A 400 year old building with unique rooms, each with charm and quirkiness (in a good way!). The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. The hotel owner is helpful and friendly. He gave us an upgrade when we arrived free of charge which gave us two rooms and two bathrooms for the four of us. Breakfast is simple but good and includes plenty of coffee. The owner offered suggestions and directions and provided a charger for our American electronic devices.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycamper_arl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We arrived very early; but the proprietor couldn't have been more helpful in enabling us to move in, and he found us a very nice quiet room with a delightful view. The hotel is a bit quirky; but in a very pleasant way. The breakfast was good and plentiful. It's a short walk into the centre of town. Overall we were left with a good feeling about the place: as one of the earlier reviews says, it's definitely not a chain hotel experience

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baroqueandroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This gasthaus is in my opinion not up to scratch for what it charges. For starters, it doesn't look at all like in the brochure's pictures. Where was the charm other reviewers revelled about? The communal room were rather dusty and unkempt and there was a lot of clutter everywhere. Our rooms were clean but there was a funny unpleasant smell everywhere in the building. I am used to old houses so it's not like I was bothered by the smell of old wood or something. The garden was in a bad state and the breakfast was just cold cuts, and some average quality spreads. We were not offered eggs, which is strange in Austria. There was no cook and nobody was even wearing the kind of attire for cooking or serving food (for example an apron).
There was no hair dryer in the room and if you wanted one you had to go to the reception, call them on the phone, wait for them to arrive, and then wait for them to find it.
There was also a strange home printed hotel guide in the room where it said that if you happened to become sick they would have called a doctor for you ...a gyno...That was weird. And if you were really sick thay would have called a priest (there was even a picture!). There was no internet point either.
Anyway, they were nice people but I guess they are a bit stuck in the past and need upgrading and getting their act together.
On the positive side, it's close to the town center (but you have to walk along an ugly busy street, I really don't understand how people can call that a pleasant stroll).
One night was enough I would not go back nor recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahbigeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Star Inn Hotel Salzburg Zentrum, by Comfort
1.2 mi away
Der Salzburger Hof
Der Salzburger Hof
#14 of 132 in Salzburg
910 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ganslhof
Ganslhof
#54 of 132 in Salzburg
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schlosswirt zu Anif
0.4 mi away
Das Gruene Bio-Hotel zur Post
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
Hotel Astoria Salzburg
#57 of 132 in Salzburg
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Wartenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Wartenberg

Address: Riedenburger Strasse 2, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Price Range: £67 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haus Wartenberg 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Haus Wartenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Wartenberg Salzburg
Haus Wartenberg Hotel Salzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing